3 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Yeah nah.

I’d be okay with $900K a year for 4 years with the knowledge you’re probably going to play in Grand Finals.

Eagles offered him 6 years at $850k a year and North 7 years at $1.2m a year.

If we were in the game, we would have to offer at least 6 years at $1m a year. That would be a $2.4m difference or about $1.2m after Tax give or take.

1 minute ago, Redleg said:

If we were in the game, we would have to offer at least 6 years at $1m a year. That would be a $2.4m difference or about $1.2m after Tax give or take.

only if you really truly believed the above figures. i reckon they are inflated for the usual reasons

53 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Yeah nah.

I’d be okay with $900K a year for 4 years with the knowledge you’re probably going to play in Grand Finals.

Football career is short.

The question is $3-3.5M > premiership (Assuming North does not win one in that time and we do)

4 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

They (North) have an ordinary list and overachieved finishing 9th. They won't make the finals they should be a bottom of the ladder club even with Gaff. Gaff wants to play finals your guaranteed that with Melbourne not with North.

Neither of those are fact or necessarily true.

4 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

I'm really not sure why posters are so convinced Gaff is off to North.

Polec is about to go there on enormous money so I find it extremely difficult to believe North would pay another bucket-load to a similar outside running player? It really doesn't make any sense to me from a list management pov.

Not that it means much, but I happened to bump into Gaff last week playing golf at Camberwell. I had a chat to him and told him I hoped to see him running around in our colours next year, to which he responded; "I've got a bit to think about over the next few weeks."

My feeling is that we're still very much in the frame. My brother played school footy with him and has said he's a very honest kid who was a big dees fan growing up as most are aware. His father hasn't been well either which is obviously a massive factor in his decision.

Players go home to play at their club of choice sometimes even if it's for less money. Jeremy Howe for instance took less to go to Collingwood over the Gold Coast to play under Buckley who was his favourite player as a kid.

I'm still confident.

I’m quietly confident too, but I’m not really sure why. I don’t know him, and what I’ve been told is that the club itself expects him to go to North if he comes back to VIC. We shall see.

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Our initial offer was 7 years, before he had an amazing season & pushed his price up. I’m told our offer is the same as West Coast’s, not sure if that extends to the length of the deal.

His dad's health issues may have been know and stressing Gaff when he had the rare brain snap.  So his dad and family may be the clincher to bring him back.   

Then Dees vs North?  Surely, its a no-brainer:  play for Goodwin or Mr Sourpuss Scott!! 

4 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

My brother played school footy with him and has said he's a very honest kid who was a big dees fan growing up as most are aware. His father hasn't been well either which is obviously a massive factor in his decision.

Does that mean your brother was a Carey boy?

If so does that also mean you were a Carey boy as well?

4 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

He was, I wasn't. 

Would have been a great time to be playing for the Carey 1sts.

I'm surprised so many are confident.

From everything being reported, and there's usually smoke when there's this much fire, Gaff will either stay or go to North for the dollars.

I suspect North.  I hold zero hope he'll come to Melbourne.

And with the elevation in form of both Harmes and Brayshaw I'm far less eager than I was.

On 8/27/2018 at 9:31 PM, jumbo returns said:

'Melbourne are out of the running for Gaff'

Tom Morris - OTC tonight

Tom Morris is an attention seeker and average journalist 

8 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Tom Morris is an attention seeker and average journalist 

And his head is disproportionately large.

Im about as convinced as can be that this ship has sailed.

Can the super confident in getting Gaff people please explain how we will do this instead of constantly exhaling hot air?

20 minutes ago, Wolfturdo said:

Can the super confident in getting Gaff people please explain how we will do this instead of constantly exhaling hot air?

Geez man I don’t know, it’s late!

3 facts:

1. Gaff is considering his future

2. North will offer big money

3. Tom Morris is a total charlatan 

13 hours ago, ProDee said:

I'm surprised so many are confident.

From everything being reported, and there's usually smoke when there's this much fire, Gaff will either stay or go to North for the dollars.

I suspect North.  I hold zero hope he'll come to Melbourne.

And with the elevation in form of both Harmes and Brayshaw I'm far less eager than I was.

I think it comes down to a sheer lack of respect for North. Why would anyone want to go there? And I just feel that Gaff is about more than money.

10 hours ago, Wolfturdo said:

- He is a Demon at heart! 

- The Dees have been into him for quite awhile.

- He gets to play in the big games at the G. Anzac eve, Queens Birthday, Grand Finals lol...

- He realisers the extra money North are throwing around is going to be eaten up by the tax man. And 1/2 of it is being paid in fake $50 notes... 

- He doesn’t want to be asked by North in 2 years time to take a pay cut because they need to find more money to recruit other players. 1.2M surely wouldn’t sit too well with some of the North playing group. They might as swell drive him to games in the Pope mobile. 

If the reported figures are correct, or in the ball park, you can’t blame the guy if he goes to North. 400k per season is a huge difference. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

9 minutes ago, Dee tention said:

- He is a Demon at heart! 

- The Dees have been into him for quite awhile.

- He gets to play in the big games at the G. Anzac eve, Queens Birthday, Grand Finals lol...

- He realisers the extra money North are throwing around is going to be eaten up by the tax man. And 1/2 of it is being paid in fake $50 notes... 

- He doesn’t want to be asked by North in 2 years time to take a pay cut because they need to find more money to recruit other players. 1.2M surely wouldn’t sit too well with some of the North playing group. They might as swell drive him to games in the Pope mobile. 

This is a line that should be conveyed to Gaff at every opportunity.

You can near on bet that it will happen at some stage.

3 hours ago, Mach5 said:

I think it comes down to a sheer lack of respect for North. Why would anyone want to go there? And I just feel that Gaff is about more than money.

For me it's the chance to run out at the G most weeks compared to Etihad.  

When journalists say that Melbourne have given up on getting Gaff I tend to believe them.  There are some things clubs won't let out, but others they do.  In this instance I see no reason to doubt these reports.  Sometimes journos guess, or put two and two together, and on other occasions clubs are frank, as I'm sure we have been.  You can tell by the definite nature of reporters saying Melbourne don't expect to be landing Gaff.  It was very different to the commentary around Lever last year, or Hibberd prior to that.  I'm virtually certain Gaff won't be coming to Melbourne.

Now I'll have dolts cite all the times journos get it wrong as though that has some sort of relevance to what I just said.  

Seems unlikely Gaff will be a Dee next year. So what are our options then?

Seems to be a bit of chatter about Dayne Beams.

Edited by Moonshadow

2 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Wants to go back to Collingwood is the word going around.

15 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

According to someone at Brisbane (can’t remember who) they reckon he’ll see out his contract before coming back to Victoria. I believe he still has two years left. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

11 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

According to someone at Brisbane (can’t remember who) they reckon he’ll see out his contract before coming back to Victoria. I believe he still has two years left. 

The AGe Real Footy Podcast indicated he was going to play out at Brisbane then head home