Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 05 vs Essendon

32 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Unfortunately part of the old Melbourne is still there

Honestly, I think we need to move on from this kind of narrative.

It's not a winning formula.

We're in a semi rebuild, but even last season's premiers and grand finalists are getting mixed results this time of year.

I'm supper [censored] with the result and think it's a massive opportunity missed. But in all honesty, at this point, it's just one game. The coaching group and the team have already moved on from this as a loss and are just thinking how we can beat the reigning premier's next week, which I think we can and look forward to being there to watch it.

An incredibly disappointing performance but unfortunately one that all Melbourne supporters would have seen coming

King has done a great job of instilling belief in the players and revitalising the game plan, but I reckon this week will be a real test for him and how ruthless he is willing to be in regard to selection and player positions

The silver lining is that it’s happened early in the season - let’s see if we respond

1 minute ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Honestly, I think we need to move on from this kind of narrative.

It's not a winning formula.

We're in a semi rebuild, but even last season's premiers and grand finalists are getting mixed results this time of year.

I'm supper [censored] with the result and think it's a massive opportunity missed. But in all honesty, at this point, it's just one game. The coaching group and the team have already moved on from this as a loss and are just thinking how we can beat the reigning premier's next week, which I think we can and look forward to being there to watch it.

Yep, they haven't lost to a 0-17 record side, and don't give weak effort like we did today, 40 odd points against freo is acceptable but not to ****house bombers

47 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

I nearly died in my forties when Tsatas kicked a goal.

Two of the better wins since the flag followed by one of the worst.

We made so many absolute nothing footballers and third gamers look like stars. I mean Darcy [censored] Parish. Jesus [censored] Christ.

But the midfield was actually 'outdone' by the backline. Said it after the Freo game: Xavier Taylor can't come on quickly enough.

Yeah absolutely terrible

And it’s that difference between best and worst that continues to haunt us. Can’t build trust with stuff like this.

1 minute ago, pitmaster said:

Can we now can that rubbish Gather Round guernsy?

When Tassie come in we should ask for gather round bye.

Flat as a s**t carters hat today, there was always going to be a drop off after the last 2 weeks unfortunately but that was a bad one. Need to keep playing plenty of youth I thought we went in a bit too old today could be time for Heath or Kentfield soon

Scratchy early.

Looked good in the second when dominating the clearances. When that dominance eroded, ouch! We really should have been man on man to start the last but it wouldn't have mattered, no run in the legs and the Bummers had a sniff.

Our bookends are painfully slow (Mihocek, JVR, Lever and TMac) and it showed today.

King out coached by Scott, just as Goody was frequently v Essendon

The Melbourne of old.

Biggest concern was not where did the run n carry game go?....what the hell did we try to do to stop their chip kicks and easy uncontested possessions that won them the game.

Nothing....the whole match.

Hopefully the reality check we needed. There are no easy games anymore.

6 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

Yep, they haven't lost to a 0-17 record side, and don't give weak effort like we did today, 40 odd points against freo is acceptable but not to ****house bombers

Makes zero difference when we front up next week against Brisbane.

Yeah Essendon were absolute puss against North 2 weeks ago and I'd personally hoped that would continue, but it didn't. They showed signs against the Dogs last week amd we just happened to be their mark this week.

Too bad, tough shiiiit. Move on.

What do you want - us to flagellate ourselves for the rest of the season?

King pressed said they looked lethargic & players need to be ruthless on each other, they lied flat & sloppy, needs to swing the axe

This game moves on fast. Our balance was awful today - too immobile at both ends and we running in quick sand all day. The coaches need to work out why the lack of run but the balance issue isn't a hard one to fix. The bounce out of defence was badly missed today. But it's one game in a very long season, where no game is easy. I'm neither surprised nor overly concerned by the result because we didn't play well and I know we can play better. Full credit to Essendon who showed great signs last week and carried it over to today. Having your best personnel available is often overlooked and underrated when assessing a team.

28 minutes ago, demoncat said:

An incredibly disappointing performance but unfortunately one that all Melbourne supporters would have seen coming

King has done a great job of instilling belief in the players and revitalising the game plan, but I reckon this week will be a real test for him and how ruthless he is willing to be in regard to selection and player positions

The silver lining is that it’s happened early in the season - let’s see if we respond

He dropped/rested Rivers a couple of weeks ago. Let's see what he does if Casey play well tomorrow does he reward form or keep the faith in players. I hope he swings the axe, I don't players to think that they can play [censored] and still play the next week.

MY KEY MOMENTS

ISAHIAS chase down and to gut run to the forward line mark and kick a goal ,just so good he can,t do it on his own every week he needs his mates to show the same intensity like last week .

Steele and Petty missing really easy goals ,and Langers running down the wing into a forward line and deciding to handpass which was intercepted and the Bombers scored a goal and never looked back .

I hope Kingy brings in new blood ,and he gets the back up ruckman on the bench ,to support Max

Just now, JOHNNY DEE said:

MY KEY MOMENTS

ISAHIAS chase down and to gut run to the forward line mark and kick a goal ,just so good he can,t do it on his own every week he needs his mates to show the same intensity like last week .

Steele and Petty missing really easy goals ,and Langers running down the wing into a forward line and deciding to handpass which was intercepted and the Bombers scored a goal and never looked back .

I hope Kingy brings in new blood ,and he gets the back up ruckman on the bench ,to support Max

Hope Kentfield and a few others stake a claim

17 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

King looked shell shocked and nonplussed in his presser. Hope he has some answers.

It was a dismal performance to match that of his team. But he'll learn. We hope.

Pity about that but pretty easy money on the betting side. Not going all doom cause this team has given unexpected joy already this year. We will have to make changes next week given Brisbanes small fleet. TMac and Melksham out at least not sure who in but look to the future. Did not enjoy the 3rd quarter umpiring much as a side issue.