View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GOODBYE MITCH CLARK

This hurts. Wish him the best of luck.

Wouldn't be surprised if we see him in a freo jumper in the not to distant future

Not the time

I suffer clinical depression and find it hard to motivate myself to go to work as a teacher. It must be significantly harder to do that when you also have to perform at an elite level as an AFL player. I wish Mitch all the best and am sure that he will be happier in photography. I think that those of you who think he will play AFL again are kidding yourselves!

All the best with your own illness mate!

I don't care! What's best for mitch, I don't mean to be nasty about mitch, but him not playing has destroyed the club, has been nothing but bad luck.

If he was feeling like this from last year the guy should have done it Then last year so the club could have gone after a free Agent, and the AFL whould have given the club a pp since that was the reason they gave not to give one, they said when he would play this year, thanks mitch with your timing, but that would be 650000 less in your pocket . Once again another nail in the demon coffin.

Edited by angrydemons

Wishing Mitch all the best with his battle with the black dog. Take care, look after your self and thank you for some fantastic memories.

If he was feeling like this from last year the guy should have done it so the club could have gone after a free Agent, and the AFL whould have given the club a pp since that was the reason they gave not to give one, they said when he would play this year, thanks mitch with your timing, but that would be 650000 less in your pocket . Once again another nail in the demon coffin.

Not the time.

Actually, for this kind of comment, possibly never the time.

This hurts. Wish him the best of luck.

Wouldn't be surprised if we see him in a freo jumper in the not to distant future

After the Mal Michael farce, it is now standard to sign a clause that won't allow you to play for 2-3 years unless it is at the same club. I'm certain Melbourne would enforce that rule. Regardless, I feel like Clark sees Melbourne as home now anyway.

All the best big fella

Get that illness under control and enjoy the photography career

Terrible news for all involved.

Hopefully Mitch is able to start the recovery process, and work towards a better life.

Not the time.

Actually, for this kind of comment, possibly never the time.

Its not clark's fault but the timing could have gone the clubs way for once, the black dog is bad.

• Author

angrydemons, on 06 Apr 2014 - 6:50 PM, said:snapback.png

I don't care! What's best for mitch, I don't mean to be nasty about mitch, but him not playing has destroyed the club, has been nothing but bad luck.

If he was feeling like this from last year the guy should have done it Then last year so the club could have gone after a free Agent, and the AFL whould have given the club a pp since that was the reason they gave not to give one, they said when he would play this year, thanks mitch with your timing, but that would be 650000 less in your pocket . Once again another nail in the demon coffin.

wow. there are a lot of flogs on here but you sir, are the biggest. i pity you.

This is terrible news for the club. This year is getting worse by the week! Hopefully Mitch can find a way to work through his illness sooner rather than later. He will be missed!

With Mitch now gone, we really do look like a b-grade club. Lucky for us we can't get relegated. ....

We now have a gaping hole on our list. What would our targets be? Tex? Patton? we got to get talking to managers.

Thanks Mitch look forward to seeing some great photography. Hope the dog passes quickly all the best to you and your family.

I wish Mitch all the best, these are hard times for him and his family. Those on here who underestimate the effects of clinical depression have obviously never been closely involved with someone suffering. It is an illness that can be as debilitating if not more so than a physical illness. Get well soon Mitch.

If this does not fire up the team this week nothing will. I hope they came out with fire out their ass.;

Edited by angrydemons

Guys....Mitch wont read this. Go tweet him or send a letter to the club with your messages rather then posting them on a forum he wont read.

Mate, don't even suggest that, last time that idea came up around here the thread got totally hijacked haha

ask Stuie, steam was coming out of his ears.

Even though we were all expecting this news, or at least dreading it, it still comes as a huge sledgehammer blow to all supporters to see such a huge talent leave the club and the game. But this really isn't about us and our hopes or those of the club, this is about Mitch and his hopes of living a relatively normal life. Clinical depression is a devastating condition and I truly hope that with time and ongoing support he can find a way to have a normal, happy and productive life. Best wishes to him.

The guy's entitled to his life..as are we all , as healthy and happy as can be

The Club's is entitled to know where it too stands and by such is able to move forward.

The split has happened and best of luck to both

If it was up to me and what little I really know about what's going on, I wouldn't accept his resignation and advise him not to make a decision while he's in a bad place. But who knows, some at the club may actually have been hanging out for this decision.

Why do things always happen to my favorites? Best wishes for you Mitch.

If it was up to me and what little I really know about what's going on, I wouldn't accept his resignation and advise him not to make a decision while he's in a bad place. But who knows, some at the club may actually have been hanging out for this decision.

Why do things always happen to my favorites? Best wishes for you Mitch.

Mitch is really in a pickle. Depression is very debilitating, but one of the best forms of treatment is physical activity and excercise, which is a great distraction.

I'm sure whoever is looking out for him at the moment from a medical point of view would encourage him to continue playing footy, but obviously while injured he can't. He really is stuck while he's at the club, especially if there's no prospect of him playing for the short term future.

He should be going out and doing