View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

People can multitask.

Just like how Guerra has been involved at the club and doing work behind the scenes for a while now.

Letโ€™s hope heโ€™s not meddling in the football department.

ย 

Is anyone honestly surprised by this? May turns 34 in January and was already looking well past his prime. If realistically we're still 3 years away from going deep into September he'd be almost 37 by then. Even with a new start his body might chuck it in halfway through next year. And we all know he's abrasive. I've no idea what he said/did when Max recently talked about no longer losing the close games but it certainty was bad optics. (Admittedly it may that he honestly knows of the team.flaws and was cynical but truthful in his reaction to Gawn. Fingers crossed that's not so .)

I'm guessing May's days were numbered. The coach candidates were asked who Melbourne's best 23 were and I'm sure the best candidates went into great detail about most players and volunteered who should be up for trade. King probably point blank said May should go while the board nodded. This May trade is probably the first decision King's made and probably the one he's most confident about.

50 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Turner doesn't require mentioning because hes the only lock for our defensive half. If Petty doesn't play forward, he'll be the other.

and Tmac. he had a v good year. but to put it in perspective May was selected before him.

ย 
3 minutes ago, bluey said:

Letโ€™s hope heโ€™s not meddling in the football department.

He wants to bring someone with footy experience to oversee the footy department, which tells me he doesn't want to meddle at all, and knows he doesn't have the footy experience to oversee the department.

2 hours ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

One of the best Demons players Iโ€™ve ever seen. 2020-2022 May was an absolute colossus and I donโ€™t think 2021 happens without him.

But the time has come, and thatโ€™s not even factoring in the off field stuff.

I was in favour of it at the time but signing him up for 2026 before a game was played aged like milk.

My thoughts as well. A brilliant piece of recruiting and exceptional for a long time for us - at some points clearly our best player. But the time comes for everyone and while I'm sad it didn't end in a slightly different way, I'm not disappointed.

A sensible decision.

I still think this is a Robbie Tarrant-style play for other clubs. Hoping he can wind the clock back when everything suggests he's very close to the end.

I get the feeling it is GM of football Alan Richardson who is running the show. Not sure him and Tim Lamb can stand by their list decisions over the past few years.

Steven May ๐Ÿ†โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’™

Mayโ€™s stats show he was elite for kicks & disposal efficiency and above average for interceptions. Sure heโ€™s slowing down but he was still very good in enough games to warrant a 2026 listing and retire with a nice send off. A tough call in my view.

Itโ€™s a cruel game and I understand we might want to rebuild with Adams and get Derksen in

Footnote- how does McAdam survive on our list? Surely he also goes. Whoever gave him 3 years as an injury prone erratic player must be seriously questioned.

13 minutes ago, old dee said:

I am quite surprised at the number of player moves we are making consider the coach does not have his feet under the table.

Iโ€™m not. The writing has been on the wall for a couple years, and heโ€™s obviously had to prepare to play against our team for even longer.

It would be quite evident as it is to us what the issues are.

Glad heโ€™s taking swift moves before the trade period commences.

7 minutes ago, Bay Riffin said:

and Tmac. he had a v good year. but to put it in perspective May was selected before him.

TMac is great depth ans provides excellent leadership. He's a quality character.

ย 
1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

We have defensive depth. It could be Howes Derksen (when he arrives) and Petty.

I really think the days of three defensive talls are over at Melbourne, unless they can really join in on offence.

I'd have Derksen, Howes and Petty before Lever for this reason.

But as I say, we will have more than enough options for the tall backs.

Now to strengthen the forward half.

Derksen before Lever, cmon mate. Derksen will be lucky to be on the list

Good move from the club, May has been great and could still be good for a team. Goodluck to him and if we are lucky, we might get a third rounder back for him which we can use for Khalani

But I don't think we can carry both he and Lever with the Injury issue they both have.

Hopefully this also means Petty back to defence!

7 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Derksen before Lever, cmon mate. Derksen will be lucky to be on the list

I wouldn't have Lever in my side next year and Derksen would be on the fringe.

May I still think would be in our best 6 defenders.

I have no doubt this is due to non football related things.

For a pure ability decision id def keep him, but you have to back the call and hope they get it right.

11 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

TMac is great depth ans provides excellent leadership. He's a quality character.

I think you're right.

He's been a one club player who has given his all. Not a star but a very solid player.

If anyone deserves a "depth" year it's him.

As others have mentioned Lever will unfortunately be under the pump. His body is perhaps not up to it but with a managed programme he may recover his best form. Unfortunately his disposal has favoured the up and under kick which is a liability these days

49 minutes ago, lorn said:

We've told him to seek a trade, so other clubs have all the bargaining power because they know we want him out.

Ah yes, thatโ€™s why would be lucky to get any usable pick. We would take ND120.

8 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Thats a tad harsh and he is young enough to be around when we are good. He needs to get on top of his injuries tho.

53 minutes ago, RedFox said:

Some clubs might tolerate May's cultural pitfalls - the Dogs don't strike me as one. Particularly given their recent experience with JUH. His form hasn't been strong enough to justify upsetting the apple cart is my read on it.

the Dogs have been tolerating worse antics than May for the last decade. Ask Dunkley why he left. May can be a DH on field and has some anger issues obviously at time but the kennel is rife with questionable off field player behaviour

Mays has been outstanding for MFC. This season he showed the signs of decline several times but he probably still has a season or two of decent footy in him. I can see what the Dees are doing and it makes sense. Despite his abrasive personality and occasional off field issues he could be useful to a number of clubs for a season or two.

3 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Thats a tad harsh and he is young enough to be around when we are good. He needs to get on top of his injuries tho.

It's not his injuries. He's an elite reader of the play and structural guy, but he struggles to join in on offence, struggles in 1v1s against any height, and isn't particularly quick.

Unless we can manufacturing a slowing down of the transition game, not something it seems King is interested in, I can't see how he fits at this stage.

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I know this is not the right topic but what is everyone's take on Lever?

very injury prone and that ankle doesn't look like it will get right again.

2-3 years left on decent coin.

Doesn't look like the club will move him on now.

They still might.

14 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

the Dogs have been tolerating worse antics than May for the last decade. Ask Dunkley why he left. May can be a DH on field and has some anger issues obviously at time but the kennel is rife with questionable off field player behaviour

Those historical experiences tied in with the present and JUH is precisely why you can imagine they would be hesitant to bring someone like May in now.

16 minutes ago, Redleg said:

They still might.

Very true... the Circus proper has yet to hit town... we're just seeing the advance 'flyers' strewn around..

I loved Steven May, all time great FULL BACK of MFC a really nice guy to talk to at club functions...

I'd love to know if he however was the culture killer after our flag?

13 minutes ago, RedFox said:

Those historical experiences tied in with the present and JUH is precisely why you can imagine they would be hesitant to bring someone like May in now.

Comparing May to JUH is crazy talk.

May was captain of the Suns, an AA, a premiership player.

Yes he's had some issues, but he's also played 250 games, which is not something you achieve by being a total disaster off the field, hanging out with the wrong people, not turning up to the club etc etc.

May has a young family, and is still hungry for success. JUH has no idea if he's coming or going, and has publicly trashed people. He is a nightmare.

We need to show May a lot more respect than to put him in the same bucket as JUH!

ย 
28 minutes ago, Redleg said:

They still might.

This would be massive. We should, but I'm not convinced we will. Viney is the other elephant in the room.

Ala Mitchell (May), Lewis (Viney) and Hodge (Lever) leaving Hawthorn. But Hawthorn staggered Hodge until the following year from memory. Trac may still go too, so that would be too much to lose in one off season, I reckon.

Edited by Adam The God

41 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Derksen plays in the NEAFL, itโ€™s a terrible competition. Lever was injured all year and he is light years ahead of Derksen and plays well before Adams