Tomas Bugg & Matt Buntine

I'm excited. I've got it stuck into my head that Buntine would be a great addition to our defensive set up (medium sized, mobile, very smart, responsible) and is supposed to go alright in the midfield. It's a mystery why he has been so plain for his two year's so far - you don't win the AIS Ben Mitchell (did I recall the name right?) award if you have a poor attitude, that's for sure.

For a reasonable price, I'd be stoked to have him on our list.

I'm pretty close to signing off on this one too. I like the options at pick 9. Would love Shiel or Tyson involved but rate Bugg reasonably highly. Buntine a little more unknown but I remember the buzz two years ago. Interesting size, interesting midfield potential. Let me sleep on it!

I think this story is just a GWS furphy designed to downgrade the trade value of pick 2. We would be mad to take it. Not because these guys aren't or could be potentially handy players, but because we need engined midfielders by the score.

Pick 2 for Bugg, Buntine and pick 9 is probably a very good deal if either

-we thought we had a need and a role in mind for both Bugg and Buntine

OR if we think one of Bugg/Buntine can impact in the midfield AND we are happy with the players we think will be available at pick 9.

If they can both become best 22 players and pick 9 does as well, it is a steal; three players for one pick, in a draft when there is no stand out number 2.

I don't know enough about either to comment on the value though.

Only from what I have seen so far (and mostly on the telly).

Bugg is already a better player than Luke Tapscott in terms of ball finding and equal in terms of hard at it.

But he is a "Campbell Brown" type (who, yes, has immediate and significant impact) but may not fix our structural weakness.

I am going to say no. I question the medium to long term value of MFC now trading for a medium sized, medium paced, non-true-mid.

Pick 2 for Bugg, Buntine and pick 9 is probably a very good deal if either

-we thought we had a need and a role in mind for both Bugg and Buntine

OR if we think one of Bugg/Buntine can impact in the midfield AND we are happy with the players we think will be available at pick 9.

If they can both become best 22 players and pick 9 does as well, it is a steal; three players for one pick, in a draft when there is no stand out number 2.

I don't know enough about either to comment on the value though.

Absolutely spot on. We would be effectively getting 3 players for one pick and although it might be a bit of a gamble to see if 'our no.1 choice' lasts until Pick 9, but if they do then we're 100% winners.

But we won't know if they're best 22 until at least a season after joining though...

We're talking about two defenders for who nobody's beating the doors down to prise away from GWS and we need quality midfielders.

They would have to throw Tyson in instead of Bugg or include all three and take a player of ours in the same category as Bugg (eg Tappy).

I thought Bugg was a mid? But I agree with your point. I would want a better player thrown in for pick 2 that what I believe they are. I can see some benefit in this style of trade but not necessarily for those players.

Strangely I have some renewed faith in this club of ours to extract value in these deals now (earlier.... :unsure::rolleyes: )

The club considered ( correctly ) that no one would be gushing too early with offers as no one in their right mind shows their hand too early. Neither have we. We can afford to sit and wait...others need to get on with things or lose out on their on-dealing.

We're in what's called the box seat. Offers might be now forthcoming but the real bidding like any auction hasnt even begun.

Would be very surprised if any deal went through before next monday now for #2

I reckon Bugg has the ability to play Wing/HB. Not as sure on our need for Buntine?

Pick 9 we should be able to land one of Freeman, Crouch, Sheed, Bontempalli or Salem all of whom fit our engine room needs.

Would prefer Tyson and Pick 9 and convince Bugg to head into the PSD, but we'll wait and see I guess.

I am also unsure as to why we would need to collect two more defenders (one lightly-framed) although pick #9 could compensate by accessing us a genuine hard-bodied midfielder. I would rather deal with GWS on one of their serious midfielders otherwise we provide little support for Jones and Viney next year and still have problems getting the ball to our forwards.

Tomas Bugg

#14 GWS Giants Age: 20yr 6mth Games: 32 Born: April 5, 1993 Height: 185cm Weight: 76kg Position: Defender Supercoach Price: $304,900 Supercoach Profile Dream Team Price: $274,300 Dream Team Profile

Buntin was a graduate of the AIS acadamy. Roos would know his game well.

Just because they are defenders doesnt mean we are going to play them as defenders.

Both are just as good in the midfield and can play through the middle. They both had to go and play down back due to GWS abundance of midfielders.. This would be a massive get for us if this trade occured.

Both highly rated junior players that would absolutely flourish in our midfield with more game time. Plus pick 9 on a Freeman or Dunstan!

Bugg is good mates with Shiel, both picked as 17yo to GWS & both were at Caulfield Grammar. I think Bugg would become a good mid with his ability to win the footy. From Pakenham.

Buntine is 189cms, strong build with great leadership and skills. #5 in 2011 draft. Likely HBF from what I have seen. From Dandenong Stingrays.

Add #9 ... Billings, Crouch, Salem, Freeman or Dunstan

#2 swap may be a good deal ... GWS want Scharenberg

Bugg is good mates with Shiel, both picked as 17yo to GWS & both were at Caulfield Grammar. I think Bugg would become a good mid with his ability to win the footy. From Pakenham.

Buntine is 189cms, strong build with great leadership and skills. #5 in 2011 draft. Likely HBF from what I have seen. From Dandenong Stingrays.

Add #9 ... Billings, Crouch, Salem, Freeman or Dunstan

#2 swap may be a good deal ... GWS want Scharenberg

What did Roos say about the size of the Freo midfeild at GF time. Mundy Barlow crowley etc

Buntine fits this criteria.

Just because they are defenders doesnt mean we are going to play them as defenders.

Both are just as good in the midfield and can play through the middle. They both had to go and play down back due to GWS abundance of midfielders.. This would be a massive get for us if this trade occured.

Both highly rated junior players that would absolutely flourish in our midfield with more game time. Plus pick 9 on a Freeman or Dunstan!

I think many have suddenly become Shiel-centric ..lol if we could snare Dylan for 2...great ..if not lets get next best value with is an upgrading across our list and..AND a good pick at a kid. its not really that shabby for mine.. we wont cure all ills in just one year !!

Just watched the Mathew Buntine pre GWS tape the kid really puts his head down he looks a good in and under player, this surprised me as his descriptions on here so far have been based around defence.. Look ever bit the midfielder plays real deep like!!

Look at the positive here, if Bugg is good mates with Shiel.. We take Bugg, Buntine and pick 9 now. Then next year when Bugg talks about how good it is back in Melbourne, Shiel is coming out of contract and nominates Melbourne as his preferred club of choice.

And we offer him a large amount of cash.. Question, when is Shiel contracted til??

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/knightmare-2011-mock-draft.886979/

#4 GWS - Matthew Buntine (VIC – Def/Mid)
Height: 189cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 19/10/1993

Recruited from: Dandenong Stingrays
Style: Bryce Gibbs
Player comparison:
Range: 4-10
Profile: Real standout in this year’s draft who had a surprisingly poor u18 championships but was struggling with injury at the time, so that is forgivable. None the less is an absolute standout talent in this year’s draft. Can play down back or through the midfield well and has that really high skill level and ability to read the play. Reads the ball very well. Very good user of the footy. Can play against players of all sizes and can shut down opposition dangermen. Can play off his man and provide super rebound. Has no problem winning the hard ball. Not a high level athlete but his smarts more than compensate for this. Has that flexibility to play the role you need him to play.
Why: Gives GWS some added rebound from defence.

In the absence of a better deal, Josh Mahoney should be shot if Pick 9, Buntine and Bugg for Pick 2 is rejected.

BS. Should be shot if he takes it. We've got one decent footballer from trade and by the looks of it we'll get one more in Vince or Lyons. We don't need two more maybes from this off season, we need a star. Our best chance for that is pick 2 or gaining one from pick 2.. Pick 9 is too much of a risk. I can't disagree with you more and frankly the club shirking the issue of a future gun to pick up 2 good-average footballers would disappoint me.

I agree mate.