Bumper Crowd First game

Posted

We have the chance to get a bumper crowd to the first game even after a disappointing pre season. We are the only game in melbourne on saturday and the weather looks ok. Hawthorn has a big following and both clubs' supporters will be excited to start the season and see their team with some new players making their first appearance. Being the only AFL game in town on saturday might draw some other AFL supporters, who are happy to see a game, as well as some grand prix visitors from interstate and overseas. A good turnout of Dees supporters should also see Membership numbers rise and more so if we win, as interest will spill over to the next week against the pies.

Hopefully we win in front of a big crowd, we need a kickstart desperately.

Edited by Redleg

Let us out number Hawthorn Supporters...Make a stand you guys.

Our President wants us ALL to be there...

Can't make it this week. I'm in the minority who prefer Sunday games, they're the only ones I can get to.

Some gun new recruits to debut, The dawning of a big future. + there is always upsets in round 1. No weak excuses, BE THERE!!

If for no other reason than Jimmy asked you to. Show the champion pres that we are coming along for the ride.

...can we add a poll of Y/N attendance to this topic

Edited by The Great One 99

Absolutely gutted that I can't make it.

Have a bucks that I must attend in the afternoon.

Turns my stomach to know I can't go.

Absolutely gutted that I can't make it.

Have a bucks that I must attend in the afternoon.

Turns my stomach to know I can't go.

Your stomach will be turning anyway if its a proper bucks affair!!!

I'll be there as usual. I would expect that we will get a crowd in excess of 50,000 for this match, unless the Hawks supporters stay away because of injuries to key players in their side.

I'll be there with two of my hawthorn supporting friends. :S

I made myself unavailable for a praccy match this week so I can go, We Melbourne members have been screaming out for Saturday afternoon footy. So lets make a statement and force Vlads hand to give us more !!! Go the MIGHTY DEES !!!!

I'll be there as usual. I would expect that we will get a crowd in excess of 50,000 for this match, unless the Hawks supporters stay away because of injuries to key players in their side.

I`ll be there.

50k would be awesome, but I doubt we`ll get there. When was the last time we got over 50000 other than Queens B`day or finals? Be rapt if we got 45000

Your stomach will be turning anyway if its a proper bucks affair!!!

It'll turn either way, but I'd rather be able to say I saw Trengove and Scully play their first AFL game.

Shame.

It'll turn either way, but I'd rather be able to say I saw Trengove and Scully play their first AFL game.

Shame.

Yes, Geez i hope they Burn-we really need some luck and fortune go our way...enough talk of the distant future. The club needs a bit of a kick now.

Cant make it unfortunately, got a praccy at 12. Not Happy!

Edited by Carn dees

I'll be watching from Sydney... thanks to very good eyesight coupled with a television.

(RobbieF... nice to see still posting somewhere.)

Edited by hardtack

To be honest I would be hoping for 55-60K at this game. You would expect the MCC to be full, this will be a Hawks Make up match for the 4 they sell to Tassie and we will have Scully, Trengove and more then likely Strauss on debut. Also I really think we can win this game call it false hope but we pushed them last year when they were at full strength, unfortunately for us the guy that starred that day is out with a broken jaw, but they have a few handy types out, we just need Warnock to beat Roughhead.

I'll be there in the Olympic Stand. Signed a family member up too this year, so you can add another one to the crowd and our membership total.

To be honest I would be hoping for 55-60K at this game. You would expect the MCC to be full, this will be a Hawks Make up match for the 4 they sell to Tassie

I agree. With the hawk designated free entry game, Saturday afternoon & good weather, I reckon well get in excess of 55,000.

The hawks alone have more than 50k members, don't they?

[/tongue in cheek]

hopefully we can get 60k to the game - that's what I'm aiming for.

Let us out number Hawthorn Supporters...Make a stand you guys.

I'm all for being optimistic, but really?

Home Game-Our Prez has called to arms all supporters...so yes really. No excuse.

We must get 40,000 at the absolute minimum.

We managed to get 40,000 against Richmond in round 22 of 2008 so no reason why we can't get that for the Hawks game.

Huge game. Will set the stage for our season, for better or worse.

The more support we can give the boys the better.

No excuses, get there.