Posted
1 minute ago, Grand New Flag said:

There is a miss conception by some on Demonland.  The preferred position by our FD is and has always been for JH to stay. Let me make this point with absolute and clear authority. I have been told directly. 

The MFC is becoming a destination club. The FD is aware that doing the right thing by players...... even contracted stars to purse their own journey is required to becoming a destination club.  

As I have said before this situation only started because JH  in his end of season interview said he would not sign a contract extension over summer and had yet to make a decision on whether he would move at the end of his contract.  The discussion went forward from this point. He has never requested a trade.

JH is happy to play for the Dees next season and is far from a certainty to ask to be traded next season. Talk that our FD preferred him to leave or thought we would have a more balanced team without him is utter and complete rubbish. 

I cant say this strongly enough. It is a fact. Our FD is ecstatic that JH appears to be staying for 2019.  They are more than hopeful he will end up signing an extension. The FD are thinking this is his Dusty moment.

Sorry, mate. Don’t believe you. My lying eyes and all...

Posted
1 minute ago, rpfc said:

Sorry, mate. Don’t believe you. My lying eyes and all...

You can believe what ever you want to mate. 

In this instance I make no speculation. This is absolute.

Posted
Just now, Grand New Flag said:

You can believe what ever you want to mate. 

In this instance I make no speculation. This is absolute.

Some have posted that Jesse has been told he will play in defence next season?

Any info on that?

Posted
33 minutes ago, A F said:

I don't rate AVB but he signed a three year deal. Jesse won't sign beyond 2019.

It’s an untenable situation. 

Im with you AF. Got to cut him loose. He doesn’t want to be here.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, DubDee said:

Sigh. Don’t know why I bother. But I’ll go again.

Of course every club wants to better balance their list. I asked how do you know the club think we are better balanced without hogan. It’s far more likely hogan wants to leave than the club initiated the potential trade

And as I said there are no other quality key fwds around to recruit. 

My god.. they're not wanting to get one. It really isn't that bloody hard mate.

Edited by beelzebub

Posted
3 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

There is a miss conception by some on Demonland.  The preferred position by our FD is and has always been for JH to stay. Let me make this point with absolute and clear authority. I have been told directly. 

The MFC is becoming a destination club. The FD is aware that doing the right thing by players...... even contracted stars to purse their own journey is required to becoming a destination club.  

As I have said before, this situation only started because JH  in his end of season interview said he would not sign a contract extension over summer. He had yet to make a decision on whether he would move at the end of his contract.  The discussion went forward from this point. He has never requested a trade.

JH is happy to play for the Dees next season and is far from a certainty to ask to be traded next season. Talk that our FD preferred him to leave or thought we would have a more balanced team without him is utter and complete rubbish. 

I cant say this strongly enough. It is a fact. Our FD is ecstatic that JH appears to be staying for 2019.  They are more than hopeful he will end up signing an extension. The FD are thinking this is his Dusty moment.

That is certainly reassuring. However, what causes confusion for some of us supporters is why Melbourne appear to have softened their negotiation stance from two high first round picks to a reported pick 5 and a second round in order to off load Jesse. Why be so “accomodating” if they think he may not want to go? Not doubting you or your sources. Just seems like so many mixed messages and it could be pretty destabilising (if not already) for the fans, Jesse and/or the club. How far is the club (morally) obligated to go to get a deal done? Fine line of course but seems Melbourne have been a very willing participant in terms of seeking to facilitate a trade by compromising on our demands. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

I'd like to point out that May is no choir boy either - there's risk in recruiting him.  He's not the guaranteed universal panacea.

At least May appears to be keen and will commit to proper length of tenure that doesn’t hang a guillotine over the club’s head every twelve months.

Posted
2 minutes ago, faultydet said:

Some have posted that Jesse has been told he will play in defence next season?

Any info on that?

I very much doubt this is the case. Pretty sure it’s BS.  Its just never been discussed with me. I am sure if this was the case it would have come up in my discussions. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

As I have said before, this situation only started because JH  in his end of season interview said he would not sign a contract extension over summer. He had yet to make a decision on whether he would move at the end of his contract.  The discussion went forward from this point. He has never requested a trade.

This reflects 100% with the whispers I have heard.

Posted
51 minutes ago, faultydet said:

Would have been a "subject to medical" blah blah blah........

I reckon the AFL would be obliged to disclose if any players have issues that the governing body has in its code of conduct.

happy to be corrected.

...or intervene.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

I very much doubt this is the case. Pretty sure it’s BS.  Its just never been discussed with me. I am sure if this was the case it would have come up in my discussions. 

Well, thanks very much GNF, i will sleep a lot better tonight.

Posted
1 minute ago, willmoy said:

...or intervene.

Hope you're not suggesting our FD would try to fob a player off without telling the full story?

Don't think Mahoney would work that way, although I'm not sure of the rules surrounding disclosure, and whether it's up to the current club to say anything..

Posted

Chook in Perth has always proved to be a reliable source. I met the bloke after our win against west coast last year and the bloke loves our club.

I wish he was wrong but get the feeling g we are best to lose Jesse for what we can get. Whatever can facilitate the May deal and a little bit extra will do

Posted
2 hours ago, A F said:

I'm convinced you can't seriously sustain a proper culture that is built on mateship and trust (esprit de corps etc) and have a guy on your list who refuses to recommit beyond his current contract.

He's done at Melbourne and a trade should be found at all costs IMO.

We've stuck by him through everything and have put our arm around him in his time of need, but now we both need to go our separate ways.

Thank you for your service, Jesse, but we need to do what's best for us now.

Is this really fair though??  Are there any players on our list that we demand a commitment from ‘beyond his current contract’?

Isn't that what contracts are for?

Are there any other players coming out of contract next year that we’re making similar demands of??

Posted

I can’t see him playing CHB personally...assuming he does stay the problem now with Pruess is we have way too many talls he may end up on the ball a fair bit

Posted
7 minutes ago, CHF said:

This reflects 100% with the whispers I have heard.

And what I was told. 

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Dodos Demons said:

That is certainly reassuring. However, what causes confusion for some of us supporters is why Melbourne appear to have softened their negotiation stance from two high first round picks to a reported pick 5 and a second round in order to off load Jesse. Why be so “accomodating” if they think he may not want to go? Not doubting you or your sources. Just seems like so many mixed messages and it could be pretty destabilising (if not already) for the fans, Jesse and/or the club. How far is the club (morally) obligated to go to get a deal done? Fine line of course but seems Melbourne have been a very willing participant in terms of seeking to facilitate a trade by compromising on our demands. 

I dont know the answer to this.  Maybe this is nothing more than media speculation. After all the club has never said anything except two early first round.  Maybe 5 and 23 with pick swaps was their absolute position. Think your probably jumping a shadows here. I don’t know and don’t think it means anything.

Edited by Grand New Flag

Posted
1 minute ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Is this really fair though??  Are there any players on our list that we demand a commitment from ‘beyond his current contract’?

Isn't that what contracts are for?

Are there any other players coming out of contract next year that we’re making similar demands of??

Exactly. He has  committed to the club by signing his previous extension. And proved his loyalty by knocking back previous offers.

Dees fans were ecstatic when he first re-signed when been were are at a very low ebb. Freo at that stage would have seemed  better bet in terms of likely success. But he stuck fat, which was a huge fillip for the club.

Some of those same fans are saying we should ship him for his lack of commitment. Go figure. 

I doubt the club will turn on him the way some 'supporters' have. Thankfully.

Posted
31 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

Thank you GNF.  One of the more rational and believable posts out of 8000 odd. Your input  is appreciated.

Strange how posters here want to look beyond the simple truth.

Posted (edited)

Thankful to have a safe-space away from Freo fans here on demonland. Just reading the rumours on reddits AFL page and bigfooty does my head in. I'm going to have to avoid them like the plague until trade week is over.

Edited by johndemonic
Posted
4 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

I dont know the answer to this.  Maybe this is nothing more than media speculation. After all the club has never said anything except two early first round.  Maybe 5 and 23 with pick swaps was their absolute position. Think your probably jumping a shadows here. I don’t know and don’t think it means anything.

Thanks for the reply. Lots of shadow jumping at the moment especially by media personalities trying to big note themselves. Hard to know who to believe and what inferences to draw. All will be known in about 4 sleeps. Hopefully the outcome will not result in us going down the same road in 12 months time.  I fear it will but having a premiership cup will make it much easier ?.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

People that pretend they know.... and they don’t. 

Posted (edited)

Do we know clearly what the Steven May situation is with Gold Coast if we don't sign him this year? Are the rumours true about him touring Bulldog facilities? Is staying for one year untenable for him personally or the club? (not that they have any say) - is he willing to wait a year to become a demon?

A Hogan committed for 5 years, and a freely acquired Steven May committed from 2020-2024 is the best situation here, so maybe the club should just put that lofty target in their sights and make it happen over the next 12 months.

Edited by johndemonic
Posted
9 minutes ago, skills32 said:

Thank you GNF.  One of the more rational and believable posts out of 8000 odd. Your input  is appreciated.

Strange how posters here want to look beyond the simple truth.

Truth of what?

We do not want to go into 2019 with Hogan at the club, to think that we are ecstatic with him staying another year is nonsense.

I want value but you know what I want more - a settled team looking to win the flag.