Posted
20 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

So is it a good time to mention that they had 10 shots on goal in the last? 

Glad we won but......

As long as you mention the 11 shots we had in the third and that our backline, before the rain hit, completely nullified their much vaunted tall forwards.

Posted

Great win and badly needed after Saints and Cats close losses. Now we need to put the peddle down on Suns and come home strong against Swans, Weagles and Giants. Do that and maybe a top 4 finish or at worst 5th and still get a home final. We still have plenty of improvement.

Posted
49 minutes ago, Nasher said:

The first half was a cauldron, as you would expect against a decent but not great side, with a massive home ground advantage, hanging on to their season for dear life. I’d love to be up by 50 at half time of every game but I reckon sometimes you also have to acknowledge the force of your opponent pulling in the other direction.

We destroyed them in the third. The less said about the last quarter the better, although nothing they did happened with ridiculous ease as it did last week. I’d say we half learned the lesson.

Anyway it’s a great relief to have this one chalked up. All positive feelings in this lounge room tonight!

Was at the game and noticed how well the team shut out the crowd noise. They seriously celebrated each goal as a team to keep themselves up in enemy territory. Great to watch the bond they have.

Posted (edited)

Given how we played early in the game and Adelaide's dominance, the importance of this game and in a hostile environment, I don't think it would be an overstatement to say that this was the gutsiest win from a Melbourne side that I can remember.

Clayton Oliver is no longer a star. He announced himself tonight as a legitimate superstar. He almost single-handedly changed the game for us in the third quarter. His cleanness around the stoppages, his decision making and his ability to execute by hand was so exceptional that he elevated himself into the top 10 players in the game. Give him a 5 year extension this week, please.

14 clearances and 25 contested possessions are simply phenomenal stats. Jason Taylor, what a [censored] pick up! Take a bow.

And well done, Lewis. Your leadership tonight was outstanding.

• Like 18
Posted
1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Glad we won but......

I assume you blame the back six for those shots..........

Posted
2 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Was at the game and noticed how well the team shut out the crowd noise. They seriously celebrated each goal as a team to keep themselves up in enemy territory. Great to watch the bond they have.

Glad you got out of there in 1 piece...

Posted

Goody showed a lot of emotion tonight for probably the first time. Once frustrated in the box, maybe Garlett fumble then after the siren there were smiles and hugs all round. It meant a lot to him tonight

Posted
2 minutes ago, A F said:

Given how we played early in the game and Adelaide's dominance, the importance of this game and in a hostile environment, I don't think it would be an overstatement to say that this was the gutsiest win from a Melbourne side that I can remember.

Clayton Oliver is no longer a star. He announced himself tonight as a legitimate superstar. He almost single-handedly changed the game for us in the third quarter. His cleanness around the stoppages, his decision making and his ability to execute by hand was so exceptional that he elevated himself into the top 10 players in the game. Give him a 5 year extension this week, please.

14 clearances and 25 contested possessions are simply phenomenal stats. Jason Taylor, what a [censored] pick up! Take a bow.

Oliver what a freak, one touch disposals and one handed pick ups in the wet, I don’t think I’ve seen a mid as skilful at Melbourne in my time 

Posted

ive been doing my brownlow votes for every melb gane this year but im not sure how to vote this game. 

milera was good as waa crouch. oliver, brayshaw and gawn was good with 66 hitouts.

Posted
25 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

hey guys, what do u think of the 3 brownlow votes this match.

i thought maybe:

3- oliver

2- brayshaw

1. matt crouch

what are yours?

3 Oliver

2 Gawn

1 Milera

Posted
11 minutes ago, P-man said:

I reckon that game could be big for JKH’s confidence. He didn’t star but he showed to others and himself that he still has the ability to perform at this level against quality opposltion. Good on him. Sometimes players just need a decent run at things to find their feet. Here’s hoping it’s a sign of things to come.

Yes, i agree, he's a confidence player. I was really hoping that he would kick that goal, not that easy either at that pace. You could just tell his attack on the ball is getting cleaner under pressure and a lot harder as well. Hope he continues, and by the way everyone got around him, they feel the same way.......

Posted
4 minutes ago, Demonland said:

LOL

Spargo's a ripper though isn't he?

Didn't play his best game tonight but he always gets around his teammates no matter what.

Posted
52 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Glad we won but......

We take the win and move on. We just needed to get across the line in one of these games to keep the belief going. 

Now we can go back and continue to iron out the things we didn't do as well.

Massive, massive win.

Posted
1 hour ago, Dr.D said:

ive been doing my brownlow votes for every melb gane this year but im not sure how to vote this game. 

milera was good as waa crouch. oliver, brayshaw and gawn was good with 66 hitouts.

Do you like early era jack or port era jack?

Posted

Who would’ve thought JKH was our third fastest player tonight at 32kmph, behind Spargo and then Smith 2nd!

Smith will get better with more games, he did well I thought, he has spirit and desperation, his composure will come with experience 

Posted

I smashed my hand on the stone kitchen bench in last quarter when the Crows were coming. Oh Lord ! I started bleeding from the knuckle and also split the webbing of my right hand and believe me l was bleeding Red and Blue blood. But I don't care because we won.

Thank the Lord he was on our side for once. I can smile till the next game.

Posted
2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

The moment Joel Smith unnecessarily rushed his kick from a mark early in the last quarter I knew we were in trouble.

Zero game sense.

He's another Frost IMO. Will really struggle to make it. As you say, absolutely no game sense. Even that speccy/spoil in the first half that should have gone out of bounds, but instead took out a team mate and went straight down an opposition player's throat. His kicking and decision making are VFL level at best. 

He did get back and make a good spoil late in the game, but he's too limited by foot. Let's hope he builds on the win, because doesn't sound like we'll have Hibberd back for at least another fortnight.

Posted

Good god. We have broken hands, split webbing and long walks late at night to avoid reality.

It’s a tough life being a Melbourne supporter...

• Haha 8

Posted
17 minutes ago, A F said:

I reckon he will become the greatest we've seen for this club.

There's at least 10 times a game I rewind and re-watch his magic.

Posted

That was a great win. After last week and playing in Adelaide where they were fighting for a place in the finals is a fantastic reaction by the MFC. Now we must build on it. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, binman said:

Do you like early era jack or port era jack?

lol well i would've traded watts 5 years ago so him in a port jumper is probably more to my point :)

i might make a screen shot of us in 9th position and make that your avatar but im yet to decide:)

Posted

Clayton Oliver announced himself tonight if he hasn’t already done that countless times already. He showed some much needed class when it seemed no-one else could, that little play in the middle where he got it over the top to Brayshaw (think it was him) in the third, wow. Class above this guy, class above. 

Posted
2 hours ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

It could also be that our starting midfield is made up of 50 game players who maybe cant quite keep it up yet all game against more mature mids.

Yeah, our defensive running still needs a lot of work, but our offensive game from the clinches is A grade.