View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

7 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

bomberblitz has a thread about how hard done by by the maggots for...over 7 years!

nearly 7000 total posts!!

wow… that’s revealing. 

The trouble over at the bombers is that so many of them believed “the big lie” ie there was no drug program or that it was somehow all ok. If you proceed from that perspective then there really is a massive conspiracy against them including from the umpires. 

As [censored] as i was/ am about our  club taking all the heat for the competition wide practice of tanking,  i’d much prefer that than living in the victim / conspiracy filled world they’re stuck in. 

1 hour ago, Wells 11 said:

wow… that’s revealing. 

The trouble over at the bombers is that so many of them believed “the big lie” ie there was no drug program or that it was somehow all ok. If you proceed from that perspective then there really is a massive conspiracy against them including from the umpires. 

As [censored] as i was/ am about our  club taking all the heat for the competition wide practice of tanking,  i’d much prefer that than living in the victim / conspiracy filled world they’re stuck in. 

And I've made it my mission in life to never let any essendon supporter I run across forget it.

I thought the boilover was on but Essendon were pathetic after quarter time. Like us a few years ago they need some serious investment in their defence otherwise they will never get near Top 4.

13 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Fair dinkum, you learn more from Daisy’s special comments than you do from the entire commentary. 
#LoveDaisyLots

They seem to be letting her analyse/talk more, which is excellent, because she's brilliant.

12 hours ago, Deetective Sgt. Taggert said:

We’ve played down there 20 times since the bombers last game there…

Fitzroy have played down there more often and they've been defunct for 26 years. What a joke.

22 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

I thought the boilover was on but Essendon were pathetic after quarter time. Like us a few years ago they need some serious investment in their defence otherwise they will never get near Top 4.

Yeah, but just remember, we made a prelim with an ordinary defence. They're not going to even make finals. 

I've done it myself, but I don't think it's fair to compare Essendon of 2021 with Melbourne of 2018.

Sure, both sides play/played aggressive zonal defence and attacking footy. Both sides have/had midfields that won a lot of the ball, but Essendon don't have anywhere near the talent we did that year.

51 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

And is Rutten as good as they say?

i.e. Tom Stewart - 13 uncontested marks. No planning or just no-one to counter him?

I think he will be good culture-wise for them however.

28 minutes ago, A F said:

Yeah, but just remember, we made a prelim with an ordinary defence. They're not going to even make finals. 

I've done it myself, but I don't think it's fair to compare Essendon of 2021 with Melbourne of 2018.

Sure, both sides play/played aggressive zonal defence and attacking footy. Both sides have/had midfields that won a lot of the ball, but Essendon don't have anywhere near the talent we did that year.

I wasn’t comparing to 2018 specifically more a general comment. We had to invest in our defence as Frosty and OMac weren’t the answer. Other than Ridley the bombers don’t have a defender of Top 4 quality. They drafted a promising defender whose name escapes me but you would think they will have to trade someone in. They need a Weitering type player to partner Ridley I reckon.

1 hour ago, A F said:

They seem to be letting her analyse/talk more, which is excellent, because she's brilliant.

And so they should.
She's the best in the game IMO.

Most those other fools still think they're in the 90's and tactically haven't bothered to keep up with the modern game.
Living off their status as past players.

1 hour ago, Better days ahead said:

I wasn’t comparing to 2018 specifically more a general comment. We had to invest in our defence as Frosty and OMac weren’t the answer. Other than Ridley the bombers don’t have a defender of Top 4 quality. They drafted a promising defender whose name escapes me but you would think they will have to trade someone in. They need a Weitering type player to partner Ridley I reckon.

Is Hurley still there?

Their mids are small, get plenty of ball but do little damage.
They've got a couple promising young talls.
How quickly they come on will dictate how they go over the next couple years.

And my Essendon analysis is on the strength of watching their one game against us.
If they we're playing in my front yard I'd set my pig dog on 'em and then draw the curtains.

Edited by Fork 'em

So Brisbane thump Adelaide and now they're 6.2% in front of us, but a game behind.

We're 6.3% in front of Port before they play Hawthorn tonight.

Next week Brisbane plays St Kilda and Geelong plays Carlton.

You'd expect that if we lose to Port, we'll either be 4th on percentage over Port, or 5th.

Well done to Burgoyne on his 400th. Just one of those players that goes along, isn't a tool, doesn't carry on and isn't a grub. 

So I see Tex will be out next week with concussion, Dam he will miss the essendon game. 

Maybe hawks can upset port. 

10 hours ago, Demon17 said:

And is Rutten as good as they say?

i.e. Tom Stewart - 13 uncontested marks. No planning or just no-one to counter him?

I think he will be good culture-wise for them however.

It’s interesting about Rutten, Essendon have been getting so much good publicity and some of it deserved but Carlton could be only percentage behind them tonight but are doing a full scale review and Teague could be sacked. 

36 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

So Brisbane thump Adelaide and now they're 6.2% in front of us, but a game behind.

We're 6.3% in front of Port before they play Hawthorn tonight.

Next week Brisbane plays St Kilda and Geelong plays Carlton.

You'd expect that if we lose to Port, we'll either be 4th on percentage over Port, or 5th.

5 places in one week

could be a new record... ?

A Hawthorn win would be great

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Healy just said De Koning is a generational talent. 

hmmm

9 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Port doing well against Hawks

mmmmmmmmmmm

Yeah it’s a great ga… ???

Port playing junk footy for the second half. Saving themselves for us on the short break. Freo are just like us, blowing opportunities, butcher the ball inside 50 and kick too many points. 

Gee how privately would Longmuir be seething that this game was on Carlton's home ground when it would have been played at Optus stadium if WA didn't go into lockdown. 

But freos inaccuracy has cost them big time this year. Again they blow  chance to get into the 8. 

Good teams don’t lose to the bottom clubs. Lions and power were impressive. If we lose to Port next week, Dees could drop to 5th. Next week is a huge game.  

Was put off watching any footy tonight but gee sounds like we'd better come to play next week after reading these ladder scenarios.