Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

CASEY: Rd 05 vs Richmond VFL

Selwyn said they’re very pleased with how Bowser pulled up today. He played the first half then spent the third quarter running the boundary.

Bowser said it felt great to be back out there and after the game he was on top of the world. No issues whatsoever, back to his pre-injury self. He doesn’t know if half a game in the 2s is enough or if they’ll play him with Casey again this week. Anyways he’s hoping to make it back into the seniors by the following week, Round 9, which is what they were aiming for.

49 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Reckon you’d want a full game in his legs first, but I definitely wouldn’t be mad if he did go straight to the AFL. I can’t wait to see him in the new system.

This game was not about match fitness imo, just shaking the cobwebs out after a decent lay off

First time seeing Tairon Ah-Mu in person and holy crappppp, he’s a huge, imposing man-mountain.

3 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

We’ll add his name to the list as it stood 7 weeks ago

Tholstrup

Laurie

Jefferson

Oh wait a minute!

Whose list is that? Tholstrup already has a contract until 2028 so that doesn’t really make any sense. Laurie’s awarded a contract for playing one good AFL game in 5 years last night is he? He may well, but let’s at least give it a month’s worth of work before we start handing out deals, bit reactionary

19 minutes ago, binman said:

D9nt draftees get a minimum 2 year contract?

As a rookie draft pick I’m pretty sure he’d only be on a one year deal. If you actually watch him play @Roost it far it’s not that far fetched to suggest he needs to lift if he wants another year.

We probably need another tall defender against Sydney. I assume it will be Petty if he's considered fit. But if Petty's unavailable, did McDonald or Adams show enough?

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

Culley out, AMW in?

I would 100% go with that move

1 minute ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

We probably need another tall defender against Sydney. I assume it will be Petty if he's considered fit. But if Petty's unavailable, did McDonald or Adams show enough?

Jed received the BOG award in the rooms

I dont think you will see Petty for quite a while!

43 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

it'd be interesting to see but i think he benefits by the ball coming towards and his first instinct being to defend then create offensive ball movement, rather than presenting towards the ball carrier

completely different roles obviously

I just don’t think his decision making will ever hold up at afl level, nor his defensive positioning.

Forwards who don’t know where to go or use the ball poorly are a worry too but it’s potentially less costly than the other end. And he’d make some opposition defenders earn their kicks

17 minutes ago, picket fence said:

I dont think you will see Petty for quite a while!

Care to elaborate pf?

1 hour ago, Tarax Club said:

As competition for the third tall steps up. Luker Kentfield again displays his versatility and Kalani White shows definite promise of things to come.

Kalani will have a different physique in a couple of years and then we will see what he has. Good effort in ruck today. He has dad’s leap for a start.

1 hour ago, old dee said:

Care to elaborate pf?

Reported they still need to run more tests and he might be sidelined for a month. Presume to run those tests and monitor

10 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Reported they still need to run more tests and he might be sidelined for a month. Presume to run those tests and monitor

Yep and more!

Wonder m

13 hours ago, Greg Schneider said:

Whose list is that? Tholstrup already has a contract until 2028 so that doesn’t really make any sense. Laurie’s awarded a contract for playing one good AFL game in 5 years last night is he? He may well, but let’s at least give it a month’s worth of work before we start handing out deals, bit reactionary

As a rookie draft pick I’m pretty sure he’d only be on a one year deal. If you actually watch him play @Roost it far it’s not that far fetched to suggest he needs to lift if he wants another year.

Rookies are only on a standard on year deal.

I do agree with you though. But at the same time he is also being played completely out of his position.

Whilst I understand why they would be doing this purely to add versatility to his game, his main strengths as an elite junior and why he was drafted was being a gun midfielder all through his junior career.

I would love to see him back in there and just let him utilise his strengths or else or he could back playing at Shepp United next year.

AUTUMN WINDS by KC from Casey

The winds finally returned to Casey Fields for the Demons’ third home game of the VFL season, and its impact was immediate. After two opening rounds played in uncharacteristically fine conditions, the Anzac Day clash brought back the familiar gusty conditions that have been a feature of the region at this time of the year.

Forced to kick into the breeze first, the slow-starting Demons faced a tricky opening against an enthusiastic young Tigers outfit. Casey responded by turning the contest into a scramble, pressuring Richmond into errors and missed targets. The tactic proved crucial, keeping the game tight for three and a half quarters before the Demons pulled away with the autumn wind at their backs.

Richmond wasted early opportunities, and Casey’s slightly better efficiency in front of goal almost gave them a quarter-time lead. A last-minute Richmond major on the siren, however, saw the Tigers take a narrow advantage. The standard didn’t lift much when Casey had the wind in the second term. Richmond controlled the ruck, but the Demons gradually worked their way on top thanks to key forward Tairon Ah-Mu. His strong marking and presence troubled the Tigers, and he finished the half with two valuable goals.

The prime mover for Casey was Jake Bowey. Making a successful return from December foot surgery, Bowey played a scheduled half and showed his trademark composure, finishing with 15 disposals, three marks and three tackles.

Casey led by eight points at half-time, a slender margin given Bowey would not return. An early goal to Luker Kentfield pushed the lead to a then game high 14 points, but Richmond again surged with the breeze. Three unanswered goals put the Tigers back in front, before Casey’s pressure acts locked the game down for the final 15 minutes of the third. Richmond’s four-point lead at the last change looked vulnerable kicking into a freshening wind that was swirling a little across the face of goal.

The Dees took full control in the final term. After a rushed Richmond behind, Casey piled on 4.8 to run out 27-point winners, evoking memories of the days when Casey Fields was a fortress.

Andy Moniz-Wakefield has been outstanding on return from injury, racking up 31 disposals and six tackles in this game. Patrick Cross grew into the game and finished with 22 disposals, nine marks and two important goals. Since his return from his sole AFL appearance against Carlton before injury, Cross has lifted another level and is pressing for a further chance.

Luker Kentfield provided a strong target with 13 disposals, six marks and two goals. Tom Matthews had a quiet day statistically with nine disposals, but his two last-quarter goals were invaluable.

Co-captain Riley Bonner again led by example, whether in defence or on-ball, collecting 27 disposals and five marks. He was well supported by an improved Tyson Sruk with 25 and four. Luis D’Angelo and Toby Sinnema each had 20 touches and provided great service, while Ah-Mu’s bustling presence in attack was vital.

The most experienced Demon on the ground, Tom McDonald, was influential early in defence and a pillar late, finishing with 22 disposals and 10 marks. Jed Adams worked tirelessly to plug holes in defence, tallying 12 touches and six marks and helping keep the ball locked in Casey’s forward half in the final term. Jack Henderson and Ricky Mentha Jr had their moments of strong play, while ruckman Kalani White continues to show steady growth.

It was an ugly win but it lifts Casey into the middle of the ladder. They face a stern test next Sunday when they travel to Sydney to meet the in-form Swans.

IMG_7749.jpeg

CASEY DEMONS 2.3.15 6.5.41 7.6.48 11.4.80

RICHMOND VFL 2.7.19 4.9.33 7.10.52 7.11.53

GOALS

CASEY DEMONS Ah-Mu Cross Kentfield Matthews 2 Bonner Scapin SInnema

RICHMOND VFL Philp Yassine 2 Ferguson Roberts-Thomson Trainor

BEST

CASEY DEMONS Moniz-Wakefield Bonner Cross McDonald Ah-Mu Sruk Bowey

RICHMOND VFL Hayes-Brown El Nour Sonsie Trainor Connolly Scott

IMG_7747.jpegIMG_7748.jpeg

12 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Tairon Ah-mu. Remember the name. This kid will be a very good AFL footballer. Let’s get him in.

Youre Welcome Maui GIF

Sorry, based on what exactly? I know you have a tendency to pump up every single suburban footballer out there but let's cool the jets on this one mate.

First of all here is not even on an AFL list after being overlooked by 18 teams.

Secondly, he'd wannna strip at least 6-8 kilos, because the speed of the game and forwards being able to work up the ground at AFL is now the non negotiable. He would absolutely struggle in the pressure cooker of AFL level.

Look at how bloody hard Brody Mihocek works when he gets on his bike to be an option at the half way point and then ability to sprint back on the turnover in transition. Even on Friday I saw both Jefferson and JVR do this at times.

Tairon would blow up within minutes and expose us big time.

We all know the talent is there but it is also clear why he wasnt drafted. Steven King is all about smashing your GPS number and right now Tairon doesnt fit the bill.

Great to see Bowsa back yesterday. His field kicking and rebound play will fit into King’s game plan perfectly.

Yesterday’s game showed the marking ability of both Kentfield (6 marks) and Ah-mu (9marks). What was pleasing was their body work to get in front of their Tiger opponents and grab the footy with strong hands. Taking contested marks is still a valued asset in the AFL.

I saw Ah-mu in the third qtr take 3 strong contested marks when Casey was kicking into the wind. He linked the play at that centre half forward area. He does need to get more aerobic (he’s still only 18) but his skills are good and his goalkicking is generally very accurate.

Kentfield too will be a player in my view. He has good aggression to compete and again is a good kick.

Andy Moniz-Wakefield is ready for his return to the AFL team. His tackling is a highlight. He locks it in. He might be needed v Swans this week try to hold Papley.

If you get overlooked by 18 teams in your draft year, it doesn’t mean you are never to be considered for AFL quality. Recruiters don’t always get it right. Many many many many many examples.

Paddy Cross is yet another one. Missed in a few drafts, he has shown his ability at Casey. He played a very good game yesterday. Kingy might consider him as Culley replacement this week. I like the way he competes and knows how to hit the scoreboard.

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Sorry, based on what exactly? I know you have a tendency to pump up every single suburban footballer out there but let's cool the jets on this one mate.

First of all here is not even on an AFL list after being overlooked by 18 teams.

Secondly, he'd wannna strip at least 6-8 kilos, because the speed of the game and forwards being able to work up the ground at AFL is now the non negotiable. He would absolutely struggle in the pressure cooker of AFL level.

Look at how bloody hard Brody Mihocek works when he gets on his bike to be an option at the half way point and then ability to sprint back on the turnover in transition. Even on Friday I saw both Jefferson and JVR do this at times.

Tairon would blow up within minutes and expose us big time.

We all know the talent is there but it is also clear why he wasnt drafted. Steven King is all about smashing your GPS number and right now Tairon doesnt fit the bill.

That’s certainly the conventional wisdom about Tairon Ah-Mu among the pundits but we have to also note and acknowledge certain things -

• Tairon Ah-Mu is not tied to Melbourne in any way whatsoever, a fact that was made clear last year when the AFL announced that although he had been in its NGA program for some time, his Samoan heritage did not make him eligible under the rules. There was some speculation that the rules would be changed for this year but it’s also unclear now whether someone like his apparently even more talented brother Corey who is draft eligible next year is eligible to be drafted by the Demons under the NGA rules;

• Tairon is still 18 years of age and has not had a solid AFL type preseason, nor presumably any physical development supervision at elite level. He can lose those 6 to 8 kilos if needed in reasonable time under a diet and training regime made for his body. He’s probably never going to be a Luke Jackson but he’s still a young kid and he might well be able to adapt his capabilities over a few seasons so that he suits the prevailing style of play in the day;

• the fact that the prevailing style involves speed, speed and more speed, it doesn’t mean that some bigger players can’t exist in such an environment, nor does it mean that a different style more suited to the big youngster might come into vogue just when he’s ready to blossom as a player.

So we need to be a little more flexible in our thinking and not discard a player talented enough to be able to kick five goals in his first two games of senior football. There’s far too much good material there to overlook him as a future talent.

And on the subject of the Ah-Mu’s, I found this on a Herald Sun online discussion in the Haileybury section in an article about the various APS school teams -

“SURPRISE PACKETS

“Corey Ah-Mu is the younger brother of ruckman Tairon, who was one of Haileybury's best players last season. Tairon missed out on being drafted but has landed on Casey's VFL list. Corey has an equally powerful frame and figured for both the Vic Country under-16s and the AFL Multicultural Academy last season.”

3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

If you get overlooked by 18 teams in your draft year, it doesn’t mean you are never to be considered for AFL quality. Recruiters don’t always get it right. Many many many many many examples.

Paddy Cross is yet another one. Missed in a few drafts, he has shown his ability at Casey. He played a very good game yesterday. Kingy might consider him as Culley replacement this week. I like the way he competes and knows how to hit the scoreboard.

3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

You made the statement that "he is going to be very good at AFL level." A ridiculous statement based off limited sample.

Newsflash, he is not on an AFL list. So let's cool the jets on the expectations on him when he is not even on an AFL list.

3 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

That’s certainly the conventional wisdom about Tairon Ah-Mu among the pundits but we have to also note and acknowledge certain things -

• Tairon Ah-Mu is not tied to Melbourne in any way whatsoever, a fact that was made clear last year when the AFL announced that although he had been in its NGA program for some time, his Samoan heritage did not make him eligible under the rules. There was some speculation that the rules would be changed for this year but it’s also unclear now whether someone like his apparently even more talented brother Corey who is draft eligible next year is eligible to be drafted by the Demons under the NGA rules;

• Tairon is still 18 years of age and has not had a solid AFL type preseason, nor presumably any physical development supervision at elite level. He can lose that weight in reasonable time under a diet and training regime made for his body. He’s probably never going to be a Luke Jackson but he’s still a young kid and he might well be able to adapt his capabilities over a few seasons so that he suits the prevailing style of play in the day;

• the fact that the prevailing style involves speed, speed and more speed, it doesn’t mean that some bigger players can’t exist in such an environment, nor does it mean that a different style more suited to the big youngster might come into vogue just when he’s ready to blossom as a player.

So we need to be a little more flexible in our thinking and not discard a player talented enough to be able to kick five goals in his first two games of senior football. There’s far too much good material there to overlook him as a future talent.

And on the subject of the Ah-Mu’s, I found this on a Herald Sun online discussion in the Haileybury section in an article about the various APS school teams -

“SURPRISE PACKETS

“Corey Ah-Mu is the younger brother of ruckman Tairon, who was one of Haileybury's best players last season. Tairon missed out on being drafted but has landed on Casey's VFL list. Corey has an equally powerful frame and figured for both the Vic Country under-16s and the AFL Multicultural Academy last season.”

I am not discarding him, but he is a fair way off the elite standards. The talk by SONS stating he is doing to be a very good AFL player is completely over the top based off very little sample.

On talent alone he is impressive especially after he taught Jed Adams a valuable lesson in an intra club game.

But its up to him whether he wants it.

I spoke to someone heavily involved within the elite pathway at Dandenong Stingrays in around march March this year at a coaching seminar and i got talking about few previous players like Ah Mu and Sinnema.

He pretty much said that whilst he is a good kid, his training habits/intensity is woeful and never once did his extras even though that was recommended feedback for him by his coaches. The term 'lazy' was used a fair bit.

Talent only gets you far but simply not doing the simple non negotiable thats required for elite level is just a red cross against your name with recruiters.

Hes got athletic ability like speed and the jump but his endurance base is below standard.

So yes, he is a fairly long way off at AFL level.

Hopefully being in a VFL environment can sort that out. I believe Rhett McLennan is driving him fairly hard around the standards and professionalism on this because they see the talent, but at the end of the day its up to Ah Mu.

23 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

First time seeing Tairon Ah-Mu in person and holy crappppp, he’s a huge, imposing man-mountain.

Tairon certainly looks a brute - does he have, real or potential AFL skills? Accepting that he has not had any real fitness involvement at this stage?

IF he is that good, potentially, could he be a midseason pick up given that we would expect 2 or 3 slots - McAdam and Campbell likely retirements, and Culley LTI?

22 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

22 hours ago, old dee said:

Care to elaborate pf?

The club has already said that Petty will be a few weeks away given the lack of diagnostic clarity

21 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Tairon certainly looks a brute - does he have, real or potential AFL skills? Accepting that he has not had any real fitness involvement at this stage?

IF he is that good, potentially, could he be a midseason pick up given that we would expect 2 or 3 slots - McAdam and Campbell likely retirements, and Culley LTI?

The club has already said that Petty will be a few weeks away given the lack of diagnostic clarity

Thanks mono, it doesn't sound good.

1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

@Whispering_Jack thanks for the added info and support and not getting too aggravated towards others posts & opinions. (And fact check to some others, I never said Ah-mu was on an AFL list).

No problem. I wasn’t questioning you - rather emphasizing the ridiculous rule and the lack of communication and clarity about the NGA eligibility rules.