Scullys possible replacement?

Dee1987

Posted

Assuming Scully goes i have heard we will get picks 8 and 18. I a friend of mine plays for trinity and says Dom Tyson is a gun much like Dustin Martin any thoughts who else could be a good pick???

Guest Gareth Keenan
Posted

Dom Tyson will almost certainly go top 5.

I like Taylor Adams.

I know Tay is a favourite of Nathan Buckley's from when he coached the U/16 vic country team.

Hard as nails and can win his own footy - a must in my book.

Posted

Assuming Scully goes i have heard we will get picks 8 and 18. I a friend of mine plays for trinity and says Dom Tyson is a gun much like Dustin Martin any thoughts who else could be a good pick???

as long as we use them both in the super draft next draft and not this draft then i will be happy

Guest Gareth Keenan
Posted

as long as we use them both in the super draft next draft and not this draft then i will be happy

Last draft I recall being touted as a superdraft was the 2006 AFL draft.

Sure, Chip Frawley and Jack Riewoldt were available at picks 12 & 13 respectively... but after Gibbs, Gumbleton, Lachie Hansen and Leuenberger went in the top 4.

Mitch Thorp at 6, David Armitage at 9, Andrejis Everett at 11, James Sellar at 14, Daniel O'Keefe at 15, Shaun Hampson at 17, Shaun Grigg at 19, Hislop at 20...

Late gems I can see are Chris Dawes at 28, Petterd at 30, Kurt Tippett at 32, Goldstein at 37, Houli at 42, Garland at 46, David Mackay at 48, Robbie Gray at 55, Goldsack at 63, Jesse White at 79...

There are a few more around that mark, but not really match-winners.

Caveat emptor.

Posted

One of our first round picks for Dion Prestia!

Hard as nails with good skills. Ready made!

Hasn't lit the world on fire this year but has shown glimpses of what he could be.

Also a from a die hard Dee's supporting family.

Make it happen!!!

Guest Gareth Keenan
Posted

Yeah, I'd love to acquire Prestia.

Make him a serious target.

Posted

Yeah me too, seek and acquire.

i hear there is this kid that has played 2 years in the AFL, big wraps went number 1!!!! would love him on out list, Tom something?

Posted

If Scully goes then we should get a Dustin Martin type- Hard at it, loves too run, loves a goal and can put one hand out and fend off other players!!!

Posted

i hear there is this kid that has played 2 years in the AFL, big wraps went number 1!!!! would love him on out list, Tom something?

In all seriousness, Jager O'meara is my choice, although some say that the North Ballarat boy Crouch isnt far behind the WA star.... and would come at half the cost i imagine, go for these guys either way, any extra picks we may recieve for any reason will just give us leverage in any dealings

Posted

Yep Tyson is a star, played club footy with him for years and week in week out would just dominate. Obviously once the level of footy got better he stagnated a little bit, but now is back to his best, was best on ground when Metro played Country. Saying that, I think he will be snapped up before we get him, I reckon we look at Toby Greene for our first pick, love how he goes about it.

Posted

If we ended up with picks 8, 12 & 18 in this draft then I'd like us to go.

8: Devon Smith

12: Sam Docherty

18: Elliott Kavanagh

But hopefully that wont be an issue as Scully will stay on a reasonable contract. Then again there's also reality....

Guest Gareth Keenan
Posted

How the hell would it be picks 8 and 18??

That's ridiculous.

If what has been reported is to be believed, we'd receive 2 x 1st round compensation picks for Scully.

Picks not necessarily in the 2012 draft, but in a draft in the next 5 years where we nominate the year.

2011, because of the GWS concessions, would mean our picks wouldn't come into play until the end of the 1st round, so pick 25 & 26 I think, off the top of my head.

Not 8 & 18.

If used in other years, the picks would relate to where we finish on the ladder.

In the case of Geelong with Ablett, one of their picks was to be in the middle of the first round, so with 18 teams it'd be pick 10 whichever year they nominate.

The other pick was to occur directly after their normal first round pick determined by thief ladder position.

edit: 2011, not 2012

Posted

How the hell would it be picks 8 and 18??

That's ridiculous.

If what has been reported is to be believed, we'd receive 2 1st round compensation picks for Scully.

Picks not necessarily in the 2012 draft, but in a draft in the next 5 years where we nominate the year.

2012, because of the GWS concessions, would mean our picks wouldn't come into play until the end of the 1st round, so pick 25 & 26 I think, off the top of my head.

Not 8 & 18.

If used in other years, the picks would relate to where we finish on the ladder.

In the case of Geelong with Ablett, one of their picks was to be in the middle of the first round, so with 18 teams it'd be pick 10 whichever year they nominate.

The other pick was to occur directly after their normal first round pick determined by thief ladder position.

Do you think that's adequate compensation for a number one priority pick with two year's input by a club?

Surely, this isn't compensation for such a player?

Even if the two players were remotely equivalent, it would set us back three years.

Posted

Agree, 2 early picks in a quality draft, along with young Jack Viney would go a long way, along with the class of the 2009 draft (minus $cully of course), to building to a premiership.

Not sure if he will last to pick 12, but would love to draft Todd Elton with it. Just offers another dimension to our forward line with some aggression to boot, as well as rucking in the forward line. Is already at a decent weight, good height, and with a summer in the gym, given his already-developed body, could easily pack on 5+kgs of muscle over pre-season without much worry to limiting body growth.

If Scully goes then we should get a Dustin Martin type- Hard at it, loves too run, loves a goal and can put one hand out and fend off other players!!!

Jack Viney fits the description, one would think.

Posted

I WANT JAEGER DAMMIT

Make no mistake, i'd love to get O'Meara in the special draft. I'd be willing to throw both compo picks at GWS to get him. I'd love to get Elton with pick 12 in this years draft, also.

Either way you look at it, we could either end up with,

A) Todd Elton, Jaeger O'Meara and Jack Viney coming into our squad over the next 2 drafting periods, or

B) Todd Elton, Jack Viney, plus another 2 x first rounders in next years "superdraft".

Either way we could not lose, as we would have brought in some serious quality either way. Hence why i strongly hope that Tom Scully leaves. We'd get some quality kids, save a heap in terms of salary cap and put the club before 1 single player.

Whatever Scully decides to do, because of the ramifications and strain it has put on our club throughout the year, it would be best for him to leave, as i would no longer look at him the way i did at the start of the year, but look at him with disdain.

Probably best for both parties if he were to leave, and given the compo and timing of it, we would be in a much better position should he leave, than if he were to stay.

Guest Darren Lamb
Posted

I wouldn't expect Elton to be available at pick 12.

Remember, GWS are building a list, not picking the best available at each of those picks.

This draft is light on for talented talls, so I'd expect they'll snatch them up earlier than their talent might necessarily deserve.

From what I understand, the Giants have few talls at the moment.

Look at the Suns. They have an abundance of talls - Lynch, Gorring, Smith, Dixon, Day, etc.

Talls are worth more at the trade table too, if they have a happy surplus.

It could work out for us though, like Essendon with Heppell, getting a mid who looks like he should have gone earlier.

Posted

A good mate who is a recruiter from another club said that he doesn't think there is any way we'll get two first round picks for Scully. I hope his wrong but like some others I feel, like some others we'll get the rough end of the pineapple i Scully goes.