The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted

he seems one of those players who play better the higher the grade of football and the greater the occasion. looking forward to his next 200 games

Posted

Whoever made the call to play him as a winger deserves a gold medal.  Fantastic move.

Calm, aggressive, beautiful mover and reader of the play and silky disposal.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, A F said:

I've been hard on Max is the past but I reckon that was his best game for the club.

Absolutely mauled Jacobs and those taps to advantage ?.

Wonderful team effort though.

Unfortunately didn't see the match and am looking forward to the replay.

But it is interesting from the stats that he (Max) had ZERO marks today in a dominant team performance.  I guess that confirms that stats are just that ... stats.

Posted
17 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Unfortunately didn't see the match and am looking forward to the replay.

But it is interesting from the stats that he had ZERO marks today in a dominant team performance.  I guess that confirms that stats are just that ... stats.

But there's other stats that tell a bit of the counter side Mono if you drill down a little.  11 score involvements (equal 2nd on the day) and 20 effectives running at 83.3% DE.  Stats can certainly lie but they can also highlight some key (selective) aspects at times giving a rough guide on form.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

But there's other stats that tell a bit of the counter side Mono if you drill down a little.  11 score involvements (equal 2nd on the day) and 20 effectives running at 83.3% DE.  Stats can certainly lie but they can also highlight some key (selective) aspects at times giving a rough guide on form.

Apologies Rusty.  I was replying to the previous poster who was talking about Max. 

My bad. 

Posted

I know a few of the Casey watchers were all over him, but the impression I got was that he was an undersized key forward with a better than average leap. I was expecting a poor man’s Jeremy Howe, which didn’t excite me much.

Nobody told me he would be a gun wing. He covers heaps of the ground, plays a tough brand and is so clean with the ball. I can’t believe our luck.

By the way I reckon it’s a huge endorsement for the Casey system. The fact that players like Fritsch and Smith chose Casey as their clubs of choice to get noticed by the AFL system, then both got selected by Melbourne, sends a loud message to all players wanting a shot: come play for Casey; if you’re good enough, you will be noticed and given the chance to develop. It becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

• Like 17
Posted (edited)

And I'm spewing I sold him from my SC side 2 wks ago when he hit 300k.
Typically his numbers have improved since.

In the air reminds me of Robbie Flower.

Edited by Fork 'em
Posted
6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I know a few of the Casey watchers were all over him, but the impression I got was that he was an undersized key forward with a better than average leap. I was expecting a poor man’s Jeremy Howe, which didn’t excite me much.

Nobody told me he would be a gun wing. He covers heaps of the ground, plays a tough brand and is so clean with the ball. I can’t believe our luck.

By the way I reckon it’s a huge endorsement for the Casey system. The fact that players like Fritsch and Smith chose Casey as their clubs of choice to get noticed by the AFL system, then both got selected by Melbourne, sends a loud message to all players wanting a shot: come play for Casey; if you’re good enough, you will be noticed and given the chance to develop. It becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

You can ad Kielty to that list. 

Posted
On 5/23/2018 at 4:57 AM, Petraccattack said:

Doubles him in inside 50's, almost double in metres gained.   Shows he is much more dangerous.   More contested possession per game too.... and Fritsch is stick thin.

Add the massive difference in aerial/marking ability and courage, and we cashed in Watts for a 21 year old who is at least twice as good if not more.

a Win is a Win is a Win...

Posted
2 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

I did as well but I'll be glad to bring in Tim Smith next week.

Posted
9 hours ago, monoccular said:

Apologies Rusty.  I was replying to the previous poster who was talking about Max. 

My bad. 

Ah i see.  All good mono ?

Posted
10 hours ago, monoccular said:

Whoever made the call to play him as a winger deserves a gold medal.  Fantastic move.

Calm, aggressive, beautiful mover and reader of the play and silky disposal.

Thanks ? been waiting for that gold medal for around 3 weeks now. Probably along with half of the Melbourne supporter base. 

Posted
22 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

How dare you compare ANYONE with the late great Robbie Flower !!!!! Hang your head in shame FE !!!!!

Posted

Just calling it like I see it.
He's got some class.
How much remains to be seen.

Posted

How the hell did we snag this kid in Round 2 of the draft?

26 possessions, 14 marks, 1 goal, 4 tackles

Racking up the footy since moving to the midfield... elite disposal.... amazing in the air.

Wowee!!!!!!!

Posted

As a tall forward I was offended on behalf of Tomald when Fritsch ruined his mark late in the game. 

But his vision and skills are just so impressive. Footy scouts would have overlooked him for the dumbest of reasons.

Posted

The trading of Jack Watts for a lowish return seems like a distant memory given the way Bailey has slotted in.

Would Wattsy get a game in the same side as Bailey? On current form sadly not.

Posted
10 minutes ago, rpfc said:

As a tall forward I was offended on behalf of Tomald when Fritsch ruined his mark late in the game. 

But his vision and skills are just so impressive. Footy scouts would have overlooked him for the dumbest of reasons.

Tom should have blocked and called him back into the ball 'rp'...

Posted

Definitely moves like Flower, in the air too.

Posted
8 minutes ago, rjay said:

Tom should have blocked and called him back into the ball 'rp'...

Nah, get to my feet and stay there. 

Posted

Very common for VFL players to get drafted and become solid AFL players (eg. Hannan). But very rare for them to have such... class. Isaac Smith was probably the last one and Davey before him.

Fritsch would go first round if the draft was held again.