Posted

This club is cursed.

As far as KPFs are concerned i reckon you're spot on Red. Other than Neitz, who played about half his career at HB (roughly), i can't recall us being capable of fielding a regular KPF throughout the years i've watched. Not for more than 3 to 4 years before breaking down anyway.

Always a career ending injury here...another there.

And i hate to be a pessimist but after watching Hulk on the footy show with Gazza the other night, i wouldn't be holding my breath on his return this year either. He looked shattered IMO. Hopefully it was just over the thought of missing a few games and the start of the season and nothing more serious. Body language not good though.

Then there's Dawesy. To think we might be taking a "no key forward" forward line into this season, no Garland and a FB who potentially doesn't even want to be here at season's end ...

Roosy will have to be a serious magician to make something from that.

Posted

Hope it's nothing too serious for him - whenever they talk about vague "health issues" you always think of the worst especially with the crap hand this club has been dealt recently in this regard.

From a selfish point of view if he is not going to play for MFC again (which looks exceedingly more likely as time passes) hopefully the club is able to work through his contract and start planning the future and present without him.

Posted

As far as KPFs are concerned i reckon you're spot on Red. Other than Neitz, who played about half his career at HB (roughly), i can't recall us being capable of fielding a regular KPF throughout the years i've watched. Not for more than 3 to 4 years before breaking down anyway.

Always a career ending injury here...another there.

And i hate to be a pessimist but after watching Hulk on the footy show with Gazza the other night, i wouldn't be holding my breath on his return this year either. He looked shattered IMO. Hopefully it was just over the thought of missing a few games and the start of the season and nothing more serious. Body language not good though.

Then there's Dawesy. To think we might be taking a "no key forward" forward line into this season, no Garland and a FB who potentially doesn't even want to be here at season's end ...

Roosy will have to be a serious magician to make something from that.

Looked more like he was just nervous to me. First interview on TV, don't blame him.

Don't let the negatives cloud your judgement

Posted

Don't want to assume what it is and whilst I love the club, I just hope Mitch gets through this and returns to full health. If he dons the red and blue again it's a bonus.

All the best Mitch to you and your family

Posted

Reading between the lines, this goes to show how much Mitch is hurting and feeling the disappointment of not being able to get on the park. I really do hope the "supporters" (using that term loosely) who have criticized the club, Mitch and his recruitment can feel pleased now knowing that the "waste of money" some of you have alluded to actually had been doing everything to get back, and that disappointment has now lead to him walking away from the club for a period of time.

All the best Mitch, get yourself right and the club and it's true supporters will welcome you back with open arms when you're ready!

Posted

I guess I was right when in 2012 I said on here that mitch and dawes would never play in the same side , ever , dammm it I don't want to be right on this , FFS

Posted

Over a yearr ago I said in this site that Mitch Clarke would never play again. I was accused of being a troll. I as correct. I am very very sad for Mitch. But let's get real here. The guy suffered a career ending injury.

Posted

This club is cursed.

Sadly it seems that way --- whenever we seem to be getting an exciting key forward, something bad happens --- Bennett, Jakovich, Schwarz, even Cook for a brief period ...... what is it?

I think it speaks volumes for his leadership within the club that, even after all the injuries and the amount of football he has missed, that he is still voted in by the players and coaches to be a part of the leadership group.

Got everything crossed he can get over the bumps in the road and once again become a key cog in our push to be a better club on the field.

He is certainly highly regarded by his peers, and by (most) supporters.

All the best Mitch .... we would love to see you back, when you are right.

Posted

Yep, Mods please delete or move those posts not for this area. There is another thread for those who can't read a thread title and comprehend this isn't the place for those discussions.

Posted (edited)

the sad thing is we will have to put up with the media speculating and talking about him.

Honestly mate we don't have to put up with anything, Mitch does and that's probably part of the problem.

We just go to the game and support our club, after all it's just football as passionate as we may be about it. For Mitch it is his job and a huge part of his life, he probably dreamed of playing the game as a kid growing up.

Good luck to you Mitch, life is short so they say so make the most of it which ever way the cards fall.

Edited by rjay
Posted

'the sad thing is we will have to put up with the media speculating and talking about him.'

I suspected that Mitch was having issues back in early Feb when I was informed by a mate of Mitch's that he had thrown himself into his photography, and little else seemed to be of importance, specifically his footy.

I reported same on DL, using the term 'a lack of motivation'. I was howled down - called a troll etc.

I suspect the club has been trying to work through the issues with Mitch, and that there would be a number of persons in the media (with MFC affiliation) who have known about this for some time.

Posted

I guess I was right when in 2012 I said on here that mitch and dawes would never play in the same side , ever , dammm it I don't want to be right on this , FFS

Yeah It is a shame.. Clark is a hell of player and an absolute leader.

I don't buy into the 'mental issues'.. I just believe his body won't allow him to play football.

I remember reading on Big Footy off someone on the Demon board that Clark would not play again, it appears he is right - he did seem 100% about it.

I think it's a smart move by MFC to give Clark leave.

Posted (edited)

Good bye and good luck with what ever you do now with your career. Would love to see you come and coach one day

Edited by Qld dee

Posted

'the sad thing is we will have to put up with the media speculating and talking about him.'

I suspected that Mitch was having issues back in early Feb when I was informed by a mate of Mitch's that he had thrown himself into his photography, and little else seemed to be of importance, specifically his footy.

I reported same on DL, using the term 'a lack of motivation'. I was howled down - called a troll etc.

I suspect the club has been trying to work through the issues with Mitch, and that there would be a number of persons in the media (with MFC affiliation) who have known about this for some time.

I actually hope he does have a passion for photography - because he obviously can't make it out on the ground and we are paying him a stack.

If he is passionate about photography and retires, we won't have to pay him in 2015.

It is a shame because Clark is as good of a player - and leader - as we've had the past 10 years, his body just isn't up to AFL.

Posted

Mitchy,

In the dozen or so games you've played for us, you've shown great courage, skill and determination. IMO the game is worse off for you not being out on the park.

Good luck with whatever it is that is holding you back, stay strong and keep fighting.

Posted

When Mitch pulled on the Dees jumper for the first time I saw a passion and physicality I hadn't seen since Neitz. All the best with whatever the health issue is, and keep snapping photos because you really are talented!

Posted (edited)

You were on the money that's for sure, maybe if Mitch doesn't want to play anymore he should just retire and If feels that way about his footy and I reckon he does he should stop putting his hand out for his pay every week, I was told something similar to you from a very good source and that was he was counting down the days to his 4yrs is up as he has plenty of money and he's not interested in AFL anymore. Edited by mjt
Posted

You were on the money that's for sure, maybe if Mitch doesn't want to play anymore he should just retire and If feels that way about his footy and I reckon he does he should stop putting his hand out for his pay every week, I was told something similar to you from a very good source and that was he was counting down the days to his 4yrs is up as he has plenty of money and he's not interested in AFL anymore.

Dawes wont be far behind...

Posted

Grant Hackett didn't have any interests outside of swimming. Looks like that's worked out for him

yes he did - he was trying to get preselected for the liberal party lol.

Posted

Interesting rumour going around that he is having trouble with medication. From the same source that told me Scully would stay and that Luke Shuey was a Dee.

Mitch is one of the few players circav2103 that is actually exciting. Hope he can make it back.

Posted

Looked more like he was just nervous to me. First interview on TV, don't blame him.

Don't let the negatives cloud your judgement

Yes that's also a possibility that i was hoping was the case Demon, however given our run of luck over many decades i'll believe it isn't something ugly when i see him in full flight on game day

Posted

You were on the money that's for sure, maybe if Mitch doesn't want to play anymore he should just retire and If feels that way about his footy and I reckon he does he should stop putting his hand out for his pay every week, I was told something similar to you from a very good source and that was he was counting down the days to his 4yrs is up as he has plenty of money and he's not interested in AFL anymore.

I suspect that is why we are giving him leave, so come pre-season when he still won't play - and I mean 2015 - that we can scrap his contract.

Watch this space, I think this will end up in court.