JJJ 1,348 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 I am not going into specifics but he knows how to party and I wouldn’t want him around my club. on top of that he’s an undersized power forward who doesn’t cover enough ground defensively. We already have a power forward who does that.
Satyriconhome 10,880 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 12 hours ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said: Based on the fact he's had 5 seasons at AFL level where he's kicked over 30 goals in a season - numbers that Harmes and Bugg could only dream of. Put him in a training singlet and you'll be drooling over him in no time. That was 2 years ago which is a long time in footy, just think the game has passed him by Don't drool, just support who is in hte squad, unlike others. Still have an opinion on where players need to improve, and surprisingly can talk to them about it If FD see emough in Crameri to sign him, will ask why when I get the opportunity, and will give him 100% support
Wadda We Sing 10,685 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 48 minutes ago, JJJ said: I am not going into specifics but he knows how to party and I wouldn’t want him around my club. on top of that he’s an undersized power forward who doesn’t cover enough ground defensively. We already have a power forward who does that. The beginning of the Mosquito fleet?
mo64 5,910 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 1 hour ago, JJJ said: I am not going into specifics but he knows how to party and I wouldn’t want him around my club. on top of that he’s an undersized power forward who doesn’t cover enough ground defensively. We already have a power forward who does that. Do you think that Dustin Martin and Swanny go to the US to see the sights? Martin is such a bad influence on the Tiges.
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 1 hour ago, Demon Disciple said: Paging @Bitter but optimistic I'll let it go.
JJJ 1,348 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 18 hours ago, mo64 said: Do you think that Dustin Martin and Swanny go to the US to see the sights? Martin is such a bad influence on the Tiges. I still wouldn’t have him but if you’re going to make that argument at least attempt to make it relevant. Clubs always weigh up risk vs reward when dealing with players and you’ve compared 2 Brownlow medalists to a washed up, undersized power forward with no other skills required in today’s game. On top of that, both the Tigers and Collingwood sacked players who were close to both of those blokes in an effort to make them fly straight.
Uncle Fester 2,848 Posted October 28, 2017 Posted October 28, 2017 No. Offers very little. I'd rather a rookie punt.
Gator 18,053 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 'Old Melbourne' would draft this guy. That's because we had a rubbish list and would take anyone who smiled nicely at us. We've moved past guys like this. We'll play a high brand of pressure again next year and with talls in Hogan/McDonald and excellent marking mid-talls in Petracca, Hannan, Balic and vandenBerg we don't need this guy. Harmes marks pretty well too. Two talls and high pressure smalls and mid-talls is the go. Let North take him.
Guest Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 4 minutes ago, ProDee said: 'Old Melbourne' would draft this guy. That's because we had a rubbish list and would take anyone who smiled nicely at us. We've moved past guys like this. We'll play a high brand of pressure again next year and with talls in Hogan/McDonald and excellent marking mid-talls in Petracca, Hannan, Balic and vandenBerg we don't need this guy. Harmes marks pretty well too. Two talls and high pressure smalls and mid-talls is the go. I think I would add one caveat to that. Old Melbourne would add guys like Crameri but would expect them to be 50 plus goal forwards or rack up 25 posies a game. See most of our recruiting for 2012. I think it will work should we rookie him and use him for depth. If people are expecting a first option forward then they will be sorely disappointed.
rjay 25,424 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 3 hours ago, Barney Rubble said: Not in our Demographic. Agree; the only players we should look at in this age group now, if at all are real leaders like Cross and Lewis and he's very much not that.
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 1 hour ago, rjay said: Agree; the only players we should look at in this age group now, if at all are real leaders like Cross and Lewis and he's very much not that. Please not another player just for leadership. Lewis won't be in the best 22 if or when this team is challenging for a flag unless (touch wood) we pull out something special this year. He should still have value on and off field but the best players need to become the best leaders. I think it's getting closer to the time where you bring in a risk-reward player like a Stewie Dew or Brian Lake, who could do nothing but also could fill a specific need in September. I'm not sure Crameri could be that kind of player but he has some things that work in favour. He can kick a goal, at his best he was a superb athlete with a rare combination of endurance, speed and size and might be able to play different positions.
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 Travis Cloke is also available.
Sir Why You Little 37,450 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 23 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: Travis Cloke is also available. Perfect fit for Nought Melb
rjay 25,424 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 8 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: Please not another player just for leadership. Lewis won't be in the best 22 if or when this team is challenging for a flag unless (touch wood) we pull out something special this year. He should still have value on and off field but the best players need to become the best leaders. I think it's getting closer to the time where you bring in a risk-reward player like a Stewie Dew or Brian Lake, who could do nothing but also could fill a specific need in September. I'm not sure Crameri could be that kind of player but he has some things that work in favour. He can kick a goal, at his best he was a superb athlete with a rare combination of endurance, speed and size and might be able to play different positions. Comprehension problem there 'Dee'????
Dr evil 1,185 Posted October 29, 2017 Posted October 29, 2017 29 - injury prone and has missed a lot of footy, for the 1-2 years he may have left as a fringe player i hardly see him as worth the investment. Hogan and Mcdonald together up forward will give us enough tall targets, i personally think you need four ground level pressure forwards minimum this year to play deep in September I suspect McDonald will rotate through the ruck and Petracca or Hannan will play taller rather than playing another tall player as a supporting ruckman.
hillie 41 Posted October 30, 2017 Posted October 30, 2017 On 27/10/2017 at 8:15 AM, buck_nekkid said: Can’t we pick up DFAs for nothing now, in the appropriate time window? Won’t even cost us 47. It is more a case if we have a spot we are prepared to use on the main list. Otherwise we will have to wait for the rookie draft. I think the FD will pass for the main list, and if history serves, will pull a Smokey from a state league before a DFA for either list. it's the opportunity cost I am talking about. we don't use pick 47 as there is no spot on the list for that pick if we take a Delisted free agent
mo64 5,910 Posted October 30, 2017 Posted October 30, 2017 On 29/10/2017 at 6:57 AM, JJJ said: I still wouldn’t have him but if you’re going to make that argument at least attempt to make it relevant. Clubs always weigh up risk vs reward when dealing with players and you’ve compared 2 Brownlow medalists to a washed up, undersized power forward with no other skills required in today’s game. On top of that, both the Tigers and Collingwood sacked players who were close to both of those blokes in an effort to make them fly straight. I haven't got an issue with the highlighted point, but your initial post simply cast aspersions on Crameri's character, without any substance.
JJJ 1,348 Posted November 1, 2017 Posted November 1, 2017 On 31/10/2017 at 9:38 AM, mo64 said: I haven't got an issue with the highlighted point, but your initial post simply cast aspersions on Crameri's character, without any substance. I’ve associated with some of his now ex teammates and he’s been around. I think he makes bad choices outside of footy. Don’t want our players to do the same. Apparently a terrific fellow though.
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted November 1, 2017 Posted November 1, 2017 I reckon all these speculative threads can be wiped We're going to the draft.
Adam The God 30,715 Posted November 1, 2017 Posted November 1, 2017 1 hour ago, JJJ said: I’ve associated with some of his now ex teammates and he’s been around. I think he makes bad choices outside of footy. Don’t want our players to do the same. Apparently a terrific fellow though. Do you make bad choices, mate?
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted November 1, 2017 Posted November 1, 2017 17 minutes ago, A F said: Do you make bad choices, mate? I barrack for the dees, AF. Does that count??
McQueen 17,867 Posted November 1, 2017 Author Posted November 1, 2017 2 minutes ago, small but forward said: I barrack for the dees, AF. Does that count?? I read this forum too much.