The Jake Lovett Thread

Colin Sylvia says hello; but I actually agree with you that it is easier to fix, but to be a modern footballer to play the modern game you need fitness.

Probably the worst example you could find.

He is just on another planet all together.

Colin Sylvia says hello; but I actually agree with you that it is easier to fix, but to be a modern footballer to play the modern game you need fitness.

Col didn't put the work in though IMO. To me he could have easily improved his overall fitness but enjoyed the 'party' lifestyle a bit more than the extra work to be an elite AFL footballer. His efforts over in Perth haven't been all that flash. He could have been a gun midfielder, but he ended up being a handy half forward instead.

Jake Lovett already sounds like a bloke who will work his backside off so I'm hopeful that will translate into better fitness levels.

Fitness can be fixed. If you have the heart to do it then he will be fine. He is a good build for an u18 player. Keep him on the down low and we could well get a nice little companion for Viney

Jack Viney will be in our Garry Ablet Jr

Sounds painful.

Do they know each other that well?

Sounds painful.

Do they know each other that well?

To quote Chrissy Amphlett... It's a fine line between pleasure and pain.

• 3 weeks later...

Paige Cardona looks at the upcoming father/son prospects and one of them is the son of an old Demon favourite:-

AFL Bloodlines: Father-sons

Melbourne fans will likely welcome back-to-back father-son picks, having added the talented Billy Stretch in last years draft. Jake Lovett, the son of Brett, made a monumental impact during last years finals for the Dandenong Stingrays.

The Stingrays famously dropped their leading goal-kicker Taylor Joyce ahead of the first final in favour of the smooth-moving midfielder, whom coach Craig Black described as having a fantastic footy brain. Lovett didnt disappoint, averaging 18 disposals in his three finals appearances.

Sounds like a shoe-in to me.

MFC will certainly do their best to keep him under wraps though, unlike certain other clubs that start talking up their promising FS draftees a year out.

Billy Stretch was a third round steal in the last draft. Here's hoping Lovett slips through as well.

Got a feeling we will be paying a better pick for jake, but i think he will be well worth it.

You would hope so. He still needs to have, at the very least, a good season in the TAC Cup to get drafted. But he is certainly another potential midfielder we can add to our group going forward which can only be a positive.

Given he's done the training sessions at the club, Roos would know just what he's worth ATM. I'd reckon anyone worth their salt would be telling the kid to show us what you've got. No way would anyone at the club tell him to put the brakes on. Those days are long gone thankfully.

Has a weak 3km time trial, has been told to improve it or won't be looked at.been assessed, Has an 8 month program set to fix it

Didn't seem to bother his dad. He just kept getting the footy....

Given he's done the training sessions at the club, Roos would know just what he's worth ATM. I'd reckon anyone worth their salt would be telling the kid to show us what you've got. No way would anyone at the club tell him to put the brakes on. Those days are long gone thankfully.

Particularly with the position of the club, as much as anything we need to get people excited about the club, a father son prospect absolutely ripping it up does that, but day 1 of his AFL career the expectations internally should help to take the pressure back off the kid.

much like Angus Brayshaw, i think alot of people expected him to play by now but i think Roosy will make a point of making him beat the door down.

2016 centreline

Lovett Viney Stretch

Reads beautifully.

Yep, Brett was slow like Sam Mitchell is slow. One of the best readers and users of the ball I've ever season. The people that matter have a very high opinion of Jake's future.

I am old enough to remember when Brett was at Hawthorn. Alan Jeans apparently kept yelling at him "Too slow Lovey!!" He came to Melbourne and matured into a gun. Hawthorn was pretty strong through that era, and could afford to be choosey. It was no coincidence that Melbourne were a good team when he was on a HBF or in the middle.

2016 centreline

Lovett Viney Stretch

Reads beautifully.

1991 called, they want their midfield back.

Didn't seem to bother his dad. He just kept getting the footy....

Brett Lovett was a most unlikely looking footballer ( too fat, too slow and too short) - if his son is half the footballer he was then we will have an absolute pearler on our hands.

Does anyone k ow if he played on the weekend?

He got 18 disposals in a team that got beaten by 9 goals and wasn't named in the best.

Speaking of father-son prospects, young Cooper Schwarz has just been on the radio with his dad, and it was mentioned that he has won a Victorian championship in basketball.

Considering the lack of a decent talent path in that sport in Australia unless you're in the very top bracket; his father's own success as a young basketballer; and the transferable skills that are conducive to success in footy...

I dunno.

Just promising signs, I guess.

I've long held out hope for Coop.

Speaking of father-son prospects, young Cooper Schwarz has just been on the radio with his dad, and it was mentioned that he has won a Victorian championship in basketball.

Considering the lack of a decent talent path in that sport in Australia unless you're in the very top bracket; his father's own success as a young basketballer; and the transferable skills that are conducive to success in footy...

I dunno.

Yeah, absolutely. IMO basketball is a perfect grounding for AFL football. Most likely, sons of footballers have grown up with a football in hand, it's not like they'd be pure basketballers - transitioning into football, to the extent that Izzy and Karmichael were pure rugby players transitioning into football. Also, I think basketball teaches that hand/eye on both sides of the body - while also enhancing reflexes. Pendles, Roughead and Ablett jr were all very good basketball players. I think a good majority of AFL players would've played basketball to some extent as a kid, I think it is overlooked the importance of that grounding.

Edited by KingDingAling

Yeah, absolutely. IMO basketball is a perfect grounding for AFL football. Most likely, sons of footballers have grown up with a football in hand, it's not like they'd be pure basketballers - transitioning into football, to the extent that Izzy and Karmichael were pure rugby players transitioning into football. Also, I think basketball teaches that hand/eye on both sides of the body - while also enhancing reflexes. Pendles, Roughead and Ablett jr were all very good basketball players. I think a good majority of AFL players would've played basketball to some extent as a kid, I think it is overlooked the importance of that grounding.

Yup just ask Jack Wa.... Sorry

Essendon had Jake Long barely play a game of footy in 2 years. But they aren't your ordinary club!

LOVETT WATCH:

He's been named as ruck rover to take on Geelong.

I was hoping that he would go head to head with a gun like Parish but I presume that Parish is in the Academy squad the will take on Werribee on Sunday.

Didnt see him in the final teams... anyone head along to the game?

I dunno.

Think he's still very young, maybe 5-6 yrs off, not sure exactly. Saw him and Ox at the footy last year. Ox is a very big fella these days.