Posted

Just watched bob Murphy’s new show called bob on fox footy, his 1st guest is rob sitch who is a massive dees supporter, I thought it was great he talks about Robbie flower a bit but overall was good to watch, I do like bob Murphy, anyone else watch it? 

For those without foxtel will probably be on YouTube at some point 

Posted

Loved the show.

Posted

Yeh, liked it more than some media people who like to espouse a contreversial opinion so they can be the focus of attention (until some other clown makes an utterance.

This seemed to be a show about footy as footy (the culture) whch is a breath of fresh air.

Posted
19 hours ago, SFebey said:

Can’t stand Bob Murphy, will watch replay tomorrow though 

Of all the opposition players to dislike how did your opinion if him originate. Would have to be one of the mire down to Earth liksble players of the past 20 years. 

Enjoyed the show by the way. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Hell Bent said:

Of all the opposition players to dislike how did your opinion if him originate. Would have to be one of the mire down to Earth liksble players of the past 20 years. 

Enjoyed the show by the way. 

He comes off as "try-hard down-to-Earth". I don't hate him, but I see it…and I get why others do.

Posted (edited)

I find him hard to watch. It seems like he puts a lot of effort in to being ‘Bob’. I haven’t watched the show but I will, perhaps he is better as the Interviewer rather than the interviewee. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted
21 hours ago, SFebey said:

Can’t stand Bob Murphy, will watch replay tomorrow though 

My daughter's school burnt down on Black Saturday, and Bob visited and spent a whole day with the kids. My daughter said he was really nice - interested in all sorts of things, not just footy, and very funny. (Some Collingwood players visited as well - or tried to. They got lost, couldn't find the school, turned around and went home)

Posted
56 minutes ago, Jara said:

My daughter's school burnt down on Black Saturday, and Bob visited and spent a whole day with the kids. My daughter said he was really nice - interested in all sorts of things, not just footy, and very funny. (Some Collingwood players visited as well - or tried to. They got lost, couldn't find the school, turned around and went home)

I’m sure he is a nice person, as are most players that I’ve met, they do lots that go unnoticed. But, I find him quite annoying and cringeworthy personally. It was bob this and bob that with everything last year. Tries too hard. Not saying he’s not a nice bloke, but like Whateley, just blabs on 

Posted

I know this may sound trite, but I like the fact that he drives around in an old holden (a very clean one at that).

Posted
23 hours ago, brendan said:

Just watched bob Murphy’s new show called bob on fox footy, his 1st guest is rob sitch who is a massive dees supporter, I thought it was great he talks about Robbie flower a bit but overall was good to watch, I do like bob Murphy, anyone else watch it? 

For those without foxtel will probably be on YouTube at some point 

em, Bob Murphy is a beauty.  The doggies modern day Dougie Hawkins...   who also sang Robbie Flowers praises.

Is rob sitch on here, demonland ?    'demon9' perhaps.... new know, a sitch in time saves nine.  or something along those lines ? 

Actually, come to think of it.  CH-9 could do with him.

Posted
1 hour ago, Buffalo said:

I know this may sound trite, but I like the fact that he drives around in an old holden (a very clean one at that).

Ermagerd hipster 

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, Buffalo said:

inside goss: that was rented.

also, bob is a legend. each to their own though.

Edited by Rocky
Posted

I think when Bob retired and entered the media world, he was surprised to find there was this persona ready and waiting for him. For some inexplicable reason, after the '16 flag, he was transformed into the Dogs' greatest ever warrior-poet and the world's best knockabout mate that you'd want as your best man.

Suddenly there's this image that has been created for him, ready for him to step into it and live up to that. And for a while, he did try to. A bit too hard?

I have no doubt in time he will forget all that and just be himself, which can only be good, as he is obviously a thinker with his own views on the relative importance of football and where it fits in society. Nat Fyfe another one, will be very interesting to hear his thoughts post retirement when he has the freedom to utter them. Judd is another one with highly original thoughts, but he's sucked into the vortex of nightly TV shows which are all about reaction to the crisis du jour.

Posted (edited)

Bob Murphy was Rob Flower 2 reincarnated 

He played a very similar brand of footy and most importantly was the same self effacing champion which was Rob Flower all over!

Quirky he is, but I can reveal Rob Flower loved watching him play and it seems Rob Murphy has similar views regarding Rob Flower!!

That then makes him, a  bloody good bloke In my book!?

Posted
1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Bob Murphy was Rob Flower 2 reincarnated 

He played a very similar brand of footy and most importantly was the same self effacing champion which was Rob Flower all over!

Quirky he is, but I can reveal Rob Flower loved watching him play and it seems Rob Murphy has similar views regarding Rob Flower!!

That then makes him, a  bloody good bloke In my book!?

Yes l agree that Bob Murphy would be a good bloke he looks it .However he was not a Robert Flower  type or played his footy like he did.

Robert Flower was in a class of his own. RIP.

Posted

One more thing I like about Murphy - he's a superb writer - I find his stuff some of the best I've ever read - insider trading - real meat and potatoes stuff - 

most other writers try too hard (or they are just dills)

Interestingly, the other player/writer I recall reading with admiration was Brent Croswell - dunno if anybody even remembers his writing these days (and I was only a kid, so I suppose my judgement was susso)

funny how there's been so much good writing about cricket (e.g. Gideon Haig's The Mystery Spinner) but precious little on footy 

Posted

I can tell you he is an OK basketball player too.

Watched him play before my game out at Coburg Monday night. Had a good chat with him afterwards. Can confirm a very pleasant likable character as his reputation suggests.

Posted
6 hours ago, Jara said:

Interestingly, the other player/writer I recall reading with admiration was Brent Croswell - dunno if anybody even remembers his writing these days (and I was only a kid, so I suppose my judgement was susso)

He was as good a writer as a player. Better than Martin Flanagan. Unfortunately struck down with a debilitating illness.

Posted

I find Bob like a TV version of Martin Flanagan. Felt like he is exploring the role of interviewer will get better and Nick taking the pi$$ out of him was funny on 360. However I really enjoy his endeavour in trying to find a different perspective, there is so much crap from people like Purple and Hutchinson and Footy show types that this is a much needed breath of fresh air. The Nat Fyfe outtake for next week makes me think the interview will be a ripper. The tea thing felt a bit contrived

For me he gets a bit tick for his idolization of Flowers as 'the patron saint of skinny players'. Anyone with that love for Robbie, well that is a pretty fair start.

Posted (edited)

Murphy's a good thinker (and his love for Flower is a positive), but he's not a great interviewer so far.

Posted
5 hours ago, Mazer Rackham said:

He was as good a writer as a player. Better than Martin Flanagan. Unfortunately struck down with a debilitating illness.

Thanks for the memory jog, I remember reading him and thinking it was great 

Posted
22 hours ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Thanks for that. Yes, I remember reading about his health problems somewhere recently. Very sad. Glad somebody else remembers him as a writer. To be honest, I can actually barely remember what he wrote - I was just a kid, but I read a lot, and I remember thinking - wow - that guy has written so well about a game I love, not something I'd ever come across before. 

Have any of you on this thread read The Mystery Spinner? I thought it was an incredible book, and story - I've met its author a couple of times, and he was a bit p'd off that it didn't sell more at the time.