Posted

If you had told me we'd get 70 games out of Bernie Vince back in 2013 i would have laughed at you. Matured into a fine senior player and has always been a solid contributer.

Posted
9 hours ago, Robbie57 said:

http://www.aflplayers.com.au/article/bernie-vince-from-casual-to-complete/

Great piece by Mark Ricciuto.

Absolutely a demon now and has been a great asset to us.

Good luck for Saturday you will have two sets of supporters cheering your achievement which is a rare thing.  

I hope Tex takes it easy on his mate this week. Could be the difference given our troubles with KPFs. Still think we'll win though. ;)

Posted
9 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If you had told me we'd get 70 games out of Bernie Vince back in 2013 i would have laughed at you.

Really? You didn't think we'd get 4 seasons out of him?

Posted
11 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Neither did I Nasher based on the fact that the Crows seldom give away a player that is any good.

Make no mistake they did not want him and I think the MFC were the only ones to show any real interest. 

We finally had a win with his recruitment.

Posted
41 minutes ago, Nasher said:

No.

I took it as a year by year with Bernie, especially when you recruit a 28 year old who was known for inconsistency in his game.

Posted

I must admit i was shocked by how good Bernie actually was, from that first training session when he was slotting 55m goals from both sides it was hard to ignore how good he was. 

has been a fantastic pickup for the Dees, i really hope we are able to start playing some consistent finals in his time and give him a shot at a flag before he finishes, i personally think he has another 1-3 years

Posted

A very entertaining read! http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2017-05-12/vince-raises-the-bat-for-double-ton

Bernie is a very funny fella! 

It seems that Bernie would not have joined the Dees if it hadn't been for Roos, who Bernie describes as 'perfect'.  And gives Goodwin his due:  He was the perfect guy for the job after Roosy finished his three years here. I think he’s doing a great job...

I really liked the article that Risciutto wrote earlier in the week.  He is still 'god' in Adelaide, Adelaide radio and Adelaide FC and it looked like he was saying to their supporters to not boo Bernie as they all still love him over there. 

But then, I don't think a bit of booing will bother Bernie!  Might just spur him on!

Go Bernie, go Dees!

Posted

Last few games his disposal has been a bit suspect, I was stoked to see him run with Sloan and put in a fantastic run with game for his 200th. 

Congrats Bernie!

Posted

Let's hope this ends his stint in the backline and his return to the middle to terrorise the oppositions best mid is permanent. A great 200th and a reminder of where he plays his best footy.

Posted

Bernie has been one of my favorites since he crossed over. It's all about finding the right role for him in his last 1 to 2 years (would love to see him get as many games in a Melbourne guernsey as a Crows one).

Get rid of the bloody bum fluff moustache and all will be well. Congrats on the 200 Bern.

• 1 month later...
Posted

...and it looks like Bernie has a few more games in him after this year

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/melbourne-veteran-bernie-vince-says-he-would-accept-playing-at-vfl-level-in-final-years-of-his-career/news-story/864fefdaf72fa845323e439c11cd22b0

“I’ve had really good chats with Goody (Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin) ... he just said I’m not going to put a restriction on your age or how many games you can play...You just keep playing as you’re performing. And whether that means I play on for another couple of years, that might mean play VFL if I’m not in the best 18 or 22.. And I’m fully accepting of that.”

Bernie gets criticised a bit on here and like all players he makes mistakes but the 'protection' he gives our youngsters cannot be overestimated.  Never moreso than this year when our stronger players (Jones, Vand, Hogan) have been out of the team.  Really, he should have been rested rather than endure great pain and injections in his toe but because of other injuries we couldn't afford to.  Bernie is as brave as can be.

That Bernie is happy to play at VFL level if necessary speaks volumes about him.  Glad that he will get another contract with us.

Posted

Interesting to hear, good on him for saying it too. He's definitely because a club man, come a long way since the party boy at Adelaide (though I'm sure he still loves a froff). 

It was be interesting to know how he personally rates his year, he started really well but after his toe issue seemed to lack a lot on confidence with his kicking. Smashed Sloan against Adelaide which proved crucial. Still best 22, but will have and more of a fight on his hands as time goes on. 

Posted

"The Party" as I've heard him called by some Dees fans, what a great moniker but he has brought more to the club than a good time.

Can he get to 100 MFC games? Not likely but would be nice if he could. He has been really positive in his influence and seems to have grown into more of a leader.

Give him a year and see how next year goes, it could be one of those things where a few of the younger brigade just go bang over the next preseason, really develop and Bernie can no longer get a regular game. He will still have something to offer but becomes a bit part player when needed. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Gorgoroth said:

How many MFC games has he played?

57 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

And yet, 8th for MFC games played on the current list.

Edited by Dr. Mubutu
Forgot Col.

Posted
1 hour ago, Gorgoroth said:

How many MFC games has he played?

Ahhh thought it was 68 for some reason, he is a chance to get to the 100 especially playing 3 or 4 finals this year... 

Posted
On 5/9/2017 at 7:08 PM, chookrat said:

It's debatable whether we should have put more money on the table to keep Col Silvia or use the pick we got from Freo for Bernie. I reckon Col was only 1 full pre-season from Brownlow contention, but I guess we will never know.

Loved that Bernie took Damian Barrett's glasses while standing at the urinal.

Sarcasm Irony GIF - Sarcasm Irony NotToConfuse GIFs

Posted

On AFL 360 they raised the accusation with him that he's been labelled as a "diver".  They showed vision of the hit in the guts from Cunnington.  He said he had braced for a wack, but didn't think it was coming, so relaxed a bit.  Just as he relaxed, Cunnington hit him.  Reckons he got it in the sweet spot that had him dry retching.  Then, with a laugh, Bernie ended the story with "I probably deserved it...!".  

Gotta love the guy.  He's a real character of the game.  Glad he's at Melb, and hope he can turn it on against his old mob on Saturday.  Says he always looks forward to taking on some of his best mates.  LOL

Posted (edited)

Congrats Bernie! Great to see and hope he has a blinder against the old guard.

will also be watts 150th this week if he plays I think - big week for the lads be awesome timing for another unexpected win!

Edited by Stingray