22 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

I am, and I duly apologise. 

No worries we all get excited with our team, Go Dees.

3 hours ago, Redleg said:

No worries we all get excited with our team, Go Dees.

except od, mr leg. he's not drinking enough malt whiskey or eating enough bananas

2 hours ago, daisycutter said:

except od, mr leg. he's not drinking enough malt whiskey or eating enough bananas

That will do it to you.

1 hour ago, Go the Biff said:

Any danger of Harley Bennell getting a mention in his thread ?

I am genuinely excited about the chance of benell playing for us. The last time I was this  exited about a recruit from another club was clark.

But harley is coming for free, so nothing to lose. And so.much to gain. 

8 hours ago, binman said:

I am genuinely excited about the chance of benell playing for us. The last time I was this  exited about a recruit from another club was clark.

But harley is coming for free, so nothing to lose. And so.much to gain. 

Really hope he doesn't break down over these next few months. Happy to ease him right through the pre season if it means we can get 10-15 games out of him.

Still astounded that Harley’s coming to us!

He maybe 50:50 chance of regaining his form and his body holding up, but if it does... it’s equivalent to a proven top 3 draft pick, with years of development done, hardened and hungry for success. And would be THE pick of this years draft season. 

Like wow! 

Edited by PaulRB

14 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

Still astounded that Harley’s coming to us!

He maybe 50:50 chance of regaining his form and his body holding up, but if it does... it’s equivalent to a proven top 3 draft pick, with years of development done, hardened and hungry for success. And would be THE pick of this years draft season. 

Like wow! 

Hopefully not a wipeout

I had a look at some of his highlight videos yesterday, he was such a good player. It's a shame that he had issues and injuries, but here's hoping he can recover some of his past brilliance, it would make him one of our three best players if he can

Seeing those videos Dante posted reminds you of just how talented this bloke is.

His ability to put the ball on the outside of his foot, for a great goal in heavy traffic and the goal from the boundary, 50 out, off 2 steps were just brilliant.

This bloke will be pretty fresh in the body, having not played much footy for the last few years.

There are only 2 things stopping him getting back to his best, his legs.

If he gets fit and it probably is a big IF, we have got a beauty for nothing. 

I'm tempering my enthusiasm - I agree if his calves can be fixed, we've got a beauty.

Only 1 highlight in the Freo colours in Dante's video above suggests it's a long shot.

The way I look at this is quite simple; if we can get Bennell to even 75% of his previous output, it will be a huge bonus. Also, I think, with Petracca having more midfield time, he could potentially take over Patracca's high half-forward role.

I still think there's a lot of hope in him being able to return though, but I pray I am proven wrong.

I would love to hear about the initial steps of the football club making enquires about Bennell, how far back it was, what was said in reference to role he would have, whom we thought could help.

I'm not sure if it has been reported/discussed in the media, but I feel as though this could have been 6-12months in the making.

Of course, I could well be wrong.

Anyone got some intel? (is that jargon still used in the industry?)

Edited by Engorged Onion

Might be a few double ups but still worth watching.

4 hours ago, Engorged Onion said:

I would love to hear about the initial steps of the football club making enquires about Bennell, how far back it was, what was said in reference to role he would have, whom we thought could help.

I'm not sure if it has been reported/discussed in the media, but I feel as though this could have been 6-12months in the making.

Of course, I could well be wrong.

Anyone got some intel? (is that jargon still used in the industry?)

Wouldn't call it intel as such, but have heard people say we initiated contact in July this year.

31 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Wouldn't call it intel as such, but have heard people say we initiated contact in July this year.

That's because we are a destination club and have great medical and conditioning teams, that can get players back on the field.

7 minutes ago, Demonland said:

crossing everything that this bloke can regain full fitness ???

Edited by BrisbaneDemon

He is an out and out star. And yes, the equivalent of a top 3 pick. If he gets back health and firing we just grabbed an amazing player.

51 minutes ago, Demonland said:

L9qn47fCxVvzhwseF2FuneepVoT_SnORBP2aKAU6

Might be a silly question, but seeing as Goschs is a public park, what's stopping him from going for a run there accidentally at the same time as our training sessions?

1 hour ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Might be a silly question, but seeing as Goschs is a public park, what's stopping him from going for a run there accidentally at the same time as our training sessions?

If he did, no doubt we'd be found guilty of not tampering with the SSP and fined $100 million.

1 hour ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Nothing. But it won't happen.

Dare i say it, i reckon the AFL would've ticked off Harley and us already associating with one another, just not in the public eye.

12 minutes ago, Good Lord George said:

If he did, no doubt we'd be found guilty of not tampering with the SSP and fined $100 million.

Good point.

Would it highlight to the AFL the stupidity of us not having our own training ground?