Bail, Terlich & Riley Re-Sign

Staggered, RE: Terlich. He showed slight improvement earlier in the season, but still generally butchers the ball. Riley's a good re-signing and you could tell Bail was going to be re-signed too.

Not surprised at all.

Terlich is a bigger body and now has some afl experience. His signing tells me that Clisby will be delisted.

Bail - yes his kicking has been terrible at times and you could argue not getting the ball at all like Tappie or others might do less damage than turnovers that result in goals but he runs all day, is as fit as they cone, spreads, keeps to his opponent but above all else he PLAYS HIS ROLE.

Riley had no preseason and still looks alright. Give him a chance.

As to the comments 'you cant turn over more than seven players' the answer is my word you can when you are as bad as we are.

neeld marched 12 in his first season - you can take on free agents you can trade for low draft picks, etc.

How did that work out? I'd argue we'd be better off with Moloney and Rivers than Byrnes, Rodan and Gillies.

Even still it required some trading of players with (albeit limited) currency like the free agents and Stef Martin and Gysberts for Pedersen. We also had the Scully compo to spend. Then we took Terlich and Matt Jones as mature draftees.

Frawley gets compensated, Jetta gets promoted taking away one draft spot. But if 5 more go we are still drafting up until the 5th round which in most drafts is the very low value territory. Anymore after that and we have to replace by the likes of Cross and Riley in delisted free agents. We did well in that last year. But if we add a Rodan and Gillies again we'll be scratching our heads saying we may as well have kept player xyz.

Ive been a terlich fan{in this list only} all year,

He puts his nuts on the line and at least tries to make play,I have no arguments against that.

ATM our list has a group of players that wont put their nuts on the line and are not good enough or to scared to take the game on.

PR has a lot of work to do and these 3 signings now bring pressure to other players ..

If Roos wants to bring in midfielders, and midfielders, and more midfielders, then we need to hang onto some depth at the other positions. All Terlich's re-signing tells me is that Roos would prefer him to Clisby and Strauss as the depth bloke for the HBF. He'll play somewhere between five and fifteen games depending on injuries, and be at least vaguely serviceable doing it.

As others have pointed out, you can't cut everybody. (Unless you're Homer Simpson in the end credits of that one episode …)

Can you win a Premiership with good ordinary players?

I didn't think so until the likes of Shaw, Richards, LRT. Luke Ablett, Buchanan, Schneider featured in one in 2005 (even if they all didn't play on the day).

But all were prepared to play a role, and they put in 100% all the time. They may not have been all that skilled, but had plenty of G&D.

Perhaps PR can replicate the same, as certainly that is the common characteristic to Bail, Terlich and Riley.

I find it difficult when people are surprised by them being re-signed.

On my calculations we would STILL have 6 out of contract who can't get a regular run in the seniors today. Then we have lost Byrnes and Clark.

And there are another 3 I would count as possible delistings.

So we can turnover 8 and even 11 if we want to cut deeper. Plus we probably have to find a replacement for Frawley = 9-12 to be turned over, before we start looking at rookies.

Pick 9 will be in the 90's or further. Not much talent down there, so better to keep players who can fill a role and you know what you will get from them.

I wouldn't be surprised if Bail finishes top 5 in the Bluey. Ahead of him I'd have N Jones, Tyson, Cross and Vince and I'd reckon Jetta, Bail, Pedo and Howe would all be competing for 5th position.

No suprise on Bail, who is seriously the only player on our list who gets the concept of 2 way running.

Regardless of how poor his kicking can be, at least he can run and spread and busts a gut each week.

Riley has shown enough to give him another year or two with a full pre season. He has good qualities.

I'm really unsure about Terlich. It sounds like Clisby is gone, which is disapointing because I thought he showed a lot more than Terlich last year in terms of skills.

Agree on all counts Jaded.

As for Clisby, hasn't he had an injury interrupted season? If so, he might get another crack. I thought he missed some of the pre-season and also some games during the year.. maybe I'm making that up?

This thread in most part is seriously pathetic. All three give their all, are hard at it and will have cost us close to nothing. This is more than can be said for others that will be gone at seasons end. Worst case they are a lot better depth than we have now and will set the right precedent in effort. Best case they seriously improve with another pre-season under decent development.

For those that quote on re-signing these will cost us a Miles or Laidler someone have a look at the % of players drafted after 70 that play an AFL game. Then consider we are probably already going to cull 6 or 7.

Congrats to 3 blokes that work hard and hit hard, I hope they make the best of their opportunity.

Really happy about Bail. He's had a pretty consistent year. His disposal is a bit of an issue but he runs better than just about anyone on our list. He's a good example at the time trials and other running drills for the younger players. Riley is a good prospect to hang on to as well. Not sure about Terlich yet. Jetta has pretty much taken his place.

Has it occurred to those who are bagging the resigning of these 3 players, that the current coaching staff might just know a bit more of how to build a list than they would. For those idiots suggesting that port Melbourne would defeat the demons you have got sh*t for brains.

We've heard that many times about coaches and recruiters over the past seven years.

Well done to all 3 players on signing new contracts. None are stars but they are a lot more fair dinkum than 70% of the rest of the team.

Bail runs his backside off every game on the spread and with his gut running continues to make an option. No idea what his stats are but surely would be around 15-20 touches of the pill a game and close to a sausage. Playing in the grave yard spot on the HFF thats not bad.

Obviously he shanks a few touches but at least he gets the ball.

Riley has shown bits and pieces that he will be ok. He is as hard as McKenzie but with more skill. So I know who I'd keep there.

Terlich was our third best player last year some forget. Is obviously in and out of the ones as Roos has him working on something but he is hard as a cats head and always puts his body on the line. Nev Jetta has taken his spot this year but I'd have him as insurance over some of the others.

Clearly we haven't retained any superstars here but happy to retain as depth over at least 8-10 others

neeld marched 12 in his first season - you can take on free agents you can trade for low draft picks, etc.

We could get Daniel Connors, Mitch Robinson, Chris Yarran, Travis Tuck, Liam Jurrah and Ahmed Saad.

This thread in most part is seriously pathetic. All three give their all, are hard at it and will have cost us close to nothing. This is more than can be said for others that will be gone at seasons end. Worst case they are a lot better depth than we have now and will set the right precedent in effort. Best case they seriously improve with another pre-season under decent development.

For those that quote on re-signing these will cost us a Miles or Laidler someone have a look at the % of players drafted after 70 that play an AFL game. Then consider we are probably already going to cull 6 or 7.

Congrats to 3 blokes that work hard and hit hard, I hope they make the best of their opportunity.

What a ridiculous post. Most on here are fed up with the tripe these players have served up and have had enough of winning only 10 games in 3 years.

Forgive me for not doing cartwheels at re-signing a Sydney delist, an Adelaide delist and a 26 year old E Grader.

Like others said, what doesn't make sense is that Roos said that basic skills were fundamental to remaining on the list and then goes and gives deals to two guys that have been worst offenders are screwing kicks, getting caught and butchering the ball. FFS

I won't lie, I was amazed to see 3 players all locked up at the same time given the teams past performance. So much for the "broom coming out"

My thoughts are as follows:

Bail- Played well enough during the final year of his contract to warrant another. If he had been out of contract at the end of last season he would not have been given another go. Regardless of his shortcomings as a footballer, he did enough to earn another year. Hopefully he can reduce his errors so people remember him for his hard running.

Terlich- Does some good things, does some bad things. I didn't have any real confidence in him getting another contract but here we are. I hope he makes the most of it, if not at least Casey will have a solid player in Terlich. He is lucky, hopefully he cashes in on that luck and can stake a claim in our best 22.

Riley- Not sure why this guy gets so much heat on here. Coming off a nasty injury with no preseason into a new club and still made a fist of it. Big season coming up for him because he could possibly become important for us, or he could fade away and just become another name that didn't make the grade. I am backing Riley in, and like the signing.

So the unconditionals are conditional now? As long as you are giving your all you are ok to have [censored] skills. I don't get the message here

What a ridiculous post. Most on here are fed up with the tripe these players have served up and have had enough of winning only 10 games in 3 years.

Forgive me for not doing cartwheels at re-signing a Sydney delist, an Adelaide delist and a 26 year old E Grader.

Did you even read the so called ridiculous post.

Explain to me your list management plan that involves delisting these 3 plus the 7 or so more who contribute less than these guys. I'd like to hear it.

So the unconditionals are conditional now? As long as you are giving your all you are ok to have [censored] skills. I don't get the message here

What's more unconditional? Effort, attack on the footy, discipline or kicking skills.

More so who would you rather on the list next year? These 3 or Tappy, Strauss, Blease, Evans, Nicholson? Because I seriously don't think you can cut them all.

I don't want any of those you mentioned and none of Terlich, Riley or Bail. I would have been happy to axe the lot. I would also trade Watts, let Frawley go. Offer up Grimes.

Other than Daniel Ward in 2007 I can't remember a player who was regularly a feature in the side being delisted. It would have surprised me if Terlich wasn't re-signed after playing 15 games (assuming he doesn't play this weekend). Surely people are overstating their surprise. Surely?

I won't comment on those who reckoned Bail might be delisted.

Bail is 26 and is one of the senior players we need to support the youngsters. His strong, comitted to the dees and can kick a good goal on the run as a midfielder.

I would be surprised if he isnt in the leadership group next year. For a pick in the 60s he has definitely pulled his weight