View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Farewell Christian Petracca

9 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

I dont disagree with you on the culture and leadership, but i was trying to say is that there were 40 other players in our club that didnt seek a trade or kick up a stink in the public arena. So what was Trac's excuse?

He wants to be part of a successful club and can see a limited window as he come towards the last stretch of his career. He said it himself when he was drafted, he wants to be a HOF'er, 1 flag and a Norm Smith is good but he wants to be in that elite company. Right or wrong I think he got fed up seeing it wasn't gonna happen at the Demons.

21 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

He wants to be part of a successful club and can see a limited window as he come towards the last stretch of his career. He said it himself when he was drafted, he wants to be a HOF'er, 1 flag and a Norm Smith is good but he wants to be in that elite company. Right or wrong I think he got fed up seeing it wasn't gonna happen at the Demons.

Petracca was not only part of the problem, he was the problem

Good riddance I say. When it got tough, he ran. Weak as [censored]. He could have stayed and shown some real leadership

A Prima Donna, attention seeker and a sook

I'll take the 3 first rounders - X Taylor, Latrelle and one other. That's a win

When all 3 hit their straps, Petracca will be close to retirement (or retired)

The Gold Coast can deal with him pulling out of contests now

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Petracca was not only part of the problem, he was the problem

Good riddance I say. When it got tough, he ran. Weak as [censored]. He could have stayed and shown some real leadership

A Prima Donna, attention seeker and a sook

I'll take the 3 first rounders - X Taylor, Latrelle and one other. That's a win

When all 3 hit their straps, Petracca will be close to retirement (or retired)

The Gold Coast can deal with him pulling out of contests now

Like I said originally, I'm disappointed he left and how it ended but I hold no grudges against him. If others want to that's their prerogative.

1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Like I said originally, I'm disappointed he left and how it ended but I hold no grudges against him. If others want to that's their prerogative.

He [censored] all over the club, Gonzo

He gets no well-wishes from me. A mercenary, a freeloader and an attention seeking sook

Sapped $Millions out of the club like his nothing-but-trouble entitled mate Oliver

Both ought to be utterly ashamed of themselves but both display a level of entitlement that knows no bounds

'Footsteps' Tracca is someone else's problem now.

I'm just glad we don't have to hear any more tripe from the Prima Donna. I've got about as much interest in a plastic club like the GC as I do in Curling

I thought he wanted to go to a big club? Maybe they didn't want him?

He's now working at the Company store that no one cares about (apart from the nuffies)

2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

And that is what is wrong with him.. he is looking for cheap success. The HOF selection panel should see straight through it

Was far more disappointed to lose Oliver.
But I'm not around the club and he could've been a dead set menace for all know.
And if Petracca could hit the side of a barn we would've won alot more close games than we did.
Including finals.

Also think the club fumbled these 2.
We shouldn't lose club champs like that.
Having said that I also think we're in a better position now for the future that they're gone.
Got some new young blood flowing through.

Edited by Fork 'em

24 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

And that is what is wrong with him.. he is looking for cheap success. The HOF selection panel should see straight through it

Years ago both Petracca & Oliver would have walked into the Vic State team

Now? Not even considered. That's how far both have fallen. Yet both of them carry on as if they are both world-beaters

Big heads, the both of them. Non team players. Selfish and money hungry

I reckon we'll look back in a few years and know that we did the best thing for the club in ousting both of them

And make no mistake, we also wanted Petracca out and in the process, got a great deal for a 30yo who is past his best

3 x First Rounders (Taylor, Latrelle & ????????) ... thanks Trac, or should we thank the Suns for overpaying for him

I'll go with thanks, GC!

12 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

Let's face it.
If Petracca could hit the side of a barn we would've won alot more close games than we did.
Including finals.

He's a lousy kick and always has been

He can get it and hoof it forward but most of us here could do that (apart from the getting it)

Can you imagine him in the Vic state team missing targets left, right & centre or with his useless scrubber kicks aimed at the pockets

He's now like the Crouch Bros. Accumulate possessions but do nothing with the ball

For all the footy he played with us I just can't ever remember him hitting up to a leading forward

It was just up and under bombs along with his sidekick, with his sidekicks

9 hours ago, Mgdee said:

No. Marquee players should be treated the same as everyone else in the team. That’s what encourages a team instead of a bunch of individual players.

Favouritism creates schisms within the team structure.

Yeah well they dont, they get special treatment just like @Garbo said.

There is a compelling argument that if you look back through time, some of our biggest stars in the game have recieved special treatment where thats off the back off field incident or just in general.

Kings birthday destroyed Petracca, on and off the field and he blamed the club for it, simple as that. Whether we did do something wrong or it was all in his gigantic head is for he and the club to know. We got well overs for him for the way he was playing for us at the time.

You never get over situations like that and his mind was made up. Goody knew it but didn't want to accept it and that was his downfall.

Will be interesting to see if he fades into the background at GC with flashes of his old self or be rejuvenated and do it week in week out.

Edited by AzzKikA

I feel like refreshing a thought I tossed in about 40 pages ago.

'The injury' was the first time in Petracca's life he had experience actual fear, he didn't cope with it, then he didn't cope with the fact he didn't cope with it, and in trying to find external reasons for that he completely transformed his relationships to fit a perceptions that it wasn't him who didn't cope.

On the one hand, it is a sincerely sympathetic story and just unfortunate that the damaged relationships were with 'us'.

On the other hand, it is triggering my 'oh, poor little rich boy with the ultra-supportive large extended family and talent for a thing society celebrates out of all proportion to its value, did you have a boo-boo and only had the support of some of the world's very best medical services and a realistically unlimited budget to access those services? awwww, awwww'.

But that isn't a part of me I like.

I'm trying to compartmentalise it to being just another reminder that most AFL-level footballers have had a supportive and resource-rich structure around them and their chosen path so far back they were still wetting the bed. I can resent that and still feel okay about myself.

I couldn't care less about the bloke to be honest.