GO HARRY YOU GOOD THING

On 6/8/2018 at 6:02 PM, Petraccattack said:

And he is 197 cms.   We have a player on our hands here.  Just looks like a natural.

6 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

As long as we don't expect him to be the great saviour I look forward to having him in the team

Al the best Harry

How lovely it would be to a MFC KPD before your first game. Universal admiration on fan forums and yet to be subjected to top-flight teams penetrating your diamond. One slip up in one of the most difficult defensive set-ups in the league and he'll be off to the delist thread no doubt.  

Wishing you a long, successful career Harry.

Perfect selection and timing, I reckon.  I always feel that there's something special about a youngster making his debut for the MFC.  The reports from Casey watchers, and the article posted above by Bates Mate only increase my excitement.  I hope he has a rippa game and quickly becomes a regular.

He’s a dud

56 minutes ago, Roost It said:

He’s a dud

Thanks Roost it you have made my night!

Really looking forward to seeing how he goes and I hope we put a bit of time into him for the rest of the year. Injury permitting, it'd be great to see him stay there for the rest of 2018.

I want our 2019 backline to consist of Lever, OMac, Petty, Hibberd, Jetta, a Smith or Hunt and a kicker. Therefore, I hope we give Harry some time to gel with OMac, Hibberd, Jetts and Smith.

9 minutes ago, A F said:

Really looking forward to seeing how he goes and I hope we put a bit of time into him for the rest of the year. Injury permitting, it'd be great to see him stay there for the rest of 2018.

I want our 2019 backline to consist of Lever, OMac, Petty, Hibberd, Jetta, a Smith or Hunt and a kicker. Therefore, I hope we give Harry some time to gel with OMac, Hibberd, Jetts and Smith.

Jetta - O Mac
Hunt - J Smith - Petty - Hibberd - Salem

With Lewis coming off the bench

28 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

Jetta - O Mac
Hunt - J Smith - Petty - Hibberd - Salem

With Lewis coming off the bench

Good mixture really.

OMac and Petty are nice kicks for big guys too. Jetts is a reliable kick. Salem is a beautiful kick.

Lewis' ability to marshall is underrated, so he definitely needs to be in there, but I like all those guys mentioned.

I find Smith a little heart-in-mouth with ball in hand, but hopefully he can gain my trust with a bit more football. The rest of those guys I'd feel comfortable getting the ball.

It's great finally having a backline where we're unlikely to turn it over every second kick.

In some respects, the backline has taken the longest time to come together with our list build and also been our biggest weakness, but in a way, the backline is the area of the ground that I'm most excited by. Maybe it's because of the 'potential' down there and the addition of Lever, but it actually looks good on paper and I'd back most in one-on-ones. It's all about developing together and learning that defensive system and all the tweaks that come with this.

Good luck young fella.

If I had to guess, looking at the Frost and Pedersen  situations, Petty will get the 3 easier games, Pedersen playing CHB at Casey gets him back up to speed with defence and if Petty doesn't work out then he'll come in to replace him. Frost may as well seek offers now, papers stamped by the looks.

Edited by SFebey

5 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

I can’t see how Lever will play before probably mid-year next year

When he comes back ideally he slips into the J Smith or Petty role 

Hopefully they will all be gelling so well together that there will be a massive selection dilemma.

Would be a great problem to have.

2 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

havent seen a min of this blokes game but the reviews etc suggest he might well grow into a KPB ..He HAS the physical attributes where as neither Lever or Pig are geared that way.

If Lever can be re-released back to what he does super well then we might be getting somewhere ;)

13 hours ago, old dee said:

Thanks Roost it you have made my night!

Twas a joke by the way

2 hours ago, Roost It said:

Twas a joke by the way

Yes I understood the comment that is what made my night.

Even as a young kid, I loved seeing new kids make their debut for the Dees.

Nothing has changed.

Its exciting to get that first glimpse of talent, when you think "gee this kid can play." 

So often a false dawn, merely tantalizing. Occasionally though, we get to see the "real deal" for the first time.

Robbie Flower, Garry Lyon, Bayley Fritsch to name a few.

Still one of the great things about AFL.

So it will be exciting to watch Harry Petty run onto the ground and get his first touch.  

Let's hope he falls into the successful ""he's got what it takes" South Australian camp and not the "well he had talent, but we never got to see it" camp. 

1 minute ago, hemingway said:

Even as a young kid, I loved seeing new kids make their debut for the Dees.

Nothing has changed.

Its exciting to get that first glimpse of talent, when you think "gee this kid can play." 

So often a false dawn, merely tantalizing. Occasionally though, we get to see the "real deal" for the first time.

Robbie Flower, Garry Lyon, Bayley Fritsch to name a few.

Still one of the great things about AFL.

Couldn't have said it better.  No wonder you call yourself hemingway.

3 hours ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

Really ?

They're usually a 9 month recovery from memory, which puts him in the frame for round 1.

Obviously they won't rush him, but I'd expect the first few rounds.

8 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Really ?

They're usually a 9 month recovery from memory, which puts him in the frame for round 1.

Obviously they won't rush him, but I'd expect the first few rounds.

True...I always think back to the ‘take 12 months for an acl’ theory

Knees always make me nervous and when I think of what I have seen on the footy field, a little sick at the bottom of my stomach.

There on both occasions when David Schwartz broke down. Now that's something you never forget.

I just hope Jake had the best surgeon who did the best repair job. Much depends on the skill of the surgeon.

He cannot afford to have another reco. 

Like The Ox, you wonder about the riskiness of his playing style as he jumps and intercepts off balance both on take off and landing. That makes me nervous. The Ox had to reinvent himself and change his playing style. He had to use his increased weight and strength and forget about jumping into or over packs.

I suspect that Jake and his recovery team will need to consider the way he plays and whether he modifies his playing style. 

Whether it's 12 months or less for Jake, lets hope he has a full recovery and successful return to the big time.  He is one hell of a talent that we want to see much more of. 

Loved his speech in front on the backline.  Does not waste words this young man

the morale and friendship amongst the group looks genuine and terrific.  a critical part of any future success