Maverick Weller

I must admit, I was keen to get him until I read above about him being a D-head. I don't want to bother with his type.

I think part of the swans 'no d-heads' policy was clamping down on the behaviour with existing players not simply avoiding d-heads in recruitment.

Kurt Tippett case in point.

That's one person's opinion of him. Who cares; if he's good get him.

I played footy with Mav's father Darren, I know the family through the hotel business they owned in Burnie Tasmania.

Darren is a D-Head and Mav didn't fall far from the tree. Elitist attitude and all about themselves.

Ask anyone associated with Gold Coast, they'll tell you exactly the same.

Terrible player and terrible idea to draft him.

Worse than the Greenwood talk.

Please can we raise the bar a bit?

Sydney fans said the same about Richards, Pyke, Shaw, Mumford & Everitt.

Talented players flourish in well cultured clubs.

Sydney fans said the same about Richards, Pyke, Shaw, Mumford & Everitt.

Talented players flourish in well cultured clubs.

Not only are Richards, Shaw and Mumford completely different types of players, they are also a lot better than Weller.

Weller is a nothing player. Doesn't have a position. Doesn't do enough.

We have no culture as of yet. Why in the hell would we pick him up?

Even if the guy went to Sydney, do you think he'd flourish? I certainly don't.

• Author

I played footy with Mav's father Darren, I know the family through the hotel business they owned in Burnie Tasmania.

Darren is a D-Head and Mav didn't fall far from the tree. Elitist attitude and all about themselves.

Ask anyone associated with Gold Coast, they'll tell you exactly the same.

I'm not surprised.

He named his kid "Maverick."

A guy playing for Box Hill Hawks last season was 1 of only 2 players to play every game this year. And he did so in the midfield.

How could you not be interested in Maverick Weller?

This midfield needs every bit of help it can get and to land a player like Mav from the bargain bin, it's hard to believe anyone could be against it.

Not against drafting Mav as a delisted free agent depending on how other trades go.

But would certainly wait until the delisted free agent period before doing it and would certainly make sure Cross was done first.

• Author

He's nothing special, but Roos got a lot out of bog ordinary players like Amon Buchanan and Luke Ablett.

If he's willing to run, work hard and tackle, I reckon we may have a spot for him.

Is it bedtime yet?

Has anyone read Maverick Weller's interview with the Tassie Examiner after his axing?

I found the article very interesting in relation to his character. Seems hungry, but he does seem to have a strong opinion of himself based on his comments.

http://www.examiner.com.au/story/1751972/delisting-no-surprise-to-weller/

Beggers can't be choosers. If we are bargain bin shopping and Weller is available, we have a look.

The article is just another reason to say no. He clearly thinks the only thing between him and greatness is McKenna's inability to appreciate him enough.

I reckon he's just the sought of kid junior could take under his wing. I'd consider it.

Is his name actually Maverick?

Yes but he will bring goose with him.

That article says to me he just thought it was all going to come him when he didnt expext to be delisted in 3 years.

I think part of the swans 'no d-heads' policy was clamping down on the behaviour with existing players not simply avoiding d-heads in recruitment.

Kurt Tippett case in point.

Digressing from the thread title - but the Swans today appear to have ditched that policy, if the Buddy rumors are true.

Id be happy to take him right now. I want footballers with some attitude. Id like roos to sign and then help turn a few guys like weller and michie into best 22 players.

Wow the dislike for Mav on here is pretty bad. What did you expect him to say ? My skills were terrible I deserved to be delisted I should never play again ?? FWIW I played against Mav in Tassie and he was class. He is not as bad as he looked at GC. He is exactly the player Roos thrives on developing. Solid build can run and skills are not terrible. Also let's be blunt he is better than Bail, Nicholson and some other in this team. We aren't threats to any team in this competition so obviously we need improvement from different players.

With that name we should take him.

Well that is as good a reason as BP had for most of his picks!

Id be happy to take him right now. I want footballers with some attitude. Id like roos to sign and then help turn a few guys like weller and michie into best 22 players.

rookie?

Digressing from the thread title - but the Swans today appear to have ditched that policy, if the Buddy rumors are true.

the Swans seem to be discarding their Roos downlined nest.