Posted
16 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Scary place JRT. If we win and you are wearing red n blue, make sure to carry a bunch of coins you can throw in the air to distract the rabble whilst you run out. Also, park the Merc at least a 30 min walk from the ground, unless you like key scratches. Good luck!

Haha, thanks for the advice!  My Merc little Pulsar has enough scratches on it as it is, so if we get a win I'll cop that!  

Posted
42 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Yeah I got one of those $29 seats also, which was a bargain considering the same seat was $49 last year.

The local rabble aren't too bad down there, as long as you're not in the standing room area. I was sitting next to a young family last year, all of whom were watching their iPads all day and didn't give a snot about the game.

Pretty sure I'm in the seating section directly infront of the standing room area. Maybe I should take a raincoat incase a few errant beers are sent in my direction?

Posted
1 hour ago, olisik said:

Geelong are resting Caddy and Bartel this week against Brisbane so they will be fresh against us

Bartel OUT: Trimming Beard

Posted (edited)
On 8/18/2016 at 8:53 PM, Earl Hood said:

Last time I went was the 186 game! Never going back. 

Yep that was the last time I was down there. Went to a beautiful mexican restaurant after though. But the time before that was when Robbo went troppo in the final quarter and snagged 7 goals and we won. That was enjoyable. Shame I will miss it this yr and well maybe Roosy's last game. 

Actually I dont mind the standing room area because I found thats where fellow demons fans were. 

Edited by dees189227
Posted
On 8/18/2016 at 7:42 PM, dees189227 said:

How has everyone gone trying to get a ticket.

No good. was planning on going with a Geelong supporter so the MFC allocation was out but with the redevelopment couldn't get multiple tickets when I looked late last  Thursday. 

Personally I don't mind the game down there, wouldn't mind a year off or to play them at the G a bit more often though. I've seen 2 wins, a draw and 2 losses (including 186). Geelong fans are mostly well mannered even in standing room and take the losses well.

Posted (edited)

I played sub-district cricket there in 1968, made a few runs, got called for 'chucking' for a ball I didn't 'chuck', chucked the next ball, got a clean bill of health and turned to the square leg umpire and begged the question, well why not that one? I made the Geelong Advertiser that week, one of my workmates at the Taxation Office brought me the clipping.

Edited by dieter
Posted

I've been there quite a few times, have always enjoyed the experience of going to the last suburban ground. A lot of the games have been painful to sit through (fortunately I missed 186) but I was there for the 1 pointer, the draw, and last years amazing win. 

I suppose it's a bit like anything to do with Melbourne. The downs have been close to traumatising, but ups give you an insane euphoria! 

Who was the last team to win twice in a row there?

Posted
9 hours ago, special robert said:

I like the ground and going down there. Been doing that for about 50 years now. Don't like our draw however but would rather go to Geelong than have to ever watch a game on tv....I want to be there in the flesh every game. Fantastic ground atmosphere when it is packed out and that's how it will be Aug 27.

Got the last two restricted view seats in the doug wade stand...$60 !! Imagine the money they make from these games.

This is why they should've left some of the old grounds open. They were closed in the name of economic rationalisation yet the cats have the best stadium deal in Victoria!

Posted

They're not too bad down there. As I left a game there once the old knacker standing next to me said "see ya mate have a good one". 

Last year at the final siren someone threw a beer on us but we were being pretty obnoxious to be honest haha.

Posted
10 hours ago, special robert said:

I like the ground and going down there. Been doing that for about 50 years now. Don't like our draw however but would rather go to Geelong than have to ever watch a game on tv....I want to be there in the flesh every game. Fantastic ground atmosphere when it is packed out and that's how it will be Aug 27.

Got the last two restricted view seats in the doug wade stand...$60 !! Imagine the money they make from these games.

Bloody ripper Rob. What time shall I pick you up?

Posted
1 hour ago, Pates said:

I've been there quite a few times, have always enjoyed the experience of going to the last suburban ground. A lot of the games have been painful to sit through (fortunately I missed 186) but I was there for the 1 pointer, the draw, and last years amazing win. 

I suppose it's a bit like anything to do with Melbourne. The downs have been close to traumatising, but ups give you an insane euphoria! 

Who was the last team to win twice in a row there?

Geelong.

Posted
2 hours ago, Chook said:

Geelong.

Smartipants

Posted
19 hours ago, special robert said:

They make a tidy packet each game and with the government funded upgrade they will get to make even more.

It's a deal Etihad tenants must weep about.

Posted
On 8/18/2016 at 10:34 PM, beelzebub said:

Hardly a relevant retort to the premise posed.

What real deal has been struck that forces us to continually make our way to the the biggest home ground advantaged team in Vic ?

It's ridiculous.

The OP asked why Geelong always gets a home game in Geelong in the final round. Nothing to do with why Melbourne are always sent down there.

I agree with you entirely that we are sent down there disproportionately and unfairly and it's time for Richmond, Collingwood, Carlton and Essendon to be sent down there.

But given we haven't been asked to travel in Round 1 for 18 years, I'm not sure we can complain about Geelong getting repeated final-round home games.

Posted
23 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

I too went to the game where we won by a point (I think it was) where Robbo kicked a bag. One of my favourite games attended.

Was that the game before we played them again the next week in a final at the G and got pumped and Jeff White got his face rearranged by King's flying boot? 

Posted
1 hour ago, Earl Hood said:

Was that the game before we played them again the next week in a final at the G and got pumped and Jeff White got his face rearranged by King's flying boot? 

I was at the White/King match as well Earl. Can't remember if that was two weeks in a row though. I'll have to do a search. 

Posted

I live 20km from the ground and haven't been back since the 186 debacle. In the meantime I've followed the Dees to all corners, and the centre, of Oz.

My demon mates down here are having an AGM - (Anti-Geelong Match) barbie rather than venture 20km up the road.

I've borrowed my mates standing room tik and I'm only going to farewell Roos.

It can be a dangerous place in standing room if the Dees get up. I was OS last year, but there when Robbo kicked us home.

BTW I swim most mornings with Cooky. He was pretty chuffed the other week revealing that the Cats had raised $15 mil. this year. Handy.

Posted
51 minutes ago, M_9 said:

I live 20km from the ground and haven't been back since the 186 debacle. In the meantime I've followed the Dees to all corners, and the centre, of Oz.

My demon mates down here are having an AGM - (Anti-Geelong Match) barbie rather than venture 20km up the road.

I've borrowed my mates standing room tik and I'm only going to farewell Roos.

It can be a dangerous place in standing room if the Dees get up. I was OS last year, but there when Robbo kicked us home.

BTW I swim most mornings with Cooky. He was pretty chuffed the other week revealing that the Cats had raised $15 mil. this year. Handy.

Does Cooky have a soft spot for the team he used to play for?

Posted
On ‎8‎/‎19‎/‎2016 at 1:06 PM, special robert said:

What's going on Special? You told me you were a poor person when you were trying to get a ride in my Merc!!

Posted

Ok not im not going to bother going this weekend but it seems it's a sell out. The only tickets left are tickets people have sent back to reuse and they are over a $100 So next year AFL do not put us to play down there. Just put us at the G where everyone can go.