View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

MONEY CAN'T BUY ME LOVE

This attitude is one I always find amusing.

I mean, imagine if we didn't win? Or did what the Tigers did last week? Would we take anything from it then?

I took a few things out of it and I hope some of the players with improved form take something from it too...

Spot on rpfc. It was a terrific performance from the dees and they will take heaps from it as i do. It panned out exactly as i hoped it would. We hammered a team who had the same number of wins as us.

Last years win against GC - now there's a win i took no positives from, quite the contrary. Imagine the negativity if we had put on a similar spirit less performance. Today we played with heart and squeezed the life out of' em an Neeld will have heaps of positive plays he can highlight in the review

This attitude is one I always find amusing.

I mean, imagine if we didn't win? Or did what the Tigers did last week? Would we take anything from it then?

I took a few things out of it and I hope some of the players with improved form take something from it too...

I find your limited reading comprehension amazing. I would've been distressed if we lost or it was an arm-wrestle. As I said, I'm happy for the team because they got it exactly right. They kept the foot on the pedal and won handsomely. But no, I didn't take anything away from beating a first-year team halfway through the season. It's what we should do and did and that's great.

I took a lot from the Essendon game when not only did we hold it together under pressure, we stood up and won against a really good team.

You're strangely amused.

Loved Dunn's torp from the kick in!

I find your limited reading comprehension amazing. I would've been distressed if we lost or it was an arm-wrestle. As I said, I'm happy for the team because they got it exactly right. They kept the foot on the pedal and won handsomely. But no, I didn't take anything away from beating a first-year team halfway through the season. It's what we should do and did and that's great.

I took a lot from the Essendon game when not only did we hold it together under pressure, we stood up and won against a really good team.

You're strangely amused.

I think one thing you're overlooking is that whilst they are a first year team, it was only last week that Richmond very nearly lost to them, scraping home by a couple of goals. In that light, the fact we have obliterated the Giants is a big positive to take away for the upcoming few weeks imo.

Did we beat a top four side? No.

But we WON!!! By a big margin!!! Yes, we take the youth of GWS into account and realise that the size of the win overstates the reality of it, but WE WON!!!

Sit back, have a coffee, a beer, a smile, post a few things on Demonland and enjoy the next 24 hours.

The best part of the match for me was our passing. On numerous occasions we hit targets laces out, and on a few occasions we did it multiple times in a row along the wing. This is the best kicking I have seen us do. We have to keep it in perspective - we were under little pressure on many of these occasions - but we hit targets. Boy it feels good to type that.

My thoughts:

I love Tom Mcdonald Seriously towled up Patton and ran off his man all day and got plenty of touches and it shows his confidence is building.

We all think Mitch bleeds red and blue and I'm worried we will see what colour his spine is one day too. I nearly jumped out of my seat to give him CPR.

Russian foot must be sore as he got more kicks today then every other game for the year.

To me Davey still looks cooked.

Tom scully is a [censored] chant was gold today!

I was relieved. It just would have been a diaster if we lost. But it was so nice in the last half just to sit there and watch us play knowing we had won. But it was also good to thrash a teamI loved the torps especially the 1st one that went straight to rivers.

Sylvia was great and if did that every week then he would be so exciting. Loved Bates game, always been a fan and just love his long kicking.

I agree, I loved how Neeld had the guts to go with Rivers down foward again. He always reads the ball well down back and is a great mark so him going foward is fantastic. Frawley and McDonald can handle themselves as well as watts. Even Dunn down back was good.

Mitch Clark just keeps silencing his critics. Its a shame he got injured. His pack marking is brilliant and his kicking has improved so much.

Does anyone know what got Jones so fired up that he covered a lot of ground to get involved in an altercation with a GWS player after a boundary line incident... I have never seen him do anything like that before. Surely there was more to it than just standing up for his own?

I b-o-o-o-o-o-d Scully at every opportunity! It was necessary and it was expected. I told him that he had the makings of a good umpire!!!! When we cheered Macca I told Scully that's what it's all about!!!! However, I doubt I will ever feel the need to boo him again. He is not a great player. He is a good running, link man.... We are probably fortunate they took him off our hands. I wish him a long, mediocre career!

Jonesy objected to the way a GWS player thumped Grimes over the line to spoil a mark. I loved it... and congratulate all the Demons who got involved. There should be more of it, a s*&tlo^d of it as we go forward.

It was a hell of an enjoyable game to go to. The crowd may not have been huge, but it was loud.

Phil Davis gained a lot of points from me for how he acted when Clark and Magner went down in a heap. Ignored the play and stopped to see if they were ok, then called for the trainers. First time I have thought he really could be a worthwhile captain.

A few highlights for mine:

Watts takes on his man, leaves him for dead on the wing, has a bounce and then pinpoints a pass to Trengove who slots the goal. All the more sweet because Scully was the man who was left scrambling ineffectively to try to spoil.

Trengove again takes a ripping hanger at half forward and pumps the ball into the 50.

Davey's tackle for a holding the ball decision right in front of goal. It's been years since we saw that from him. Interestingly, for a few minutes after that he regained a bit of the old strut and attacked the game more. Sadly, it faded out again and he returned to the disinterested norm.

Dunn's awesome chase down. Effort personified.

Mitch Clark's juggling pack mark.

As I said, a hell of a game to be at. I know it was against a team of has-beens, kids and sellouts, but it was still a great spectacle for Melbourne fans who have been starved of reasons to cheer lately.

Jonesy objected to the way a GWS player thumped Grimes over the line to spoil a mark. I loved it... and congratulate all the Demons who got involved. There should be more of it, a s*&tlo^d of it as we go forward.

Yeah, I know what happened... but it seemed maybe there was more to it, because he came from a very long way away, and as I said, I have never seen him get involved like that before. It seemed very out of character, so I thought maybe he had a score to settle from earlier in the game.

For mine, today demonstrated why we didn't take Sheedy. It took us a while to navigate through to Neeld but I think we will be counting our lucky stars as time goes by. Sheeds... eventually [censored] blows back in your face!

Thought it was interesting after the usual shaking of hands a lot of the players rushed over to Blease and had a bit of a love in. I don't know what it signifies but he didn't seem to have an overly long conversation with Scully. Maybe he is staying but then again....Maybe I am reading too much into it.

Do you reckon he'll go?

If he does, it'll be a shame.

I think he's finally growing up.

He's okay Bleasey - could be that crumbing forward we've been screaming for.

You're strangely amused.

You wouldn't have been distressed if we had lost.

Now that's amusing!

Best thing I got out of the game....was that the game plan seems to be gelling.

Good pressure on the inside of packs, and good pressure on the opposition reciever.

Confidence is growing after only playing two bad quarters in our past 4 games.

Intensity and team spirit is up.

Would love to cause some damage and gain some respect second half of the year,similar to what Hawtorn did,once their gameplan started to gel under the new coach.

Love this club.

Does anyone know what got Jones so fired up that he covered a lot of ground to get involved in an altercation with a GWS player after a boundary line incident... I have never seen him do anything like that before. Surely there was more to it than just standing up for his own?

What, apart from whacking our captain? It was great, and even the umpire in charge (surprisingly) thought it was a fair enough thing and let play go on. Well done Jones.

You wouldn't have been distressed if we had lost.

Now that's amusing!

I rest my case. You have low-level literacy, it seems.

What, apart from whacking our captain? It was great, and even the umpire in charge (surprisingly) thought it was a fair enough thing and let play go on. Well done Jones.

Speaking of the boundary bingle. That was near the MCC seats I believe. The MCC section seemed like possibly the most densely populated section today which I don't think I've seen very often.

I'd really like to think the boo-ing got to Scully after the first quarter and helped shut him down...

It's worth the sore throat.

Yes, i twas great to see... but it was very out of character. That's not a criticism by the way, just thought there may have been more to it.

A few highlights for mine:

Watts takes on his man, leaves him for dead on the wing, has a bounce and then pinpoints a pass to Trengove who slots the goal. All the more sweet because Scully was the man who was left scrambling ineffectively to try to spoil.

Even better - the Watts turnover came from a Scully poory directed kick in the first place. So we saw a No. 1 pick (Scully), kick to the opposition No.1 (Watts) - turnover - kick to the No.2 pick (Trengove) - goal.

Equation: -1+1+2 = 6 points

Edited by bjDee

Yes, i twas great to see... but it was very out of character. That's not a criticism by the way, just thought there may have been more to it.

Hey, no problem. I've had a few celebratory drinks. :)