Prediction for Queens Birthday

Our rollercoaster ride has changed. Even with the Lions win and Crows win, our 22 were not playing with a lot of confidence. We were playing on momentum. If we had it we played OK, if the opposirion had it we folded. When Carlton got that first goal of the 3rd quarter you could see the entire Melbourne boys body langauge change to a slump.

Our win against Essendon has changed one vital ingredient - confidence. Up until this match we have been "hoping to win with a young side". The Melbourne players now genuinely believe again, and that means anything can happen. Also, we figured out how to work our way through a press: don't handball, kick!

With the Pies arrogantly deciding to send Swan away, and with Thomas suspended we have real chance. Two important factors:

We must start well and not get more than 20 points down at any stage

We must kick well, especially into our half forward area.

For mine, head says the Pies by 40, heart says Dees by 20. I am a heart man - Dees by 20.

• Replies 96

So what is your opinion rpfc?

I certainly don't think that a 5 goal loss is all that this team can hope for against a Collingwood side without Swan, Jolly, Thomas, and Beams.

It will be tough but if they show the endeavour from last Friday night then they will go close.

They will have to do something about the Inside 50 discrepancy however.

I certainly don't think that a 5 goal loss is all that this team can hope for against a Collingwood side without Swan, Jolly, Thomas, and Beams.

It will be tough but if they show the endeavour from last Friday night then they will go close.

They will have to do something about the Inside 50 discrepancy however.

So you do not think they will win either

Care to venture a margin

Our rollercoaster ride has changed. Even with the Lions win and Crows win, our 22 were not playing with a lot of confidence. We were playing on momentum. If we had it we played OK, if the opposirion had it we folded. When Carlton got that first goal of the 3rd quarter you could see the entire Melbourne boys body langauge change to a slump.

Our win against Essendon has changed one vital ingredient - confidence. Up until this match we have been "hoping to win with a young side". The Melbourne players now genuinely believe again, and that means anything can happen. Also, we figured out how to work our way through a press: don't handball, kick!

With the Pies arrogantly deciding to send Swan away, and with Thomas suspended we have real chance. Two important factors:

We must start well and not get more than 20 points down at any stage

We must kick well, especially into our half forward area.

For mine, head says the Pies by 40, heart says Dees by 20. I am a heart man - Dees by 20.

Agreed - young spirited side, best of which is that they don't carry the "taint" of having an embedded culture of losing, which means they start afresh from here on in!!

i predict me getting shizenfacened, as part of My First Evers:

- Walk To The G

- Queens Bday Match

- Deez At The G(!!)

- full strength beer at an AFL match!!

- sitting in Block M9

- full costume of a Wrestling Icon! (more to come...)

no Swan, Jolly, Beams, Thomas - Chipper & Rivers best tall back combo in the league right now - Moloney/ Scully/ Trenners = best young midfield in the comp right now!

It Be On! Deez by 19!!

At 5:00 I put $20 on the Dees. I reckon it is a good bet as we may catch the pies napping.Gee i wouldnt mind some of the 12/1

Last year the Dees drew and lost by a point in their two games with the eventual Premiers. Liam Jurrah did not play in either game. Surely it's time to let him off the leash and let him go for his marks and he could help get the Dees across the line on monday.

Edited by RudeBoy

Eddie to get into a road rage incident on the way and Mick to fall out with Buckley before the game .Harry O to do his hammy and Shaw to get knocked out by a Moloney bump and goal .

Four in four minutes to Jurrah and then Howe to take a hanger on Luke Balls Head and goal .Ball goes of with stud marks in his head . At quarter time Dawes and Krakouer punch on with the little guy winning but breaking his hand in the fight .Goals to JW ,JT ,JG ,JMacs ,Jurrah ,Jim F and a 12 goal lead at half time .

Procession of goals after half time .Collingwood infighting follows and all the filth go to Jail and do not collect another flag .

Even if I'm wrong-we can still beat the filth .

Eddie to get into a road rage incident on the way and Mick to fall out with Buckley before the game .Harry O to do his hammy and Shaw to get knocked out by a Moloney bump and goal .

Four in four minutes to Jurrah and then Howe to take a hanger on Luke Balls Head and goal .Ball goes of with stud marks in his head . At quarter time Dawes and Krakouer punch on with the little guy winning but breaking his hand in the fight .Goals to JW ,JT ,JG ,JMacs ,Jurrah ,Jim F and a 12 goal lead at half time .

Procession of goals after half time .Collingwood infighting follows and all the filth go to Jail and do not collect another flag .

Whatever you are on can the rest of us have some.

Looks like a great cure for depression.

But then it is producing hallucinations

With their outs and our new found Heart & Confidence and biggest game of the year for us,i'm tipping Dees by 15-20 points.

The Aussie Bar in Phuket has a huge day set for QB,hope to see heaps of Dees there.

Ha... nearly broke my teacup...

Last year the Dees drew and lost by a point in their two games with the eventual Premiers. Liam Jurrah did not play in either game. Surely it's time to let him off the leash and let him go for his marks and he could help get the Dees across the line on monday.

Yeah.. well that's right Rude Boy he didnt...Id forgotten about that.

With their outs and our new found Heart & Confidence and biggest game of the year for us,i'm tipping Dees by 15-20 points.

The Aussie Bar in Phuket has a huge day set for QB,hope to see heaps of Dees there.

If we get up will it matter if you are the only dee in the bar.

Good luck have a singha for me!

At 5:00 I put $20 on the Dees. I reckon it is a good bet as we may catch the pies napping.Gee i wouldnt mind some of the 12/1

Yep Frankie mate.. current odds 5.00 to 1.15.....absolutely nobody rating us atm hope it stays that way. Mind you 4/1 for 15.5points in is very good value!!!

Whatever you are on can the rest of us have some.

Looks like a great cure for depression.

But then it is producing hallucinations

I'm on a drug called Charlie Sheen

I'm putting it in the boys gatorade-Winning!!!

How dare you watch Queens Birthday from Thailand whilst i freeze here!!!! Most Jealous B)

I remember the Aussie Bar well....1999.

be warned - the traditional under the pump all week win is usually followed by the traditional total let down the week after thrashing.

Was the fact we were under the pump really a big causal factor in the Adelaide and Essendon wins, as some have suggested?

Sure, we were under the pump going into the Adelaide game and had a big win, but who's to say we wouldn't have won anyway? We beat Adelaide last year at the 'G and they're worse this year. They just got hammered by North on the weekend, and they're not just struggling on the road - at AAMI they've lost to Port, Brisbane and Fremantle.

As for the Essendon game, they were missing some good players - Watson, Hocking, Hurley, Pears, etc. They also haven't played well for a month, losing to Richmond and playing average footy versus Brisbane (despite the loss). Ryder and Hille aren't playing well and their forward structure, according to an Essendon mate, has been pretty average.

My hope for this match, is that the right MFC turn up on monday. If that happens then we are a slim chance, it is last years premiers were talking about. I'd say we will struggle to win this one, no mader who is out for collingwood.

fair shout just a gut feel... the same one i had on friday...