Posted

Rather than take the first option, I think it entailed looking for the player most likely to be under direct pressure and then feeding that player the ball.

Posted
Rather than take the first option, I think it entailed looking for the player most likely to be under direct pressure and then feeding that player the ball.

It's a variation of the West Coast "run" and "carry" game plan and it's called "walk" and "worry".

Posted

Our game plan was lets play to our weakness, stuff around with the footy instead of going forward, I think 30 something inside 50m compare to almost 60 you will lose every time

Posted
It's a variation of the West Coast "run" and "carry" game plan and it's called "walk" and "worry".

:lol:

I thought we were only going to use the run and carry on long narrow grounds.

Why the hell were we mucking around with the ball on OUR ground!

*Sigh* <_<

Posted

it is a [censored] game plan! too many fumbles and turnovers.. it was tried out all through out the pre season and yet we only won one game! its not working and should go back to ur normal style in which ever that was? :huh:

Posted

I cant believe I waited all summer to see that absolute [censored]

Oh well, we were 0-3 last season

Posted

G'day Fellow Demons Supporters!

That was a disgraceful performance tonight! :wacko:

It seems we had to handball about 4 or 5 times before kicking the bloody football! :rolleyes:

Lets hope we solve this problem for next round!

By the way I think Adem Yze will be playing for the Zebras next week....

GO DEMONS IN 2007!

From Supreme Demon

Posted

well including the nab fiasco and some practice games..thats either 4 or 5 games depending on what you actually call a game, that we have persisted with this you beaut bumble and fumble game style, with very little to show for it.

Is it too early to suggest the fat lady is warming up her bell tolling skills ?

Posted

dissapointed about the lost, but it is only round 1. what i thought we were missing,which we did last year was our hardness. the team didn't lay enough tackles, unlike the saints. hopefully we learn from our mistakes and play the right brand of footy. with the inclusion of pickett and hopefully rivers, we'll perform much better.

i reckon we'll see yze retain his spot, played a good enough game to last him til next week.

Posted

The gameplan is rubbish. Ditch it, or we will struggle to make finals this year, let alone top 4. We have the list to make top 4, don't waste the opportunity.

Posted

I think the game plan will be looked at pretty damn closely after the Saints exposed our lack of judgment and skill....

Yes, we can be skillful in patches, but overall our decision making in a tight contest (apart from a few) is pathetic!

We should be looking at playing our natural attacking game and run the corridor, bang the ball in long and tackle hard! Our fitness levels look really good and we ran the game out well, but bugger me I will not sit there and watch us put team mates in suicidal situations all year!!

Posted

very harsh people... yze did not play that bad at all. every person on the team made stupid mistakes apart from white and neitz.

i also think miller presented well and althought his confidence was low it looked promising and he appeared to try very hard.

Anyone got a free kick count .... football has been ruined

we got umpired out of it 2night

Posted
i also think miller presented well and althought his confidence was low it looked promising and he appeared to try very hard.

Anyone got a free kick count .... football has been ruined

we got umpired out of it 2night

Frees Melbourne 17 , STK 28

You are right, we were hammered by the maggots, but that is the least of our worries! Miller presented well in the final quarter when all was lost! The boy needs to get an iPod and listen to some hardcore beats before he runs through the banner!!

Posted

it does worry me... when st kilda went on their goal kicking frenzy it was a patch when melbourne were gettin all sorts of free kicks payed against them... 2 melbourne players were fighting for the ball against one st kilda player. and the rest of the st kilda team was screamin "BALL" there were atleast 4 incorrect decisions and were no where near consistant enough. In the back rule was a joke, not payed unless it was in the forward line. Melb lost all confidence at going at the ball....

we were smashin the saints early on...

Posted
it does worry me... when st kilda went on their goal kicking frenzy it was a patch when melbourne were gettin all sorts of free kicks payed against them... 2 melbourne players were fighting for the ball against one st kilda player. and the rest of the st kilda team was screamin "BALL" there were atleast 4 incorrect decisions and were no where near consistant enough. In the back rule was a joke, not payed unless it was in the forward line. Melb lost all confidence at going at the ball....

we were smashin the saints early on...

There were a few strange umpiring decisions but no more than in most games. The problem was that the way we played was always going to set us up to have free kicks paid against us. If you handball two or three metres to a bloke standing still with an opponent bearing down on him, he's likely to get caught. If you play from behind your opponent in a marking duel, the rules are not going to favour you.

Let's face it. We played dumb football and were treated by the maggots as dumb footballers deserve to be treated.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.