View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Looking ahead ... the Path to September

I'm a lot more confident about this week than I was against the Saints. Brisbane are playing well, but other than the 8 point win against the bombers in round 15, they have not done a lot, and they are 18th on the ladder for a reason.

They do have some good talent on their list and Beams is playing well, but it Goodwin has the boys focused on this week there should not be too much concern getting over the top of them, they've played only once @ the MCG this year and were pretty easily beaten by the Pies... 

It's in their interest to play kids, throw the team around and conjure up 'honorable' losses and with another dip at the draft they should be primed to go in 2018.

Port d Dogs
GWS d WC
MFC d Lions

We're in.

3 hours ago, JV7 said:

Will be interesting how many we would be allocated as an interstate side... You'd imagine at least 10,000 would have to be avaliable for us at an Adelaide oval

If we play the Tigers I'm flying down, if we play the Swans I'm 30 minutes away if we play Port I'm stuffed and will watch from home on tv.

3 hours ago, JV7 said:

Will be interesting how many we would be allocated as an interstate side... You'd imagine at least 10,000 would have to be avaliable for us at an Adelaide oval

But yes 10k seems fair but might be slightly less.

2 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

Port d Dogs
GWS d WC
MFC d Lions

We're in.

If we lose to Collingwood & WC beat Adelaide in round 23 & Essendon wins both games (very likely) it'll come down to % between us, WC & Ess for 7th & 8th.. And technically dogs if they win round 23 but they wont make up the % to get in on 12 win... So we aren't assured until we beat Brisbane & Collingwood

Edited by JV7

7 minutes ago, JV7 said:

If we lose to Collingwood & WC beat Adelaide in round 23 & Essendon wins both games (very likely) it'll come down to % between us, WC & Ess for 7th & 8th.. And technically dogs if they win round 23 but they wont make up the % to get in on 12 win... So we aren't assured until we beat Brisbane & Collingwood

That is true if the WC points difference across their two games is greater than ours.  I think that's unlikely - I expect GWS to belt them this week and if we lose a game it will be a close loss.

2 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

Port d Dogs
GWS d WC
MFC d Lions

We're in.

95% in id say.

WC on the same % so if the above happens and WC beat crows and we lose to pies we could still go out on %.  that would be killer

WC will be at home and the crows might not have anything to play for

I'll edit it to:

Port d Dogs
GWS d WC big
MFC d Lions

We're in.

Freo beat Tigers - could happen

Sydney beat crows - could easily happen

Suddenly we are a chance at playing the Tigers in week 1 of the finals!!   95K at the G.  bring it on

5 hours ago, Ouch! said:

Do you legitimately think that Richmond will drop their last two against the Saints and Dockers?  That looks like you are attempting to do one of two things...

1) Manufacture a huge MCG clash between Tigers and Dees in week one of the finals... if thats the case Kudos for trying!

2) Attempting as hard as you can to try and push the Tigers down to 9th place... in which case even more Kudos!! :)

I do think Tigers are a real chance to drop their last 2 games. 

Roughly 5-6 weeks ago the Saints wiped the floor with the Tigers, admittedly it was at Etihad Stadium and this one will be at the G but being Roos and possibly Joey's last game I think Saints will get them again. 

As for Freo they are a mess but have been playing better than what they dished up against Sydney. Because it's in WA and because Fyfe and Neale are still going ok I think there's a chance for Freo to win. A lot of talk in the media about teams making Rance accountable, I think playing them man on man rather than allowing to play uncontested footy and kick their way through zones goes a long way to stopping them. I still can't believe they are where they are. I will be betting on them not winning a final regardless of where they finish.

I/we/everyone also hates Essendon but if they play Port I think they would go a long way to rolling them.

1 hour ago, DubDee said:

WC will be at home and the crows might not have anything to play for

Wouldn't worry too much about that, the Crows will have their form to play for.

With the bye after round 23 you would want to go in firing on all cylinders. A poor performance and then 2 weeks til their first final would not be good.

Never flirt with form, as they say.

The pies have just shelved De Goey for the rest of the season, booking him in for surgery on his hip flexor.

Doesn't hurt.

11 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

The pies have just shelved De Goey for the rest of the season, booking him in for surgery on his hip flexor.

Doesn't hurt.

I reckon it probably does hurt if it needs surgery! 

Boom tish

6 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

But yes 10k seems fair but might be slightly less.

Spoke to a Richmond mate who went over for the 2014 final against port and he said that it was 50/50 which suprised me but guess it's only fair.. Doubt there'd be 25k Melbourne supporters so guess they get filtered back to Port

8 hours ago, hemingway said:

Very nervous about this one more so than the Saints. Their midfield can play and they have a spread of goal kickers, just look at the stats from the last game. Hardly a player that did not get on the scoreboard. Shows players and a team in great form.  We need to nullify Martin and apply pressure across the board. We do not want to get into a shootout otherwise they will outscore us. We have so much to play for but this will be a hell of a match and another game that will go down to the wire. 

Now listen Ernie, I realize you're dead and I make allowances for that

.... BUT ... fmd ...can't you be a little more positive?

I mean ... what have you got to lose?

1 hour ago, Mach5 said:

Doesn't hurt.

Lachie Neale the same for the Dockers.

There's going to be a few more before the H&A season is done

looking increasingly likely that Buckley will coach on in 2018 which is great news for all other teams, esp us as we wont have to deal with farewell.

• De Geoy
  • Greenwood
  • Oxley
  • Pendlebury
  • Varcoe

etc. all injured/in surgery.  they have put the cue in the rack

• Author
13 hours ago, Mud Dogs Gonna Win said:

Anyone else starting to get anxiety about trying to buy Finals tickets??

other than the GF very few finals are sell outs even those held interstate.

Home and away often attract a bigger crowd in SA because of reserved seat pre-sales. These deals do not apply to finals and therefore plenty of unreserved tickets.

If we play Richmond and it is a designated final series game that would probably be the closest to a sell out.

Of course the GF is another story as so many tickets are already pre-allocated.

7 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I do think Tigers are a real chance to drop their last 2 games. 

Roughly 5-6 weeks ago the Saints wiped the floor with the Tigers, admittedly it was at Etihad Stadium and this one will be at the G but being Roos and possibly Joey's last game I think Saints will get them again. 

As for Freo they are a mess but have been playing better than what they dished up against Sydney. Because it's in WA and because Fyfe and Neale are still going ok I think there's a chance for Freo to win. A lot of talk in the media about teams making Rance accountable, I think playing them man on man rather than allowing to play uncontested footy and kick their way through zones goes a long way to stopping them. I still can't believe they are where they are. I will be betting on them not winning a final regardless of where they finish.

I/we/everyone also hates Essendon but if they play Port I think they would go a long way to rolling them.

You obviously were not listening to the (yes, as usual totally innane) TV commentators who (ridiculously) said that Essendon were everyone's second favorite team! 

Even were the alternatives Stalin, Hitler, Pol Pot, Mugabe, Kim Jong, ISIS and Trump they would still come last. 

have to go to China soon and work have suggested the first week in September [FFS!]

current flights have me arriving back in Melb in Friday 8th - does anyone know (assuming of course we make finals which is not locked in yet) what the odds would be of the Dees playing on Thursday night?  I know there was some talk of it earlier in the thread

If I missed our first final in 11 years I wouldn't be able to live with myself. I could possible change it to the following week but you know... then I might miss the next final  **cough**   not jinxing it ***

15 minutes ago, DubDee said:

does anyone know (assuming of course we make finals which is not locked in yet) what the odds would be of the Dees playing on Thursday night?  

So far the AFL have sort of indicated that a Thursday night final would be most likely played in Adelaide. There's a belief that Thu night footy is better suited to Adelaide or Perth.

So if we played Port, I'll take a punt and say we'd be playing them on the Thu night. I reckon they would put Adelaide v's Geelong or Richmond on the Friday night.

If we play Sydney, I have a gut feel it will be a Saturday arvo at the SCG or possibly night. They never have an elimination final on a Friday night.

**Knock on wood we make it** 

31 minutes ago, DubDee said:

have to go to China soon and work have suggested the first week in September [FFS!]

Can you not do a conference call rather than flying all the way there?

13 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Skype!

54 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

haha  I wish

something about building relationships? no-one has told me what im really going for.  typical corporate BS 

its 40oC plus and horribly polluted where im going so should be good!  ill bring my asthma puff

3 hours ago, DubDee said:

Well then you got lucky as that is the bye round.