Whispering_Jack 31,374 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 This is one of those teams that constantly seems to be a thorn in our side. It’s time to make a statement and to bloody their noses (metaphorically of course). 2
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 This Thursday night game day seems strange but heres hoping we get the job done. Go Dees.
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 As much as I thought I wouldnt enjoy this season its interesting the emotional pull footy can have. Must be some strange tribal thing. 5
Josh 1,420 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Game day, bit weird. Getting through the border checkpoint tomorrow is gonna be a bit dicey...?
ProperDee 1,698 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Magnificent morning here in East Brisbane just 600 metres from the Gabba. Blue skies and not a cloud in sight. It has been sunny and breezy the past few days so the conditions should be conducive to good football. I am looking forward to seeing the boys live and up close tonight. If we can bring our best game, Port is certainly beatable. Westhoff is my concern. He seems to save himself for games against us. Harmes to lock down Boak would be good to see. Wishing the young bull Tommy Sparrow all the best. I think we will find that we have unearthed another good one. 17
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Seems I’ve only just responsibly recycled the empty Shiraz bottles after last Sunday’s disappointment- and here we go again We’ve had a couple of near misses so we need to win this one to stay in the contenders column The side looks good but it is a pity we couldn’t pick Vanders I reckon it will be a physical affair. You would hope mids learnt a bit from the Brisbane game and ..... surely Weid couldn’t kick so shizen again Tmac was showing a bit prior to his injury so I reckon he’ll be hungry to make a contribution Jackson looks the goods and is growing in confidence If he could snag one early it would give Port’s defence an ugly moment One good thing to come out of this Corolla business Demons by a couple of goals 9 3
Forest Demon 4,681 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 28 minutes ago, ProperDee said: Westhoff is my concern. He seems to save himself for games against us. He has been dreadful this year, but as you say, he always seems to kill us. 1
The Stigga 1,097 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 31 minutes ago, ProperDee said: Magnificent morning here in East Brisbane just 600 metres from the Gabba. Blue skies and not a cloud in sight. It has been sunny and breezy the past few days so the conditions should be conducive to good football. I am looking forward to seeing the boys live and up close tonight. If we can bring our best game, Port is certainly beatable. Westhoff is my concern. He seems to save himself for games against us. Harmes to lock down Boak would be good to see. Wishing the young bull Tommy Sparrow all the best. I think we will find that we have unearthed another good one. Enjoy PD! Seems like only yesterday that I'm heading into the bar at the MCG at the 22 minute mark of the 1st quarter because we are 3 goals down... 2
Bring-Back-Powell 15,566 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 So what quarter will most of Westhoff's obligatory 5 goals occur? 1
spirit of norm smith 16,681 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Big Thursday night audience on the TV - opportunity here. Traditionally we flop on these occasions but I’m optimistic. Perfect conditions for footy. 24c and sunny. Overnight low of 11c. Clear skies.
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Apart from ANZAC Eve, have we ever previously played a Thursday night game broadcast on free-to-air TV?
Ethan Tremblay 31,392 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 (edited) If we kick the first few goals then stay in front from there, we should win. Edited July 29, 2020 by Ethan Tremblay 5 2 8
Deespicable 2,886 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Does anyone else find it amazing that we went with the four smallest forwards on our list in Rd 1 against a tall Eagles side, reverted to a one-pronged tall attack against Richmond (Rd 5, game four I think) and now we are going with three talls up forward for a night game. Does that sound like Goody has clarity about what structure to go with to you? Thankfully the weather forecast for Brissy is great for tonight so our bigs should be able to hold on to their marks, unlike last week when the greasy conditions spelt disaster for them. 1 1
spirit of norm smith 16,681 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Btw assume Tom Sparrow has not played in a winning team. Played first two games of 2019 when we got thrashed by power and cats.
DemonOX 8,857 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Let’s hope it’s not the last game we get to see live given those 2 imbeciles that have Covid decided to go on a tour of all parts of Brisbane rather than self isolating. Make it a good win Dees, we need it. 1
Bring-Back-Powell 15,566 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 52 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: Apart from ANZAC Eve, have we ever previously played a Thursday night game broadcast on free-to-air TV? Twice. We got flogged by WC in 2011 in Perth by 8 goals. We beat Sydney last year by 20 odd points. Both times we were fixtured on Thursday nights as the AFL backed us in to be something special for both years. 1 1
Rocknroll 1,010 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 Who and how do we deal with big Charlie? Gawn should dominate again but can we take advantage? Three big forwards can this work? Anyone can help me? Or should I just wait. 1
TRIGON 4,821 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 54 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: If we kick the first few goals then stay in front from there, we should win. ET's mail, as ALWAYS, is right on the money! 1
Bring-Back-Powell 15,566 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 15 minutes ago, DemonOX said: Let’s hope it’s not the last game we get to see live given those 2 imbeciles that have Covid decided to go on a tour of all parts of Brisbane rather than self isolating. Make it a good win Dees, we need it. You should be right mate. It's only 2 people. If SE Queensland starts having tons of cases, it's season over considering VIC and NSW are now off the table.
Ethan Tremblay 31,392 Posted July 29, 2020 Posted July 29, 2020 6 minutes ago, Rocknroll said: Who and how do we deal with big Charlie? May will dominate that big Ned Kelly wannabe. 2
DemonOX 8,857 Posted July 30, 2020 Posted July 30, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: You should be right mate. It's only 2 people. If SE Queensland starts having tons of cases, it's season over considering VIC and NSW are now off the table. Thanks for that BBP but unfortunately they have been all over the place and a 3rd person now affected I am still annoyed that people can be so selfish and put communities at risk after all the good work we have done up here. It really does astound me and not in a good way. I can only hope it doesn’t spread that much and can be contained. Edited July 30, 2020 by DemonOX 1
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 30, 2020 Posted July 30, 2020 With the horrible new in Victoria just keeping on keeping on, I for one am looking forward to 2 hours of being angry at something other than Covid. 3 2
dees189227 12,530 Posted July 30, 2020 Posted July 30, 2020 Surely May has to take Dixon. If Oscar is on him Charlie will just dominate. I have no idea what to expect tonight, but if the players target Gawn like they did last year then I hope the boys are ready to defend him. By the way serious question, where is watts. I know he had that leg injury but what has happened to him?
Wadda We Sing 10,685 Posted July 30, 2020 Posted July 30, 2020 (edited) So is the Gabba our new home ground? For now??...Im a bit confused...... Edited July 30, 2020 by Wadda We Sing