Posted

Anyone know what is happening with Lynden Dunn?  Can't seem to crack a game despite VFL form and with Garland going out injured in a week where the coaches made a point to bring in experience.

Did I miss something somewhere or is this just a big D'Land mystery

Posted

I would prefer half a Dunn to a full Oscar Mc Donald!! Anyone else agree??

Posted

Reading between the lines, the coaches don't think he has adapted to the new defensive structures, and they would prefer blood OMac.

I strongly disagree with that though.

Posted
1 minute ago, Forest Demon said:

Reading between the lines, the coaches don't think he has adapted to the new defensive structures, and they would prefer blood OMac.

I strongly disagree with that though.

didn't look like any of them had adapted to any defensive structure last week 

Dunn should be definitely in the back 6 

Posted

He's clearly done something they don't like. 

absolutely shocked he's not in the team to be honest, i thought for sure they'd want one of Garland or Dunn playing for some experience down back.

lot resting on the shoulders of TMAC and Jetta 

Posted

I watched Dunn against the Saints and he looked so disinterested, especially when the opposition was running and spreading all over the place.

I know, he wasn't the only one on the day, but is he the last of the 'old culture'?

Posted

Maybe he told the coaches their precious diamond defence/hand opposition goals set up doesn't work. They didn't wanna hear it now he finds himself stuck at Casey.

he is very much a one on one defender so this zone thing would waste his skill set

Posted
8 minutes ago, Abe said:

He's clearly done something they don't like. 

absolutely shocked he's not in the team to be honest, i thought for sure they'd want one of Garland or Dunn playing for some experience down back.

lot resting on the shoulders of TMAC and Jetta 

I was surprised he was booted from the leadership group after being vice captain last season

Posted

I wonder if this is Goodwin's call, given Roos comment about needing more experience, yet we see them putting more games into Oscar (who i think will become a player).

Move that hurts now, but could be very beneficial going forward.

Posted

Mind boggling.. 

How the hell do we just pretend to rest our backline experience on Tom McDonald who has been pathetic this year. So dam obvious that with Garland out we need at least another experienced defender. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Mind boggling.. 

How the hell do we just pretend to rest our backline experience on Tom McDonald who has been pathetic this year. So dam obvious that with Garland out we need at least another experienced defender. 

Tom has not been pathetic this season, he's been nowhere near as bad as some like to make out.

Posted
40 minutes ago, picket fence said:

I would prefer half a Dunn to a full Oscar Mc Donald!! Anyone else agree??

I think I would prefer a Dion, to either !

I think Lyndon & Frank will be looking elsewhere at end of 2016?

26 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

I watched Dunn against the Saints and he looked so disinterested, especially when the opposition was running and spreading all over the place.

I know, he wasn't the only one on the day, but is he the last of the 'old culture'?

19 minutes ago, DavidNeitz9 said:

I was surprised he was booted from the leadership group after being vice captain last season

What's changed off field in that timeframe?

Posted (edited)

Prefer Dunn to Garland at all times , and prefer him to Frost at this time .

Edited by jayceebee31
Posted
24 minutes ago, AngryAtCasey said:

I wonder if this is Goodwin's call, given Roos comment about needing more experience, yet we see them putting more games into Oscar (who i think will become a player).

Move that hurts now, but could be very beneficial going forward.

Possibly trying to make sure both Mac's are at the club next year

Posted

Im staggered that O Mcd is getting games in front of Dunn. I dont even know who they plan Oscar on. Hawthorn arent exactly the tallest forward line in the league. He will most likely be matched on gunston or bruest who will be stronger, faster and smarter than him.

We might as well hand over 4 goals to hawthorn before the game even starts. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, bandicoot said:

Im staggered that O Mcd is getting games in front of Dunn. I dont even know who they plan Oscar on. Hawthorn arent exactly the tallest forward line in the league. He will most likely be matched on gunston or bruest who will be stronger, faster and smarter than him.

We might as well hand over 4 goals to hawthorn before the game even starts. 

Scicily.

Tom on Gunston & Frost the resting McEvoy or Ceglar.

Posted

I think it is clear the team is being picked with a view to next year and that's why the priority is to get games into O Mac, Frost, Hunt etc. Obviously Grimes and Dunn are gone. Can't argue with that thinking 

Posted
1 minute ago, chook fowler said:

I think it is clear the team is being picked with a view to next year and that's why the priority is to get games into O Mac, Frost, Hunt etc. Obviously Grimes and Dunn are gone. Can't argue with that thinking 

Makes sense but I hope we don't have to put up with an insipid 2nd half of season and we have to wait a long time for fruit to bear. 

Posted

I think they see Oscar and Dunn on similar levels at this point.

If Oscar doesn't grow in confidence and put in some good performances over the next couple of games I think Dunn will slot straight back in.

But for the time being the coaches want to blood a young player and obviously don't think the difference between the two of them is large enough to stick with Dunny

Posted

We are going to lose more games in the second half of the year without Dunn? I've loved his persistence, been a great journeyman when you consider the fate of Matty Bate which seems an eternity ago. Most of us thought he was done (?) way back then but he proved us wrong again and again. But to suggest he is so critical to our wins is plain wrong. O Mac is a young, tall (our tallest) defender who will only come on with time and persistence. We had the same conversations about his brother who despite many comments on her remains one the better key defenders in the game.

There is never a perfect time to blood kids like him and now is as good as any.

Wonder if Dunn has any trade value? Gut says no but mature key defenders are sought after. Wouldn't be shocked if he found another home somehow if he departs at the end of the year

Posted
3 minutes ago, MrReims said:

We are going to lose more games in the second half of the year without Dunn? I've loved his persistence, been a great journeyman when you consider the fate of Matty Bate which seems an eternity ago. Most of us thought he was done (?) way back then but he proved us wrong again and again.

This!

Posted

On 6/2/2016 at 8:37 PM, MrReims said:

We are going to lose more games in the second half of the year without Dunn? I've loved his persistence, been a great journeyman when you consider the fate of Matty Bate which seems an eternity ago. Most of us thought he was done (?) way back then but he proved us wrong again and again. But to suggest he is so critical to our wins is plain wrong. O Mac is a young, tall (our tallest) defender who will only come on with time and persistence. We had the same conversations about his brother who despite many comments on her remains one the better key defenders in the game.

There is never a perfect time to blood kids like him and now is as good as any.

Wonder if Dunn has any trade value? Gut says no but mature key defenders are sought after. Wouldn't be shocked if he found another home somehow if he departs at the end of the year

Not sure he'd have much if any trade value, but perhaps he might appeal to a side in contention looking to bolster it's defensive stocks, i reckon the Doggies wouldn't mind him.