Posted

Or Eddie McGuire calling Kane Cornes a c-bomb during a TV interview tonight.

that was hilarious.

'Have a shower and a rub, you might need 2 rubs cause your an old c**t' haha!

Posted

I don't think it's just me when I say the state of commentary on TV these days is appalling. McAvaney and Cometti are characitures of their former selves, Basil & Hamish are like two preppy morons who think their being clever and are "in" with the jocks, BT & Darcy do I even need to say anything? Dwayne and Tony Shaw? These guys are all meant to be professional commentators but if they're not making snide condescending remarks they're waffling on about who is dating who or how some player is having a Mexican themed birthday party (was on tonight's Essendon/Saints game).

I mean geezus is it to much to ask that we get some commentators who commentate the games and provide us with some real analysis instead of trying to play up their "personalities" and appeal to the female demographic, both of which I am in no doubt they are told to do by the TV execs.

Don't think Brian Taylor got the memo; and whoever at 7 thought Wayne Carey should be re-incarnated seems to have forgotten that women have consistently shown they don't like him because of his misogynistic behaviour and domestic violence (see the Scandals section of his Wikipedia entry for a summary. I'm male and don't like him for any of this, either).

Posted

From the weekend, "inching forward, centimeter by centimeter".

Posted

that was hilarious.

'Have a shower and a rub, you might need 2 rubs cause your an old c**t' haha!

He is saying today 'As if I would say that deliberately', to which I think the reply is 'Yes, Eddie, because you are a dumb c***' :blink:

Posted

He is saying today 'As if I would say that deliberately', to which I think the reply is 'Yes, Eddie, because you are a dumb c***' :blink:

eddie would get away with murder.

he has said some pretty ridiculous stuff.

not a fan at all.

Posted

GWS Giants List Manager Steve Silvagni on the Sunday Footy Show, speaking to Damo about Tom Scully

"We're delighted with the leadership Dom ... er, Tom actually provides on the field and off the field."

Freudian slip?

Sounds like he rues the loss of Dom Tyson?

Posted

I am waiting on the 'Landers to start tabling some of the work.from 5AA

I didn't listen to protect what sanity I have left.

Posted

on sat abc . melb v adel "' Melbourne need to find a way back into this game '" we were 14 points up at the time , fair dinkum , duhh

Posted

Not so much what was said but how it was said.

Brick McLean - "The media were acting like it was Dale Thomas against Collingwood but it wasn't it was actually Carlton versus Collingwood."

Oh. Thanks.

Posted (edited)

Meaning to post this one since last week but when Hawthorn lost Mitchell and Lake last week Hamish McLaughlin says "Hawthorn are down to 17 men." ummm....even in the days of 19th & 20th man that would still make 18 I would think.

I hope his bro is a bit better with his maths when he's trying to sort out the food prices.

Edited by rjay

Posted

The legendary Norman May at the opening ceremony for the 1972 Munich Olympics:

" And here comes Sri Lanka----which is West German for Ceylon".

Posted

From the 60's,70's. Can't remember the player or the commentator, but in essence:

"If that player had Jack Viney's head on his shoulders, he'd look just like Jack Viney"

Posted

Brad Green came up with this ripper a few years ago during Women's Round:

"I think it's only a matter of time before a woman or someone with a woman's background gets a senior coaching job in the AFL."

Posted

Sandy Roberts spent the whole of yesterday's match getting Melbourne players names wrong.

Plus I can't stand the way he says Toump-AS. Gives me the shits!

Posted

Did anyone see 'Kingy' interview Watts straight after the siren and the first thing he said was how people have been slagging him off saying he doesn't have a workrate? Yeah thanks DH way to just rain on the parade of the kid literally seconds after the siren in a big win in which he had a big hand. I screamed at the telly. He was trying of course to use it as a compliment but it was clumsily done, Wattsy all of a sudden had to go on the back foot and defend himself under criticism when he should have just been getting his back slapped. Really pizzed me off.

'Kingy' also made some comment in the last quarter along the lines of how Melbourne were up against the 60,000 strong crowd suggesting it was all Richmond, when there was a good 25,000 melbourne supprters there making plenty of noise

Eddie also couldn't resist a couple of jabs, one was to make sure attention was paid to his old boy Dawes' alleged indiscretion and another along the linbes of how unsuual it was for the 'Melbourne members' (I assume he meant MCC members) to be making noise... who the F do you think has been forking out $550 a year to watch us get belted every week for the last 7 years you DH.. everyone who turns up to an MFC game is a Saint after the hell we've been through

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Posted (edited)

I listened to the replay tonight and was amazed to hear prosciutto say they need to send Howe back to the forward line as its not working out for him down back. Others agreed. Good research.

Was made even funnier by Howe proceeding to having just about his best game.

Posted

Had to laugh when Finey on sen called Vernie Bince .

Posted

Sandy Roberts spent the whole of yesterday's match getting Melbourne players names wrong.

Sandy just needs to get some practice in. They have had him in the bloody main studio up till now haven't they?

Posted

Did anyone see 'Kingy' interview Watts straight after the siren and the first thing he said was how people have been slagging him off saying he doesn't have a workrate? Yeah thanks DH way to just rain on the parade of the kid literally seconds after the siren in a big win in which he had a big hand. I screamed at the telly. He was trying of course to use it as a compliment but it was clumsily done, Wattsy all of a sudden had to go on the back foot and defend himself under criticism when he should have just been getting his back slapped. Really pizzed me off.

'Kingy' also made some comment in the last quarter along the lines of how Melbourne were up against the 60,000 strong crowd suggesting it was all Richmond, when there was a good 25,000 melbourne supprters there making plenty of noise

Eddie also couldn't resist a couple of jabs, one was to make sure attention was paid to his old boy Dawes' alleged indiscretion and another along the linbes of how unsuual it was for the 'Melbourne members' (I assume he meant MCC members) to be making noise... who the F do you think has been forking out $550 a year to watch us get belted every week for the last 7 years you DH.. everyone who turns up to an MFC game is a Saint after the hell we've been through

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Not disputing your comments about the commentary (I was at the ground, so can't actually comment), but there is no way there were 25,000 Melbourne supporters there unless you count those in yellow and black who switched during the game out of despair. 25,000 would be 43% of the crowd of nearly 57,000. We would have been lucky to have provided one third of the number - or approximately 19,000. I'm just happy I was one of them.