Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

NON-MFC: Round 06

Boooo...

Number 8 in green best on in the last for the Chardy set

Crows did it for Jaryd tonight. An extraordinary effort after a challenging week for them.

Such a shame that St Kilda lost the game at the end to a free kick at a ball up

4 hours ago, Earl Hood said:

I saw an article preseason that mentioned that Tracc had been working with a kicking coach to improve his accuracy! His kicking coach probably gave him similar advice. At the time when I read the report I thought just WTF were we doing under Goodwin at times? Tracc’s inaccurate goal kicking was just so frustrating at the Dees and a deficiency that was so obviously rectifiable for a player with his talent and make him the complete player.

I saw the same article. Made me wonder why it took the player 10 years to put in the additional effort to rectify an obvious flaw in his skill set.

15 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Big crowd. 19000 !!! FFS. TRAC says he wants to play in front of big crowds.

I had a text from a mate there GJ at People First saying it’s 50/50 between Suns & Bummers fans.

10 k is a lot for a club with no soul.

11 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

Tom Papley says hello.

Living up in Sydney, hating Tom Papley was a regular amusement for me until it was all ruined by a coincidental string of interviews and the like. Turns out that off field he's calm, well spoken and observant. There was even an instance of him successfully and tactfully getting Roaming Brian to jog on instead of bugging the Papley family.

So annoying, because on field he is so easy to dislike. His goal celebration face looks like he is taking a difficult [censored] while also having a [censored] and is calling a friend to tell them about it.

13 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Eerily r6 20 years ago down at Geelong

13 hours ago, Demonstone said:

How do you feel about Turner being called "Disco" (Roach) and Langford being called "Bison" (Marsh)?

Speaking for myself, I don't like it.

15 hours ago, picket fence said:

I remember saying something to him about ball drop and leg extention and suggested an alternative at Slithera City a year ago, he listened looked at me and said Nar and shuffled away. Now thats fine, BUT I had my Ex PhysEd teachers hat on and using my knowledge gained from my Biomechanics and training I thought my theories sound. Anyway just a note

You gotta remember though, players and coaches get advice from well meaning spectators all the time. 0% of the time they will take it onboard. 100% of the time they don’t wanna hear it, regardless of how beneficial it might be.

11 hours ago, Go the Biff said:

I saw the same article. Made me wonder why it took the player 10 years to put in the additional effort to rectify an obvious flaw in his skill set.

Had mum blowing smoke up his arze his whole life and then fans and media took over when he started AFL.
Prabably thought he was beyond flaws.

13 hours ago, Macca said:

It has to be an AFL directive as I refuse to believe that all the umpires have en masse, decided to not penalise blatant throws

Might happen 15-20 times per game sometimes. And 100's of times for each round of football

Sure, it keeps the game moving but a throw is a throw

The directive is to keep the game flowing 'Macca', so this is one way they do it.

It's quite sad to see this unique skill of our game going this way.

6 minutes ago, rjay said:

The directive is to keep the game flowing 'Macca', so this is one way they do it.

It's quite sad to see this unique skill of our game going this way.

It is, but otherwise congestion & stoppages rule, rjay

15 or 16 a side would help solve the issue. I've seen people here suggest even down to 14 a side!

if all the players were highly skilled like what we saw in the State game, it's a different story

But that is not the case, far from it

All the grounds are far too small for 36 players

Tradition? That all went decades ago

Even the man on the mark has to stand there like a statue! Looks ridiculous

In the meantime, players can now throw the ball

26 minutes ago, Macca said:

It is, but otherwise congestion & stoppages rule, rjay

15 or 16 a side would help solve the issue. I've seen people here suggest even down to 14 a side!

if all the players were highly skilled like what we saw in the State game, it's a different story

But that is not the case, far from it

All the grounds are far too small for 36 players

Tradition? That all went decades ago

Even the man on the mark has to stand there like a statue! Looks ridiculous

In the meantime, players can now throw the ball

I think 16 is about right 'Macca'...I would like to see the skills of the game retained and this would help.

It would also help the diluting of the talent pool.

2 minutes ago, rjay said:

I think 16 is about right 'Macca'...I would like to see the skills of the game retained and this would help.

i always thought it was bizarre that aflw switched to 16 - the players can't kick as far, the skills aren't as clean, and the women would benefit from 18 players on field as opposed to 16

aflm reduced to 16 would theoretically be a more open game

5 minutes ago, rjay said:

16 a side would be a good starting point

But traditions die hard so I doubt we'll see any change unless the TV & streaming/cable numbers drop

Most just love their footy no matter how it is served up. Any other thinking falls into the dinosaur bracket

Meanwhile, the throw is becoming a staple of the sport. And it's not just this year, the Bulldogs were throwing the ball prior to 2016

Tigers a sneaky chance today i reckon

Yze must be tearing his hair out.

more scoring shots but tiges couldn't hit the ocean with a beach ball

6 minutes ago, 3KZ is Football said:

Nowhere near it

8 different players kicking behinds in just over a quarter not helping!