Posted

Kind of silly having two captains.

However, Viney is young like the team. Secondly he bleads red and blue, he is tough and never gives in. His training standards are second to none.

I reckon Jack Viney is the right man to lead a young group of players.

Has anyone at the club the courage to give Jones a tap on the shoulder?

I would like to see Viney get thru a full season without injury before we discuss a full time captaincy role 

3 minutes ago, Jaded said:

I would like to see Viney get thru a full season without injury before we discuss a full time captaincy role 

Teams usually have vice captains for those kind of scenarios. A tried and tested method of the ages.

not sure why a change is needed, 2 skippers and leadership group seemed to have learnt alot this year as evidenced by the way the team handled key moments towards the end of the season and responded at the right times. Viney will get there soon enough. Let's also wait to hear if he has carried anything with his foot injury and is going to have to get it attended to

He’s probably a little bit too injury prone at this stage. 

Just now, Demons1858 said:

not sure why a change is needed, 2 skippers and leadership group seemed to have learnt alot this year as evidenced by the way the team handled key moments towards the end of the season and responded at the right times. Viney will get there soon enough. Let's also wait to hear if he has carried anything with his foot injury and is going to have to get it attended to

really? where was the leadership ?

7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Do they pick and choose when to lead??

Always been an achillies heel at the MFC since i have followed the club.

No. 

Jack has great 'bull' type/follow me into battle leadership but doesn't have the footy IQ to go with it (no offence intended).  Lever has that footy IQ in spades.  I would like to see Lever as co-captain with Jack. 

Jones won't give up the co-captaincy easily but Goodwin has made tough calls before and won't shy away from that.

Jones should hang up the boots.

Jones is finished as an automatic selection sadly.  He has been a great warrior but his finals campaign was largely disappointing and he has shown signs of deterioration for some time.  Gawn stands out as the obvious choice to co captain with Viney and I expect that should Lever make a full recovery he would be the vice captain next year.

yesterday was poor across the team but we improved as the year progressed in key game moments vs gws, geelong and hawrhorn in particular. most teams have to lose a final to win one. richmond got overrun against Collingwood and looked flat also. does that mean they don't have leadership

56 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

very small sample size, his last quarter goal the other week was pretty handy under pressure

1 hour ago, america de cali said:

Teams usually have vice captains for those kind of scenarios. A tried and tested method of the ages.

So might as well make the vice captain our real captain then. 

Being captain is not just about on field leadership. There is a whole heaps of off field stuff that goes with it, which I think Jones is very good at and it helps takes a lot of the pressure off Viney.

I just don’t know where Jones plays in 2019. He sure ain’t an outside running wingman. Look at Collingwood’s wingmen, Sidebottom & Phillips. Wouldn’t they love the thought of playing on Jones.  

2 hours ago, goodwindees said:

I just don’t know where Jones plays in 2019. He sure ain’t an outside running wingman. Look at Collingwood’s wingmen, Sidebottom & Phillips. Wouldn’t they love the thought of playing on Jones.  

Either he is playing injured or Father Time has caught up with him. Similar performances in the first couple of rounds of 2019 will be the end of his career.  And he ain’t no wingman. He is gifted someone else’s spot to fit him in.

25 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said:

Jones is finished as an automatic selection sadly.  He has been a great warrior but his finals campaign was largely disappointing and he has shown signs of deterioration for some time.  Gawn stands out as the obvious choice to co captain with Viney and I expect that should Lever make a full recovery he would be the vice captain next year.

You are right on Jones.

If Jack is fit over summer - he should be sole captain. The reason is what you just described; you can’t have a captain in your bottom 6 players.

Jones cannot be co-captain in 2019.

As has been mentioned, we need the flexibility too be able to drop him if the trajectory continues the way it is going, and if he's captain that becomes borderline impossible.

sure let's get rid of our experience like Lewis and Jones and we will get the same outcome st kilda has this year. then have to waste picks getting players like hanneberry back to fill the void in experience. wasted enough picks on lever last year already

2 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Leadership group. Not sighted yesterday unfortunately 

Actually it was one of those days where all 22 were not sighted. Just not the leaders albeit they were poor. Need to learn from this, get improvement from within and snag a decent player in trade period and trust Lever and Hogan get back to their best. 2019 looks exciting to me.