My plane trip home was almost a perfect blackout - left Cairns at 7 pm, arrived in Melbourne at 10.10 to find that Demons were up by 30 with four minutes to play.

Still wasn't confident.

If u want a laugh look at the below:

Dangerfield 25 disposals but had ELEVEN clangers and missed a goal he never normally misses.

Bloody hilarious. 

Jetta is marvelous. He is just a rock. I never leave a game disappointed in how he’s played. I never worry when he’s in a one on one contest. I never fear he won’t go hard when it’s his turn. He is just the greatest. 

I’m also a disgrace for not mentioning Harmes earlier. I honestly don’t think it’s an overstatement to say he’s an elite midfielder now. Blanketed Selwood and had 25.

1 hour ago, Chook said:

If it goes Cats, Hawks, Pies, Tigers, that will be pretty much the perfect 4 opponents.

Breaking through the 2 teams who have given us the most pain through our dark years, then a preliminary final vs our ancient foe. Then a GF vs the defending champions. You couldn't script that better, and there's no 4 teams I'd like to beat more than them if we could do it.

One week at a time though… 

In this scenario we will have beaten all teams except Sydney and PA in the season too.

Can anyone do an edit of all the cuts to Scott 'dark look' throughout the game?

(mind, he was magnanimous in his presser).

Edited by Danelska

A quote from the HS by "One-eyed Melbourne Supporter":

" By half-time Viney had laid more tackles than Jack Watts achieved in his entire career at the Dees. "

The good wife took me grocery shopping this morning and of course i was wearing my dees jersey and u could of pushed me over with a feather as two complete strangers spoke to me about how good the dees were. 

The first bloke was talking to me for 30 mins and he was a dees supporter too  

I mention this as I live in Brisbane and this is unheard of. 

Bloody awesome morning after an awesome night. 

46 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Ablett looks like a footballer dismembered by mad scientists and sewn back together, badly. The "holy trinity" experiment has failed. He was in their team for finals success and it counted for nothing.

I've heard he was in the team because a certain Geelong benefactor who passed away last year left him $1million if he returned to the cats.

6 minutes ago, Buffalo said:

A quote from the HS by "One-eyed Melbourne Supporter":

" By half-time Viney had laid more tackles than Jack Watts achieved in his entire career at the Dees. "

One thread without mentioning JW would be nice Buff. 

Big upset in the VFL, Essendon defeat Richmond. Casey v Essendon next Sunday

Edited by jnrmac

Finally watching the replay. 

First 15 minutes of the second quarter were absolutely dominated by us. We controlled the play but sadly missed way too many opportunities, some due to poor kicking and some due to rushing our kicks inside 50. If we cleaned this up we would have won by 10+ goals, such was our dominance. 

Hopefully the AFL takes note of what happens when you give the dees a Friday night game in Melbourne.

You get 91K fans and a cracking game.

take note again next week afl, before working the fixture for next year.

One match at a time. We can only take on an opposition 22.  

We cannot beat oppo' 66.

Next week, will be a plucking fest.

Just now, In Harmes Way said:

Hopefully the AFL takes note of what happens when you give the dees a Friday night game in Melbourne.

You get 91K fans and a cracking game.

take note again next week afl, before working the fixture for next year.

I knew something was missing last night and now I know. The presence of Carlton, a club that no longer appears to have any relevance in the AFL and despite the club’s long list of past indiscretions, always seems to be first in line when the AFL hands out goodies like Friday night games and draft relief.

Our forward pressure was insane. We will go a long way to winning next week if we replicate that performance AND nail those scoring opportunities. 

15 hours ago, Lord Ivanhoe said:

Dunstall sat there on quietly on fox footy post match whilst the Roosy and King talked us up. I thought he was stewing that Dees would be up against his beloved Hawks next week. Then he said that was the toughest MFC outfit he had seen in the 20 years as a footy commentator!

And he's right...  not since the 80's team have we had that tenacity.  We had more talent across the field at times, but not that hard tenacity and team commitment since.

Blitzkrieg football. I remember Barassi urging this on one of his teams when he was coaching in the 70s. Last night looked like Blitzkrieg football to me and wow did it look good!

5 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Our forward pressure was insane. We will go a long way to winning next week if we replicate that performance AND nail those scoring opportunities. 

It was unbelievable pressure. We laid 23 tackles in the forward 50 last night which is our second highest total only behind the 26 we laid in the Freo game and that day we had about 867 inside 50s. Talk about ‘bringing it’ last night.

Richmond only applied 7 against the Hawks and still smashed them. More of the same will do for all of us.

Got one HELL of a hangover.

Didnt stop till around 3am this morning.

Worth every minute of it.

Such a ripper game and the atmosphere was unbelievable.

Lets do it again next week.

GO DEES