Posted

richmond are scary good - if they continue their amazing run with lack of injury, they could be a hawthorn-like powerhouse

we are...not much chop

we tried our best but our best is not near good enough

we have a lot of nqr's in our current best 22

Posted

Not really sure what our game plan is supposed to be. From defence to attack it just seems to be kick long down the line and hope Gawn/anyone marks it. 

Reminds me of Malthouse football.

Posted

Hey come on guys, look on the bright side.

We didnt lose by as much as last week......

They didnt double our score......

There were no injuries........

I mean, how many positives do i have to list before you accept we arent that bad ????

Brand Repair, MFC style.

P.S. Goody and his defenders can GAGF. You think YOU were offended Jackson?? Ask the members how they feel after another surrender.........

Posted (edited)

I wonder if PJ is still offended by the criticism of Goodwins coaching because we have no game plan, no structure and we leak goals like a sieve.

Garlett should never play again. Likewise Harmes and ANB - they are just substandard.

This Club gives its supporters so little so often. I’m seriously disillusioned.

Edited by chook fowler
Posted
5 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Put aside the last 15 minutes.  We ran out of juice, the Tigers are reigning premiers and they got some cheap goals.  It wasn't similar at all to last weekend.

But, there were some key moments tonight that contributed to the loss, and they were moments we are having too often to be a consistent side.

The first one is our forward line and not taking our chances.  In the third term especially we dominated for a large period and, while we did kick a few, it should have been more.  We fluffed some chances, Hogan hits the post... we just couldn't put our domination on the scoreboard.  They go down, get a cheap goal and it really hurts.  The goal at the end of the third term was the one that hurt us the most - Lloyd getting a cheap goal out the back took their lead above 3 goals and we had nothing to show for our efforts.

The second is the little things - too many people up in the contest, two players going for the same ground ball, fumbling in key areas, missing simple targets and so on.  We do them too often.  To be a top class side you need to pick the damn thing up, then spread and support.  We CAN do it, we just don't do it often enough.  It's our 'bottom six' that do it the most - ANB, Harmes, Wagner etc.  They just don't do things first time.

I don't think the scoreline reflects the effort we put in and the pressure we were able to apply.  It's a shame, but switch off against a good side and that's what happens.

On the positive side, I thought Gawn was immense, Hogan had another great night, Weideman showed some promising signs before fading (he did well in the ruck, too), Melksham kicked 4 and did a great defensive job on Rance, while guys like Salem, Oliver and Trac tried hard but didn't get enough support.  I also thought O Mac and Lever played their best game together.

I think Goodwin tried a few different things but, in the end, it wasn't enough and we fell back into the bad habits that are costing us games of footy.  Until we eradicate those then we can't move forward.

I think we can beat the Bombers at Etihad and I think we'll enjoy playing in conditions that aren't condusive to fumbling.  We've played the Lions, Hawks and now Tigers in slippery conditions and struggled with it in two of them.  I'll be interested to see how we go without it next week.

Keep your chin up if you can, everyone.  I think we can still improve from here and become the side we all want it to be.  There is just lots of work ahead for the club to do.

It usually takes at least 24 hours for a post like this to emerge.  You’re mostly right, but it’s hard to see/admit it right now.

Posted

Fumbling under pressure shows were not up to playing finals footy just yet 

having Viney at the clearances would have  been nice tonight 

also seems the reigning premiers get a free pass from the umps to throw the ball 

max needs to learn to kick and lower the eyes, those floater passes inside 50 are a liability 

stretch supposedly has pace , but doesn’t run 

well done to clarry for pinging Martin , even though the umps fail to call it 

And Riewoldt is a hack , junk time specialist 

Posted

Goodwin is the problem. He made selection mistakes and coached terribly against Collingwood last game of 2017. He continues to do the same. No Pederson or Hannan? Wont drop his love child Melksim or Lewis. Why do you think Clarkson got rid of Lewis? We beat Hawthorn one time and Clarkson made the changes he had to to get moving again. Goodwin has no idea. the buck stops with him.

Posted

Tyson, Wagner, ANB, Harmes, Stretch, Hunt, Weiderman, and sadly now Vince are all VFL grade players. I will never trust Stretch again. We have gotten ahead of ourselves massively.

Posted (edited)
24 minutes ago, america de cali said:

If you can’t handle a 2 day camp how can you tough out 4 quarters of football?

That's a Bullsh-t comment.

I suppose you think we would have developed football skills and learned a decent gameplan at the 2 day camp.

Edited by Redleg
Posted

The kicking down the line B /S was not working either , especially when our guys don’t crumb 

the first 2 1/2 qtrs reminded me how we played in 2014 , didn’t concede much but didn’t look like scoring 

Posted

Joined again as a member this year after a long absence. Believed all the hype. Taken 5 weeks to be utterly demoralised. Same old effing rubbish dished up by players who have absolutely no pride in the jumper. Season as good as over

Posted
1 minute ago, Redleg said:

That's a Bullsh-t comment.

I suppose you think we would have developed football skills and learned a decent gameplan at the 2 day camp.

Maybe the game plan bit...

Posted
5 minutes ago, Delusional demon 82 said:

Fumbling under pressure shows were not up to playing finals footy just yet 

having Viney at the clearances would have  been nice tonight 

also seems the reigning premiers get a free pass from the umps to throw the ball 

max needs to learn to kick and lower the eyes, those floater passes inside 50 are a liability 

stretch supposedly has pace , but doesn’t run 

well done to clarry for pinging Martin , even though the umps fail to call it 

And Riewoldt is a hack , junk time specialist 

Yes the Tiger toss over the head is no way a legal handpass

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Delusional demon 82 said:

The kicking down the line B /S was not working either , especially when our guys don’t crumb 

the first 2 1/2 qtrs reminded me how we played in 2014 , didn’t concede much but didn’t look like scoring 

It was like Goodwin conceded the game and the team playing to prevent a blowout. No risks taken at all. 

Posted

I don't think the camp was meant to teach those things Redleg. Im beginning to believe that Goodwin HAS lost the group. They aren't playing for him, with the exception of his Essendon old boys, the rest look like they're playing not to get hurt.

Posted

Weid made me feel he has a future tonight. There were bad points but some glimmers of the future in a bleak night. 

Posted

Surprised that Weideman is getting the criticism. Was probably his best match for the club, and while that’s not saying heaps, he’s progressing while many of our other young players have seemingly gone backwards.

• Like 16

Posted
1 minute ago, america de cali said:

It was like Goodwin conceded the game and playing to prevent a blowout. No risks taken at all. 

Yep your right , and yet the blow out still came in the last 

Posted

Disappointing result, but then they're not the reigning premiers for nothing. A well-oiled machine in full flight, they did to us much as they did to Adelaide in the granny, and if they keep that up, hard to not see them doing the double.

More than a few positives from the night, Lever's best game, Melksham, Jetta and Hibberd were back to something like their old selves, and Weideman did enough to justify his inclusion.

But at the end of the day, the difference between the two sides was that their bottom 6 players are so far ahead of ours it's not funny. I get the players over the back/outside bit, but if we didn't turn it over so much, it would be much less of an issue. It's the reason that they can get that run of players going and we can't ... somewhere in that chain there'll be a Harmes or ANB who fumble the ball, or misdirect a handball and then it goes back the other way with interest.

And ... still think Viney's absence is hurting us a lot more than we realise, it's not for nothing that we're not doing as well with clearances as we did last year.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, america de cali said:

It was like Goodwin conceded the game and playing to prevent a blowout. No risks taken at all. 

But it's not taking risks to switch play to an open player. It's actually taking risks to kick to packs which we are the world specialists at.

There is a reason the spoils were something like 60-20 their way.

Edited by Redleg
Posted

Harmes has to be dropped. Can’t believe we let him have no.4.

Stretch nervous and fumbly

Vince has to be dropped, surely .

Nothing game from Tyson 

i cant recall Weid taking a mark so not sure about some people calling it an encouraging game

Goodwin had no answers when we lost the clearances in the second term. Just had to submit to Richmond’s structures.

Only positives: Gawn again, Lever looked comfortable, Melksham returned to form, same with hibbo. Jones and Oliver very good in the middle. O Mac our best defender almost at the moment.

Posted
1 minute ago, bing181 said:

Disappointing result, but then they're not the reigning premiers for nothing. A well-oiled machine in full flight, they did to us much as they did to Adelaide in the granny, and if they keep that up, hard to not see them doing the double.

More than a few positives from the night, Lever's best game, Melksham, Jetta and Hibberd were back to something like their old selves, and Weideman did enough to justify his inclusion.

But at the end of the day, the difference between the two sides was that their bottom 6 players are so far ahead of ours it's not funny. I get the players over the back/outside bit, but if we didn't turn it over so much, it would be much less of an issue. It's the reason that they can get that run of players going and we can't ... somewhere in that chain there'll be a Harmes or ANB who fumble the ball, or misdirect a handball and then it goes back the other way with interest.

And ... still think Viney's absence is hurting us a lot more than we realise, it's not for nothing that we're not doing as well with clearances as we did last year.

Their bottom six players play like team players. End of story.

Posted

Same [censored] every week. Bomb long, skills worst in the comp, rubbish game plan, no communication, coaches are shocking and we have gone backwards in a big way. Something stinks.

Posted
2 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Good post agree entirely.