Demons season opener v Saints

The saints best team, is still a very strong team....

I'm not as confidant as most here, about this game.... It seems an easy win, but we've been here before....

If we can't beat an injury hit stkilda then we might not be able to beat anyone.

The saints best team, is still a very strong team....

I'm not as confidant as most here, about this game.... It seems an easy win, but we've been here before....

No Montagna, No Jack Steven, No Lenny Hayes, No Sam Fisher, No Sam Gilbert.

Yeah I'm preeeety confident.

I'm pretty sure a side under Roos won't lose to St Kilda.

Remember we were a 2-20 team last year, and in one of those games we had to play one of our best ever quarters to beat a supposed "easy-beat".

Every game this year that may be winnable for us, will always be a flip of the coin chance.

The damage done during the MN era is unfathomable.

To be really honest, the state of the club has had me so bent out of shape, I have been thinking about little else since last year when Roos was appointed coach. I have never been so anxious (including the two GF's that I have seen) for the game to be over and done with, so I can deal with my hopes and fears in a practical way.

Every day I think, leave the bloody website alone it an addiction, my wife thinks I must be surfing porn or something but it is merely anxiety about the impending season, but am going nuts at some of the comments recently about players.

But what I really want to implore others about, is that there is no justice, and we are owed nothing because of what has previously happened. To say that our horse should get up now, because we did our mortgage on all the previous races and must surely be deserving of God's mercies now, will be a faith based disaster (Even though the bastard really really owes us, and

Norm you bitter old dead bugger, would you please lift the curse).

This is year zero, I wish it wasn't, but I really think the only way we can stay sane and reduce the pressure on the club, which with the AFL's help, (as much as that riles me) has taken action and deserves a chance to start anew, as well as the players. As much as it feels like a cosmic [censored] take when we have another injury, lets just pull together and support the club.

Roos loves runners and has recognised the importance of fitness over the early stages of round 1. From that viewpoint, I don't reckon Blease will get a game.

Then there's the coin toss - JKH or Byrnes. Most of us would like to see JKH, while Roos' philosophy tends to favour more mature types unless there's a clear difference. I hope JKH gets the nod.

so, at least 2 then :-)

I will be there I usually avoid the place but managed to get an invitation to reserved seats mid field second level and really want to be in on a great win Can't bloody wait!

Roos loves runners and has recognised the importance of fitness over the early stages of round 1. From that viewpoint, I don't reckon Blease will get a game.

Then there's the coin toss - JKH or Byrnes. Most of us would like to see JKH, while Roos' philosophy tends to favour more mature types unless there's a clear difference. I hope JKH gets the nod.

My guess is Blease out and both JKH and Byrnes in.

Here is a smoky Gawn for the Sub

Does Gawn give us more than a Pedo will? In the intraclub, Gawn was bringing down some pretty big marks, and could could allow Fitzy to play permanent forward for the game.

We will just need 2 crumbers keeping the ball inside 50.

People will hate this but this is how i'd shape up for round 1

Dunn Mcdonald Strauss

Terlich Georgiou Grimes

Vince Jones Cross

Kennedy-Harris Watts Blease

Fitzpatrick Frawley Howe

Spencer Trengove Tyson

Michie Gawn Toumpas

Byrnes

I will be there I usually avoid the place but managed to get an invitation to reserved seats mid field second level and really want to be in on a great win Can't bloody wait!

Well done - I paid almost $90 for two seats on the second level in a pocket!

Pretty steep for a place where it's impossible to get really good seats unless you're a regular.

But if we win, and I confess to having my confidence shot by our missing forward line, it'll be worth every cent.

It's down to the mental prep of the side I reckon. It was MN's biggest failings, and everything we've heard about Roos is that it's one of his specialities. The last two years you could tell from the opening bounce the players weren't in the right frame of mind so I'm hoping to see the boys come out at the first bounce and attack the footy hard.

I see it as a 50/50 this game, it could really go either way but for some reason I reckon one team will come out of the blocks early and maintain that lead for the match.

It's down to the mental prep of the side I reckon. It was MN's biggest failings, and everything we've heard about Roos is that it's one of his specialities. The last two years you could tell from the opening bounce the players weren't in the right frame of mind so I'm hoping to see the boys come out at the first bounce and attack the footy hard.

I see it as a 50/50 this game, it could really go either way but for some reason I reckon one team will come out of the blocks early and maintain that lead for the match.

It's actually more of a 155/245 game ie 63.6/36.4 (% win prob).

He also likes players that have an impact H. Byrnes has shown that when the going is easy, he might show up for 2 or 3 goals.

JKH will get the nod surely; and so should Blease. Blease should be the most rotated player at Melbourne. Our midfield is gaining respect, but gee-whiz it is one-paced. Vince, Cross, Jones, Jones, Trenners aren't quick; and I'd put Tyson in a similar category. Blease must play now, even though he doesn't have the "tank" that Roos says is needed on 360 last Monday.

Our best game in the pre-season was undoubtedly Richmond. Only Blease and JKH split them open at Etihad.

No brainer

Blease and JKH will play.

Back: Georgiou, Frawley, Dunn

Half back: Grimes, McDonald, Terlich

Midfield: Watts, Cross, Trengove

Half forward: Blease, Pedersen, Michie

Full forward: Fitzy, Howeee!, JKH

Followers: Spencer, N. Jones, Vince

I/C: Toumpas, Gawn, McKenzie

Sub: Clisby

Round 1 team?

He also likes players that have an impact H. Byrnes has shown that when the going is easy, he might show up for 2 or 3 goals.

JKH will get the nod surely; and so should Blease. Blease should be the most rotated player at Melbourne. Our midfield is gaining respect, but gee-whiz it is one-paced. Vince, Cross, Jones, Jones, Trenners aren't quick; and I'd put Tyson in a similar category. Blease must play now, even though he doesn't have the "tank" that Roos says is needed on 360 last Monday.

Our best game in the pre-season was undoubtedly Richmond. Only Blease and JKH split them open at Etihad.

No brainer

I don't rate Blease. At all.

Same for Byrnes.

People will hate this but this is how i'd shape up for round 1

Dunn Mcdonald Strauss

Terlich Georgiou Grimes

Vince Jones Cross

Kennedy-Harris Watts Blease

Fitzpatrick Frawley Howe

Spencer Trengove Tyson

Michie Gawn Toumpas

Byrnes

RUBBISH SIDE --STRAUSS , GAWN WONT PLAY * TOUMPAS is questionable - Georgiou is a certain starter

Settle down Duff man, the side isn't playing to save your life.

Anyone know if the game will be televised on free to air??

I would have thought it should be on 7 Mate as it is the only game on at that time (or is that only for us interstaters?).

The Toump will 100% be selected (and not as a sub). If you are in any doubt about that listen to this interview with Jack Grimes on SEN, during which (from 10.42) he is asked about Watts, The Toump and Viney. He gives them all a wrap but in a nutshell he says about The Toump (paraphrasing):

'he would have been in the top couple over the preseason in terms of form and consistency - he'd be a walk up start for round 1 i reckon and he's earnt a lot of respect over the pre season'

I;d say so, it's the only Saturday night game on this weekend, anyone else going on Saturday?