Posted

Dangerfield has never won a preliminary final. Suck eggs.

If he'd stuck around at Adelaide another few years, he would've played in a Grand Final. ?

Posted
3 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Lynch. What a Gun he is

I reckon if Lynch is still at Gold Coast, Tiges weren't Winning tonight.

Riewoldt just about cooked.

I want the dees to be the team that knocks Richmond of their perch.

I just hope over the pre season they realise what they missed out on this year, a wasted season compounded by seeing Geelong and Collingwood bradberry their way to Prelims and GF's respectively. 

Irritates the poo out of me, it really does.

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I just turned to the Mrs and said that this was Geelongs last chance at a tilt.

Geelong are finished 

I thought this last year when we stomped a mud hole right through them. Nah they will top up again and again till Danger, Country bumkin and sulkwood hang em up. 

Another year or two and they will be well and truely French connectioned.

The best allround midfielder leaving don't help much.

Posted

If there’s an example of a footy club just like the MFC that was in turmoil & going around in circles for decades, burning coaches and able turn it around with getting in the right people & recruiting the right players. Just look at Richmond. 

Posted

Richmond’s injury ravaged year??? They were in 8th battling at 7-6 with about 4-5 key players out.  

Higgins and Rance were out for the year. Sure two important players but able to cover especially Higgins as a small forward. 

But otherwise they had a healthy list.  

Once Riewoldt Cotchin and Houli were back, it was like 2017.  Winning the last 9 games and now two finals   

My point.  Ffs keep a healthy list and it’s possibly the most important rule for success. Not guaranteed but a big help. 

Perhaps that’s why I am strangely really appreciating the filfthy Pies run.  They have been hit hard by injury but have marched on.  Beams Cox Langdon Greenwood De Goey are all best 18 types but are missing. Can they still win it?  

Posted

Geelong are an ageing team. They have eight key players over 30 next season including stars like Dangerfield; Ablett; Taylor; Hawkins and Selwood. They will also lose Kelly. They have not had a top draft pick for a generation. If Melbourne don’t go past them next year with a number two draft pick and a soft draw for being the second worse team this year what hope do we have. It would be an absolute indictment after years of rebuild if Dads army are better than us.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

If Melbourne don’t go past them next year with a number two draft pick and a soft draw for being the second worse team this year what hope do we have. It would be an absolute indictment after years of rebuild if Dads army are better than us.

Except thanks to the corrupted regime that runs the game and picks and chooses who gets priority picks and where they get them, it won’t be a number two draft pick.

Posted
10 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I just turned to the Mrs and said that this was Geelongs last chance at a tilt.

Geelong are finished 

And she said, "that's nice, dear. Did you remember to take the bins out?"

Posted
16 minutes ago, Elwood 3184 said:

Except thanks to the corrupted regime that runs the game and picks and chooses who gets priority picks and where they get them, it won’t be a number two draft pick.

Yes agree a bit like Toby Greene not getting rubbed out after Dogs game. The AFL did bank roll ROOS & Jackson but that only happened after we embarrassed their brand. 

Posted
10 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Because they have a ageing list that will get found out next year.

That keeps getting said, like when the last batch of Bartel, Stevie J, Enright, Scarlett, Mackie, Corey, Chapman etc left and yet they keep playing finals.

They are a well managed club, like the Hawks and keep contending.

Posted
1 hour ago, Elwood 3184 said:

As with the MRO and Tribunal, an Independent, ex GC Suns official, will decide if they get pick 2 as a PP.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

Yes agree a bit like Toby Greene not getting rubbed out after Dogs game. The AFL did bank roll ROOS & Jackson but that only happened after we embarrassed their brand. 

When you say we were " bankrolled", who isn't? We get much less than a lot of other clubs.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Redleg said:

That keeps getting said, like when the last batch of Bartel, Stevie J, Enright, Scarlett, Mackie, Corey, Chapman etc left and yet they keep playing finals.

Yes, but like the Hawks they are just sitting around the middle of the pack, not really contending and delaying the inevitable.

...at some stage Geelong is not going to be a destination club and be back to plain old "sleepy hollow"...

Posted
23 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Hawks are a middle tire team now. Knocked out in straight sets last year and didn't even make finals this year. Let's not pretend Hawks 

As already mentioned, they have 8 key players over 30. There time is coming. We'll start to see that next year.

Posted
4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

In awe of Houlis’ game - one of the best from a half back that I have seen. He’s a gun.

You wonder how so called  “football experts “ can’t see the quality in a player playing for them over several seasons.

Posted
32 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Always helpful when you can cherrypick the cream.

Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Hawks are a middle tire team now. Knocked out in straight sets last year and didn't even make finals this year. Let's not pretend Hawks 

As already mentioned, they have 8 key players over 30. There time is coming. We'll start to see that next year.

Hope you are right.

Posted

Gee if you saw hawkins in the rooms last night, if you were a player or Chris Scott you would be fuming. You would almost want to go up to him and say hope that hit was worth it because you let us down.