Diamond_Jim 12,775 Posted March 24, 2019 Author Posted March 24, 2019 1 minute ago, Petraccattack said: Saints by 1 point over Gold Coast. Would have loved the Suns to get up. Saints are going nowhere. nor are the Suns except (I hope) to Tasmania Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,775 Posted March 24, 2019 Author Posted March 24, 2019 Thought GWS might struggle a little this year after losing some good players but they are doing okay against the Bombers. 42-17 half way through second quarter Quote
whatwhat say what 23,865 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 peptides have continued on with their preseason form, and look terrible 3 1 Quote
Mt. Dee-Maaan 608 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 the only reason the dons arent down by 60 before half time is that the giants aren't kicking straight.. all over them. Quote
dees189227 12,516 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 If the giants kicked straight this would definitely be over. But seriously only 2 goals halfway through a 3rd quarter for a team that was meant to go places this yer. I hope the giants thrash them and people talk about how bad the scum are. I know they don't have daniher but they still have got good players and wasn't shield meant to be there saviour? Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Bombers need to bring back 'the weapon' and Shane Charters. At least they were interesting then. 1 2 Quote
dees189227 12,516 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 come on giants beat them by 100. At least this result has cheered me up a bit. I was hoping the giants would win but never saw them winning by this much. Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Essendon has bumped Melbourne off the back page for the next week. 4 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,865 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 massacre still reckon they will be okay in the long run Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 1 minute ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said: Essendon has bumped Melbourne off the back page for the next week. It's one positive to take from the weekend. Bombers have been absolutely deplorable. 2 Quote
dees189227 12,516 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 bombers fans going nuts on twitter about there team. Its good to have footy back. Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Oh damn. Is this really happening? A storied club, a team fancied (by the most astute of experts) to challenge for the flag ... falling in a heap and scoring just over a goal a quarter ... And now they'll be bottom of the ladder and wondering if they just saw a sneak preview of their whole season. Disappointing. Really, really disappointing. 2 Quote
Wadda We Sing 10,685 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Coach killing performance by the bummers........silver lining 4 Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,320 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Freo on 75 points with 42 inside 50s at half time. Way to go Ross. 1 Quote
Goffer 256 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Dockers smashing Norf at the moment, they’re looking a lot cleaner with their ball movement and making smarter decisions. If they can maintain this form you’d think Hogan might bring them close to the 8 Quote
What 18,810 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Freo up by 82 over North, not even halfway through the last quarter yet. Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Norf and Bummers bottom 2. Brilliant. 1 Quote
dees189227 12,516 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Wow just saw the final score. How did freo suddenly find goal kickers and start kicking high scores? Ha have a nice flight home nth and brad. Hopefully tomorrow people are talking about essenscum and nth Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,320 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Poor Dom, he would want to see the back of Optus stadium rapidly. 148 point combined losing margin in his last two games. Good to see Ben Brown get looked after at least, 6 frees for 0 against. 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,775 Posted March 24, 2019 Author Posted March 24, 2019 Freo competitive could hurt WCE's top 2 chances. WCE would have banked both games into their calculations Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 This weekend raises some interesting discussions, but for me 3 main things: 1. The general quality of football was very poor across most games, with many quarters almost unwatchable. Some atrocious kicking, dropped marks, handballs to no-one. Most games saved by some amazing end-to-end goals that were great to see, and/or some close scores at times the only point of interest. As a footy fan I found most of it fairly boring. 2. Round 1 is absolutely no indication of how this season will unfold. Dees, Eagles, Crows and Pies are nowhere near as bad as they played and we will see a pattern of gradual increase that we saw from Sydney in the Roos era, where he gave no credence to the pre-season games and started most seasons slowly, building through the home and away rounds towards finals. 3. Freo, Lions and Blues will worry a few this year. 3 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 2 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said: Poor Dom, he would want to see the back of Optus stadium rapidly. 148 point combined losing margin in his last two games. Good to see Ben Brown get looked after at least, 6 frees for 0 against. I thought the new interpretation of the hands in the back rule was going to stop all of the free kicks players like Brown received. Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 8 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said: nor are the Suns except (I hope) to Tasmania GWS, Carlscum, St Kilda or Norf to Tassie. Grassroots participation in Qld is through the roof - justifies two teams. Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said: I thought the new interpretation of the hands in the back rule was going to stop all of the free kicks players like Brown received. Not sure how you could develop a rule to stop favoritism of an umpires pet. On a serious note, I wish they would stop paying free kicks for some pretty incidental high contact. Only have to give a feathers touch of anything above the shoulder and they are paying it. I know they need to protect the neck and head, but some of it is just plain silly in a game of such close combat/contact. Honestly it even frustrates me when these frees go our way, because you know there will be one comming back the other way at some point, potentially an even more critical time. My perception from what I watched was also that the umpires went pretty soft on the deliberate out of bounds rule this weekend. 1 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted March 24, 2019 Posted March 24, 2019 Went to the Freo/North games (son was playing the HT auskick, he was the dancing boy when they showed them : ) ) The skills by North were shocking, basic, errors, fumbling, made Freo looked good. But Freo did put their foot down and it showed they could be dangerous at least at home this year. What to do with McCarthy as they weren't even going to play him and he had a day out. It was a really hard round to judge some sides and it seems the JLT standard went a week longer for skills and touch wise. Quote