Posted

Hope your hubby isn't too hard on u.

If he is just go on strike and I mean on strike for everything!

Thanks Ox. I can actually be a bit scary when we lose. According to my family, I have been like this since I was a child. Therefore had heaps of practice as a Melbourne supporter.

He wouldn't dare say the wrong thing to me tonight!!

Posted

Posted this in the match day thread:

"I just chucked $20 smackers on the dees to win between 1-39.

Hope that's not a "flushing" noise I am hearing"

Well I can safely say I clearly heard a big FLUSH unfortunately.

Posted

1. We need more speed outside the contest.

2. We have to find more ways to score.

3. I thought this was one match where Frawley could have played on Cloke ,and Dunn tried up forward.

4. They tagged the right man in Tyson.

5. Umpires were terrible.

Posted

Thanks Ox. I can actually be a bit scary when we lose. According to my family, I have been like this since I was a child. Therefore had heaps of practice as a Melbourne supporter.

He wouldn't dare say the wrong thing to me tonight!!

Classic, keep the good work up.

Posted

1. We need more speed outside the contest.

2. We have to find more ways to score.

3. I thought this was one match where Frawley could have played on Cloke ,and Dunn tried up forward.

4. They tagged the right man in Tyson.

5. Umpires were terrible.

pretty close. Dunn was a godsend down back.

The maggots played far too much place in the event.

Thought Frawley ought to have been back also

Posted

Salem does some nice things and I can see why he was drafted. His ability to move the ball in the air quickly by foot is one of the things that can break games open. The problem is that he's so tired when he kicks it that he's making poor skill errors. He'll be good, but he needs time to get his running up to AFL level.

Currently the speed that we have to open games up with is in the form of Bail and M Jones .... not the most reliable ways to finish off good play. We really do need to find a finisher to help us break the play up a bit.

I liked Grimes' game today. He was very solid defensively and won some important contests. Dunn was also excellent down back. What I really like was that there were some times where we turned the footy over in dangerous positions, but the we worked super, super hard to stop Collingwood scoring when that happened. There were 2 or 3 times where we should have been scored against, but that manic defensive intent shut down their options or forced them to stuff up. It was satisfying, and a really good base to build a team on.

We don't always need an english lesson we ain't at school.

No excuse to stop learning.

Posted

Alot like the swans game we defended well but the class and scoring power was the difference

Posted

Posted this in the match day thread:

"I just chucked $20 smackers on the dees to win between 1-39.

Hope that's not a "flushing" noise I am hearing"

Well I can safely say I clearly heard a big FLUSH unfortunately.

I'll swap you for my $100. This one will be kept a secret from the wife, just like the $950 in winnings would have been if we won...

Anyway, I'm not sure if it was just me however I found this a very boring and frustrating game to watch, it wasn't the fact we were losing either but I couldn't watch past half way through the 3rd quarter. The forward line was non-existent and lifeless. Hopefully Hogan will inject some excitement.

Posted

How can you get 5 free kicks in 100 minutes of football.? Opening quarter Elliot goes for 2 hangers, hands on shoulders, pushes in back no free. Having said that our disposal today was appalling and we turned it over solo many times. So frustrating

Posted

Yes. Freo only got 4 against the dogs last week.http://afltables.com/afl/stats/teamshi.html#l12

It's therefore an obvious policy by the umpires to intervene less. The problem however is that we earned a good number more free kicks than 5 out there today. Some of the holding on Dawes and Gawn at marking contests was ridiculously obvious. And Macaffer's holding on Nat Jones would have doubled the count on its own. Once again, the biggest problem facing the watchability of our game is not flooding or stoppages, it is umpiring. I just wonder when the AFL are going to admit to the utter unpredictability of interpretation that we deal with every week. At least to themselves.

Posted

Im no fan of Watts but he worked his buttoff the whole game making space and it was never honoured He ran into space at half forward and couldhave kicked it to a forward but nobody kicked it to him The forward setup was all wrong

All in all we didnt take the game on offensively I suppose that will come in time I thought it was a very engaging game except for the umpireing What a bunch of tossers they are

Posted

5 free kicks for the entire game was farcical. Last quarter Cloke nearly decapitated Howe's head in a marking contest & no free paid. Filth get a goal from the resultant play on as the ball comes out. Also Jetta unfairly penalised for taking his opponent high which gifted them another goal. Where's the consistency? Umpires did not cost us the game but what about a fair go?

Posted

Did we find out why Jamar was subbed? Cause on the surface of it, I can't fathom why Roos would do such a thing.

He took a big two-grab mark on the wing and as he walked back to take the kick he was rubbing his knee. He was subbed right after that. I'm pretty sure he jarred it when he landed and lunged forward to get the second grab. Didn't look like it was too bad. Of course, I could be completely wrong, but that's what it looked like to me.

Posted (edited)

An unfortunate byproduct of Pedersen's rapid ascent to being a good player is that the balance of the team is skewed. All the players that played today had every right to in terms of form and their position relative to best 22, but a forward line of - for the most part - Gawn, Dawes, Pedersen, Frawley, Watts and Bail is unneccessarily key position player biased and crumber deficient and our defence of Dunn, McDonald, Garland, Howe, Grimes and Jetta is also lacking rebound and kicking ability.

Edited by goodoil
Posted

Salem does some nice things and I can see why he was drafted. His ability to move the ball in the air quickly by foot is one of the things that can break games open. The problem is that he's so tired when he kicks it that he's making poor skill errors. He'll be good, but he needs time to get his running up to AFL level.

Currently the speed that we have to open games up with is in the form of Bail and M Jones .... not the most reliable ways to finish off good play. We really do need to find a finisher to help us break the play up a bit.

I liked Grimes' game today. He was very solid defensively and won some important contests. Dunn was also excellent down back. What I really like was that there were some times where we turned the footy over in dangerous positions, but the we worked super, super hard to stop Collingwood scoring when that happened. There were 2 or 3 times where we should have been scored against, but that manic defensive intent shut down their options or forced them to stuff up. It was satisfying, and a really good base to build a team on.

No excuse to stop learning.

Agreed A o B. Matt Jones and Ro Bail are our only genuine speedsters, which is why Jayden Hunt was drafted I suspect. We do need more, and maybe off halfback. Colin Garland can involve himself in attacking run much more than he is, but I reckon is still getting the Roos style under his belt. Jeremy Howe, if he stays back, will also learn to use his run more and more. Still, drafting for run is a priority I'm sure. Billy Stretch?

Posted

Slow ball movement and continually outnumbered in the forward line.

Bingo. One too many talls selected as well.

Posted

Would have been better off with someone in gawns place imo, maybe Riley or toumpas

Posted

LOL. I'm the stupid one. This guy!

He made a simple point Nasher. That after our first goal some 23 seconds in, in the rest of the game we only managed 2 more. I think we all understand what he meant.

Posted

We couldn't hit targets up forward so we were never going to win the match. They out classed us in the second half.

But in saying that, i would love to hear the explanations on why Bernie's goal wasn't allowed, and why Dawes wasn't awarded a 50m penalty in the third quarter...

Posted

I am starting to think that as well.

maybe

didnt exert all he could me thinks

Maybe thats harsh but he seemed to ebb