Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 01 vs St. Kilda

7 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Also, how was Lyon's patronising and arrogant press conference. "They played off side a lot, and we knew they would, but we let them do it too often".

You mean we managed to move the ball quickly and efficiently, getting the ball out into space.

It was not like we had a bunch of Joe the Gooses.

He's a dill.

Ah yep. Line officials failing to raise the flag. Hard to win a game of Australian rules when that happens.

What a clown.

Conversely, I thought King spoke really well in the press conference.

14 hours ago, AB10 said:

Very underrated game from Tholstrup today, went everywhere with Nas and really curbed his influence on the game. Yes he still kicked 3 but sometimes you just have to tip your hat to talent!

Wholeheartedly agree.

Sure Nas kicked 3 and he had a really good game, tgough not a match winning one (it’s a measure of how well he is playing that his player rating was 16.7 and was the Saints 3rd highest rated player, yet most would consider he had an average game).

But in a game with 33 goals kicked 3 goals is not a match winning haul, and I think I'm right in saying all three were kicked when he was playing forward, presumably trying, and I guess succeeding, to exploit Kolt defending him.

But I'd much rather Nas play forward than on ball, particularly in the last quarter when his elite run and carry and bal use would have much more a concern than being moored inside his 50.

In that context comparative score involvements tell an interesting tale. Nas had 6 (which includes his 3 goals) and Kolt had 8.

10 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

When he was talking about the unfairness of playing a side coming off Opening Round, he also noted that in the next few weeks we have consecutive games against sides coming off a bye (Round 3 vs Carlton, then Round 4 vs Gold Coast).

This sort of stuff is fixable - the easiest way of course is to remove the byes by removing Opening Round altogether and having everyone start on the same weekend, in Round 1. Just have the four northern clubs get home games in prime time slots.

OR is ridiculous, and I've found it interesting how many coaches have been prepared to say so.

So emblamatic of the AFL's philosophy of putting profit and market share over ensuring the competition is as fair and equitable as possible.

I mean it creates a potential inequity from the very beginning of the season.

But if they ARE going to have an OR, surely the logical thing to do would for all 8 teams who play OR to play a team who also played in OR in round one.

14 hours ago, Macca said:

There's been a few here not liking the new, helter skelter style of footy we're witnessing but they'll soon get used to it

But it's nothing new, footy was primarily played like this, prior to 2005

Could be a generational thing or more so, what we get used to

And you're right about the teamwork, the extra handpass or players sprinting to position was a sight to behold

2nd efforts, a functioning forward line and no boundary hugging were also standout features

More of that please and there's no reason that we can't reproduce that style on a weekly basis

I said to my mate that the scoreline was a throwback to the Daniher times!

On Langford, did he get caught out by the speed of ball movement or did the Saints negate him or did he just have a bad day?

Thought Culley was fantastic and my new found Sharp love, I'll readily admit I didn't rate him. Now we just need Jeffo to step up and I'll see myself out.

Long may the Picketts play together.

How much better is winning!

56 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

I thought our team selection was good.

The decision to play with Petty as the second ruck gave us an extra runner and Max's amazing effort in the last quarter won us the game.

Apart from JVR, I thought our better players had mixed games. Kossie was great in the centre bounce but fairly well held around the ground. Max fumbled a bit early on. Lever made poor decisions.

I am still not sold on Rivers in the midfield long term. He is a weapon off half back and just average in the midfield.

Lindsay is not a great defender but Bowey is still months off returning, so we will need to persever.

I thought CJ was pretty good. Not sure why he is geeting criticism.

JVR looked fantastic being 4kg lighter. He is a fantastic set shot and just needs to keep holding his marks.

Culley playing as a forward was a good move.

Good start for Latrelle. I think he is going to be in and out of the side this year and he is probably not in our best side, but he showed enough signs and kicked a great goal. Good effort to go from SANFL seconds to the AFL.

Langford had a quiet day. We need to feed his left foot more.

Mihocek looks the same as he did at the Pies.

The fact that we had a number of players who were down is a positive IMO. 120 points with Koz kicking 1 goal, for example. Personally I think Lever was fine and nowhere near as bad as he’s copping on here, other than the two awful kick turnovers (he has to learn to stop trying those kicks, he routinely misses them).

Agree re Latrelle. How many times did he find himself in space and with the ability to impact? He was behind the pace of AFL level, and not fit or strong enough, but the sign is there IMO that he can be damaging once he adjusts.

2 minutes ago, binman said:

OR is ridiculous, and I've found it interesting ho many coaches have been prepared to say so.

So emblamatic of the AFL's philosophy of putting profit ad market share over ensuring g the competition is as fair and equitable as possible.

I mean it creates a potential inequity from the very beginning of the season.

But if they ARE going to have an OR, surely the logical thing to do would for all 8 teams who play OR to play a team who also played in OR in round one.

It's such an easy fix, just make it a "Blockbuster" opening.

Something like this. All VIC games at the G except WB v North (Marvel), allow members from both clubs to use their club memberships to book a ticket. You'd go close to selling out every game.

WC v Freo

GC v Bris

AD v PA

Syd v GWS

Coll v Ess

Melb v Saints

Rich v Car

WB v North

Geel v Hawth

Bit of a weird game overall, lots of players contributed but only Van Rooyen and Gawn (after 1/4 time) really dominated. Nevertheless a very enjoyable win, and the improved composure of the group late was pleasing.

Clearly our ball movement and our forward line structure were infinitely better than anything we've seen in the past two years. Time will tell whether we can maintain this against better opposition.

We haven't had a genuinely unselfish, team-oriented key forward since 2021 Ben Brown. The only issue I have with Mihocek is that we didn't land him three years ago when he could have helped deliver a second premiership. His impact on Van Rooyen and the other forwards will be immense, regardless of his own contributions.

It was fantastic to see the likes of Sharp and Tholstrup play important roles, and clearly King has come in with fresh eyes and fresh ideas to rejuvenate some of these players.

On the flip side, the defence was a hot, stinking mess for most of the day. Lever was appalling throughout and must be dropped for McDonald this week. As I've said for a long time, Lever and Turner should never play in the same team as both are trying to play the same role.

Salem and Jiath are also a concern as neither wants to be accountable for an opponent. Both had some decent moments with the ball, but they will be easily exposed against better opposition.

St Kilda's lack of height allowed us to play an extra utility on the bench, but we probably need to play another tall this week. Petty was very good when he rucked, but we will need him to stay back against Freo. Gawn rucking 90% of the game is also not sustainable long term, so hopefully Heath comes in (perhaps for Sparrow).

12 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

The fact that we had a number of players who were down is a positive IMO. 120 points with Koz kicking 1 goal, for example. Personally I think Lever was fine and nowhere near as bad as he’s copping on here, other than the two awful kick turnovers (he has to learn to stop trying those kicks, he routinely misses them).

Agree re Latrelle. How many times did he find himself in space and with the ability to impact? He was behind the pace of AFL level, and not fit or strong enough, but the sign is there IMO that he can be damaging once he adjusts.

12 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Lever gave away a free to Ryan when he had the advantage and did a two fist spoil when he had the sit in the second quarter. He needs to be better and King should suspend his licence for kicks in the corridor.

Personally i think TMac is better than both Petty and Lever (but I can also see why he is going for younger players). Melksham and TMac are being held back for injury and are both in our best side.

I understand the criticism coming in here, but I think we need to remember it was the first game-for-points under a new coach, in the first round, without Clarry/Viney/Trac and May. Oh yeah, we won it too - against a team that is pushing for a mad finals burst before burning up in the atmosphere.

Not everyone is going to tear it up every week, but demanding players be dropped after considering all of the above is a bit....Melbourne.

12 hours ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

it’s hard to laugh at the saints

No, it’s not…

IMG_1964.jpeg

1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

Not sure what anyone else thought of the umps but bloody hell they were atrocious.

Felt like they had a Saints jersey on and was very annoying and frustrating.

Hopefully they improve but I won’t hold my breath.

Couldn’t agree more. However the boundary umpires had a shocker. Clear “lasoo” feee to Melbourne not paid, but I was staggered how shallow most boundary throw ins were, falling way short. Rucks didn’t really adjust but still way too short.

7 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

No, it’s not…

IMG_1964.jpeg

If you listen carefully you can hear the cries of St Kilda supporters being flushed along with the cash

Edited by GawnOfTheDead

9 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

No, it’s not…

IMG_1964.jpeg

Is this Ross throwing money down the toilet after the recruiting binge or is it Ross taking money out of the toilet after agreeing to do an ad for Uber Eats?

1 hour ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Salem disposals very poor as well. He gave two goals to St Kilda.

He also kicked probably the best pass of the day inside 50 into space for Roo punt Rd end in the 2nd QTR.

It was sensational.

30 minutes ago, RickyJ45 said:

awesome to knock-off our bogey team first round!!

King-ball beats Ross's Moneyball!!

Moneyballers you don't pay 2 players a Fortune that are hacks

10 hours ago, 3KZ is Football said:

That’s a standard piece of Furniture at The Saints going back many years

The pressure is right on them now

Well done Demons. We have created Tomorrow’s Agenda on SEN!!😎

1 hour ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

When LSP got caught my Mason Wood 10 meters out and they didn’t call HTB… that was a laugh. Off to OPSM.

Mason never tackled him properly , and he wasn'teven holding picket when they hit the ground.

I dont want to down play the saints too much. I am hoping we beat a good side not a poor side.

WE had some great performances and some ordinary performances. Our good passages were very good. Roo and Max probably the difference.

The main thing I noticed was our [layers seemed closer to their opponents which appears to be a pattern of all games. No guarding ground and shepharding players into position but close checking and tackling. Chasing and putting players under pressure and off balance is what created so many turnovers.

I hope we look at our squad for next weeks selections and pick players who are suited to the opponents. Therefore we might rest some who played well and put in some more surprising picks, but in the light of today I dont know who that is.

Perhaps Sharp played his one out of the box, Kolt played a role scripted 3 weeks ago, really well. Langford did little but maybe needed that run. I think Petty is showing the ultimate swing man off the bench and maybe TMac can go into the defence who all played pretty well

Great problem to have. Looking forward to an exciting season.

14 hours ago, adonski said:

Thought Kolt played pretty well when following NAS around the midfield, showed enough to suggest he can make the grade

The 3AW commentary mentioned, about 10 mins into the third quarter, that Nas had 2 disposals (that quarter) and had moved to the backline chasing kicks. I reckon Kolt would have learnt a lot playing on a player some claim to be the best in the AFL.

13 minutes ago, biggestred said:

What a great win. super happy.

and all those Saints fans who told me they'd win easy. lol

13 minutes ago, biggestred said:

What a great win. super happy.

and all those Saints fans who told me they'd win easy. lol

That why I was very interested in the game the Saints played last week, with Collingwood having key players out, they had to beat Collingwood, and beat them well, once Collingwood won, i knew that the Saints have not improved from last year. I'm going to say it now, Tom de hack, will never ever be a all Australian, and yet he's getting paid more than an eight-time all Australian ruckman, it's a joke

We dodged a bullet with Sam 'The Butcher' Flanders.

15 hours ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

3 players, Silvagni is also on $900k

15 hours ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

3 players, Silvagni is also on $900k

He wasn't even in Carlton best 22 every week, you don't pay big bucks for a player who is in and out of a sid, I think they just wanted to get him out of Carlton, just to get one on Carlton for some reason, to say hey look we've got a father of son out of another club, look at us we are a destination Club, I'm so happy that Flanders picked the Saints, because he can get a lot of the ball but he's a hack kick he's just ordinary

The first crack had lots of footage of Gawn and TDK. In the last, TDK looked like me if I'd tried to sprint 200 m repeatedly. Hands on haunches after every contest, completely spent. clearly not fit enough. giant dollars and not at the level.