Is Howe the best contested mark you've seen?

Posted

I can't think of anyone more reliable.

Not only the boring speccy ones, he's marks friggin everything.

It's true. I like seeing the ball heading in his direction even when it's a floater.

Sometimes a floater makes it better.

Was funny to see the look on Campbell Browns face today when the ball was kicked high over him, he looked around as he was making position to mark the ball and saw Howe coming...it was priceless.

I love watching Howe and just posted about him on another thread but ....best ever? I reckon Wayne Carey would have something to say about that.

Has Jeremy got a good looking missus?

Jokes aside, his marking is creating a genuine buzz amongst footy followers everywhere. Amidst debates about how the MFC can attract younger fans, a guy like Jezza is like a gift from above...where he spends alot of his time, incidentally.

Simply... YES.

Kick 100 balls to the top of the square and I'd still back Gary Ablett Snr (at his peak) to mark more than anyone I've ever seen, Carey included.

Don't agree. Certainly best spekkie mark I can remember in 60 years of football. I think he still drops a few he should hold and some guys don't. Some guys standing toe to toe shoulder to shoulder never drop a ball and never get out bussled. But its absolutely fun having him in our side.

Edited by Harrisonrules

What a thread!

All these great players of the past saying 'hi'...

They should stay and post.

What we have here, ladies and gentlemen, is an honest to god FOOTBALLER. Yes, you heard it. A footballer at the MFC. He can mark it, he can kick it AND (now this is key) he will bloody shepherd for you once he gives you the ball.

Can take a hanger too. Very nice. I'd love to see him, Clark and Jurrah all fit and firing in the forward line, although I'm worried that Clark is going to kill a few of his team-mates unlucky enough to drift into his path next year. Can someone allay my concerns in that regard?

Also, add Cloke and we go from the worst forward line in years (ie the one we fielded today) to perhaps our best ever.

Jokes aside, his marking is creating a genuine buzz amongst footy followers everywhere. Amidst debates about how the MFC can attract younger fans, a guy like Jezza is like a gift from above...where he spends alot of his time, incidentally.

Agree. He's single-handedly negating the membership drain our appalling form is no doubt creating.

What would be really nice, though, to create some real membership drive, is to get Jurrah back and taking MOTY contenders, and Clark fit and busting packs a la Neitz in his prime. Now that forward line would get the kids putting on Demons jumpers again.

Also, having Jack "a more violent Sam Mitchell" Viney leaving bodies in his wake as he bursts forward to deliver to these three wouldn't hurt either.

Edited by Cheesecake

What we have here, ladies and gentlemen, is an honest to god FOOTBALLER. Yes, you heard it. A footballer at the MFC. He can mark it, he can kick it AND (now this is key) he will bloody shepherd for you once he gives you the ball.

Can take a hanger too. Very nice. I'd love to see him, Clark and Jurrah all fit and firing in the forward line, although I'm worried that Clark is going to kill a few of his team-mates unlucky enough to drift into his path next year. Can someone allay my concerns in that regard?

Also, add Cloke and we go from the worst forward line in years (ie the one we fielded today) to perhaps our best ever.

You beat me to it, Chook.

No but he most go close at the moment.

Certainly has the prize at the MFC

Today I did not see him drop a mark.

When the ball hits his hands it is all over.

Clunk Stuck there.

Never juggles them

The story was he had the best hands to come out of Tassie since Royce, if he can be half the player then we're on a winner.

• Author

Stewart Loewe says hi.

I mentioned Stewie today too, he was brilliant.

For his size, Howe is certainly a very good grab. More of a running leap mark. Mitch Clark can take a good contested mark too, but with more body work in the contest.

Melbourne tend to recruit good ,exciting speccy-takers like Lord Howe but he has a bit more going for him than some .

Robbo ,Smith et al were good old fashioned forwards that loved a hanger but Jeremy has it all.

Great news today on his signing-Although he still has to beat Smith for the mark of the century .

that mark in the late last q , just before siren went was a bloomin beauty , and it was right in front of me wow ! , hahaha i was was talking to some dude havin a [censored] at 3/4 time and he said are we gunna see a hanger from howie today , i replied , it will come only a matter of time , wooooohooooo went nuts , that alone was worth drivin 600 ks to see