Trade rumours

1 hour ago, rpfc said:

Wouldn't trade him for 9 first round picks...

@Wiseblood

Oh no. Please don't, mate...

13 minutes ago, nutbean said:

As they say in the classics - "one man's Vickery is another man's David Hale" (hasn't worked out that way, Hawks)

Does your avatar imply that we should regard your posts as waffle?

The trade rumours thread is like the old  tv show Fantasy island. 

All we need is someone to say "boss boss, de plane, de plane!!

Edited by DemonOX

1 hour ago, Vogon Poetry said:

Too true, the one bloke out of step might be the only one who's got it right.

Or a rose is a rose is a rose.

The suggestion you don't trade out the talent is fine if, and only if the supposed talent is manifest, realisable and sufficiently timely.

From my observations Weed just isn't that good at these levels. Another tall who could run amok as a kid found wanting in a mans game.

He seems just this side of clueless as to position playing and rarher limited in traffic. 

Be interesting to revisit as time marches on. I reckon his 'potential' has all but been exposed.

But this is just my view. Im happy with it. 

3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Apparently Pies will ask for potential trade for Weideman.  They see him as future Full Forward alongside Darcy Moore. 

I say No but if pick 6 was on offer then they can keep talking.  

Perhaps...

Pick 6 and pick 23

for Weideman and MFC 1st round 2018 draft 

Absolutely no way.

Tell eddie to waddle away, back to Broady.

2 hours ago, jackaub said:

No in fact it may be they realise the window is only open for a short time and we have to make hard decisions to get a premiership group together

It would in fact be seen as proactive team development we invested in Wied now we maximise his value

Make hay when the sun shines.

We keep the kid.  If he wants out in 2 years time, then eddie can payup 2 x 1st Rnd picks for him.

53 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

We'd be on the weed if we traded Weid. 

And on crack if we traded O-Mac?

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Imagine the fallout if Weed came good after being traded to the filth. Doesn't bear thinking about 

As opposed the fallout if he stays and doesn't ?

Interesting that for all the talk of war chests and the squillions available to some clubs following the latest increase in the salary cap, it seems unlikely that there will be much movement at the top echelon.

Lever to somewhere (hopefully us) and Stringer for personal reasons but neither really for the money.

Even the Hawks seem quiet.

11 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Interesting that for all the talk of war chests and the squillions available to some clubs following the latest increase in the salary cap, it seems unlikely that there will be much movement at the top echelon.

Lever to somewhere (hopefully us) and Stringer for personal reasons but neither really for the money.

Early days yet DJ. I think you might find that the trade chatter will climb after the Grannie. There's probably quite a few in the background being worked on. Rockliff, Gibbs and Goldy are in the mix. Trade week doesn't start til Oct 9.

24 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Would imagine the Hawks are quiet because they don't have many assets left to deal with after the Mitchell & O'Meara swoop.

Rockliff as a potential FA wouldn't be a big surprise, but Carlton sound like they are going hard and would probably offer up more coin.

35 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

And on crack if we traded O-Mac?

And on vodka shots if we traded Watts.

21 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

You're honestly amazing.

Why, Kent short of conditioning and the worst skin folds at the club, injury prone, surely a prime candidate for delisting, no wait the person saying this has been delisted

5 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Coll's 6 for the Weed, then 6 to GC for Lynch. Isn't he a fa next year?

This is silly for so many reasons.

If Collingwood were after a key forward why would they take Weideman when they could get Lynch for the same price.

There is no way Lynch would be traded for pick 6.

There is no way a club would give up pick 6 for Weideman. 

GC are just as likely to do poor again next season and their compensation pick would have every chance of being as good or better than pick 6.

Would this work?

Adelaide - Pay: Lever, Cameron. Receive: Melbourne's 1st Rnd '17 & '18, GCS 2nd Rnd.

Melbourne - Pay: 1st Rnd '17 & '18, Weideman. Receive: Lever, Lynch.

Collingwood - Pay: P6. Receive: Weideman.

Gold Coast - Pay: Lynch, 2nd Rnd. Receive: Cameron, P6.

19 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Would this work?

Adelaide - Pay: Lever, Cameron. Receive: Melbourne's 1st Rnd '17 & '18, GCS 2nd Rnd.

Pies would be better off paying 6 for lynch 

If the Pies are interested in Weideman, I've got no problems if we listened because surely the proposal would be 'overs' due to the 'nostalgia' aspect.

Highly doubt MFC would be stupid enough to entertain the bid, but could be worth a giggle listening to them.

Just now, Ouch! said:

If the Pies are interested in Weideman, I've got no problems if we listened because surely the proposal would be 'overs' due to the 'nostalgia' aspect.

Highly doubt MFC would be stupid enough to entertain the bid, but could be worth a giggle listening to them.

It's diligent of the club to listen to all offers, for anyone. You then dismiss, listen more or  print the paperwork accordingly.

Listening costs nothing ;)

19 minutes ago, brendan said:

Pies would be better off paying 6 for lynch 

Of course they would, if Weideman wasn't, well, Weideman. It's all about the romance. Or the vibe maybe.

1 hour ago, Moonshadow said:

Early days yet DJ. I think you might find that the trade chatter will climb after the Grannie. There's probably quite a few in the background being worked on. Rockliff, Gibbs and Goldy are in the mix. Trade week doesn't start til Oct 9.

Take your point Moonshadow. To me those you have named are good players but nowhere near those that were rumored to be moving for the big money during the course of the year... Martin, Fyfe, Kelly etc

Went to the North Big Footy board a few days ago and they are lamenting that their money seems to have bought them nothing.

IIRC the Unrestricted Free Agents next year aren't a bad crop. There is a lot of talk on the North Board about front loading the team for 2018 so they have even more money available for 2019 and beyond.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

1 hour ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Would this work?

GC would fold up and be eliminated from the AFL if that deal went through.

It's consensus that we keep the Weid. Like a 1970s bob Marley party !!

Eddie will be pi$&@d.  If anyone mentions this again, then expect Armageddon.