R.I.P. BOBBY DAVIS

Posted

Cats legend Bob Davis dies.

398978-bob-davis.jpg Bob Davis celebrates with Geelong players after the 2007 Grand Final. Picture: Michael Dodge Source: Herald Sun

400893-bob-davis.jpg Geelong legend Bob Davis has died, aged 82. Davis played 189 games for Geelong, including the 1951-52 premierships. Picture: Chris Scott Source: Herald Sun

GEELONG legend Bob Davis has died, aged 82.

Davis, who has been ill in recent months, was admitted to hospital on the weekend and died suddenly on Monday night.

He played 189 games with the Cats from 1948-58, including the 1951-52 premierships, and was club captain from 1955-58.

He then coached the Cats from 1960-65, taking them to the 1963 premiership.

Davis then forged a long and successful career in the football media.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/cats-legend-bob-davis-dies/story-e6frf9jf-1226057395263

398978-bob-davis.jpg Bob Davis celebrates with Geelong players after the 2007 Grand Final. Picture: Michael Dodge Source: Herald Sun

400893-bob-davis.jpg Geelong legend Bob Davis has died, aged 82. Davis played 189 games for Geelong, including the 1951-52 premierships. Picture: Chris Scott Source: Herald Sun

Davis, who has been ill in recent months, was admitted to hospital on the weekend and died suddenly on Monday night.

He played 189 games with the Cats from 1948-58, including the 1951-52 premierships, and was club captain from 1955-58.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/cats-legend-bob-davis-dies/story-e6frf9jf-1226057395263

Bob Davis was a ripper guy...shall be missed..This will break Lou Richards too. Those 2 were a team on ch 7.

R.I.P. Bobby...

RIP Bobby

Loved Bobby.

Best part of the 2007 GF watching him handover the cup!

Some great years on League teams (3 wise monkeys) and The Sunday footy show on 7 as well.

From memory (ie.,my dad) he was one of, if not the last VFL player to use the place kick!

R.I.P.

:(

RIP Bobby. What a ripper bloke who will be sadly missed by all. I doubt that anyone could possibly say theyve had a bigger influence on a great football club than Bobby. Congratulations on a wonderful carrer in football and the media and your legacy will never be forgotten.Hope the cats get up for him this weekend!!

Enjoy your Footy in the next realm Bob !!

Loved Bobby.

Best part of the 2007 GF watching him handover the cup!

Some great years on League teams (3 wise monkeys) and The Sunday footy show on 7 as well.

From memory (ie.,my dad) he was one of, if not the last VFL player to use the place kick!

R.I.P.

:(

Agreed.

Although, I seem to recall that "Chicken" Smallhorn claimed to be the last user of the place kick...? Could be wrong, though.

Yes, Bob, Louie & Capt Blood made a great team. They don't make footy panels like that anymore!

Agreed.

Although, I seem to recall that "Chicken" Smallhorn claimed to be the last user of the place kick...? Could be wrong, though.

Yes, Bob, Louie & Capt Blood made a great team. They don't make footy panels like that anymore!

Tony Ongarello - Fitzroy? RIP Bob Davis. A legend of the game. Fond memories of Bob, Jack and Lou on World of Sport and League teams on a Thursday night.

Agreed.

And let's not forget Uncle Doug Elliot, the Huttons Footy "frangers" (as Lou would occasionally refer to them), the Don smallgoods etc. Yep, Bobby will certainly be missed, but he leaves behind so many good memories for those of my vintage.

A true legend of our game.

RIP Bob Davis.

400893-bob-davis.jpg Geelong

RIP Bobby

I had the great fortune of playing a round of Golf with Bobby in March 2007.

Sharing a Golf Cart for over 4 hours with this Legend was an honour I will never forget.

In between golf Shots our group was basically treat to a live show of Leauge Teams, he was truly hysterical that day.

Bob genuienly thought he was going to die the last Cats Premiership Coach.

Little did he know what was about to unfold only 6 months later.

A massive loss of a Legend in the world of AFL football

Deepest condolences to his family

There will be great sportsmans night upstairs . Bob, Lionel, Seve and Henry.

R.I.P Bobby

Tony Ongarello - Fitzroy? RIP Bob Davis. A legend of the game. Fond memories of Bob, Jack and Lou on World of Sport and League teams on a Thursday night.

Yeah Ongerello was the last player to score a goal with the Place Kick (1955)

Apparently its still a legitimate kick

I remember Ongerello went on to become a commentator on the ABC

Davis was an Geelong Icon and although i knew he wasn't in the best of health but it was still a shock when i heard the news

I was too young to see him play but my Father who follows Geelong described Davis as very fast and ran very straight

Bob was astute enough to recruit Doug Wade from Horsham after Melbourne let him go and a very bad decision that was in hindsight

Really enjoyed World of Sport and League Teams and was really annoyed when that Sydney Centric Fool Christopher Skase dropped both programs

Up until that happened it was the longest running Live show on the planet

IMO it should still be on

RIP Bob

Great Memories

Bob was astute enough to recruit Doug Wade from Horsham after Melbourne let him go and a very bad decision that was in hindsight

RIP Bob

Great Memories

Did we let Doug Wade go???

Oh my God, i was unaware of that!!!! What could have been......

It's a very sad day to see Bobby Davis go. I don't think anyone could say a bad word about the bloke and his days on World of Sport, League Teams and later Grumpy Old Men will always be remembered with fondness. I was really happy for him when the Cats won in 2007 and again when he was on the dais with the 2009 team.

Condolences to the family.

The footy world has lost a true icon.

Very sad news. Legend of the game.

He certainly was a fantastic footballer and bloke. With Bob Davis on one half forward flank and my namesake on the other what chance did the other states have against the Big V? Very sad news indeed. Condolences to his loved ones.

Great Interview played on SEN last night on Mark Fine's show, that was conducted about 12 months ago.

I am pretty sure it is a podcast on their website today.

Bob Davis was a character that loved life every day....

Fair dinkum unbelievable

Would be great to get that made up as a T Shirt.

Imagine 50.000 people all wearing that at the MCG for Bobby.... B)