View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

Can’t believe the AFL have chosen this despicable individual for the Grand Final at the cost of $5,000,000. Indefensible and a shocking decision.

Just now, chook fowler said:

Can’t believe the AFL have chosen this despicable individual for the Grand Final at the cost of $5,000,000. Indefensible and a shocking decision.

he's an absolutely legendary performer

BUT

the grand final should always be local acts

at the moment the oztrayan music scene is absolutely buoyant, and it seems such a shame not to promote it as such

whoever plays is usually tied into who mushroom are bringing out here to promote a future tour etc

works twofold; one off gf appearance fee which acts as light promo for future tour

Edited by whatwhat say what

Fo’ shizzle, that’s a whole lotta drizzle for a questionable grizzle.

At least you'd be confident that he would leave no turn unstoned in his preparation for the big day.

I was at the Grannie that Robbie Williams sang at, it was the highlight of the day. Don’t know any of Snoop’s stuff, but he’d have to be better than Meatloaf.

1 minute ago, In Harmes Way said:

I was at the Grannie that Robbie Williams sang at, it was the highlight of the day. Don’t know any of Snoop’s stuff, but he’d have to be better than Meatloaf.

the loaf lingers long in the memory cos of how awful it was

same as angry anderson in the batmobile

I’ve been strangely-disengaged from the footy this year. I guess this is somewhat expected when your team is having a year like ours, but it’s more than that.

Every year I detest the AFL organisation just that little bit more. The tenure of Gillon McLachlan - a truly odious individual - accelerated the cash-grab and vacuous “entertainment” aspects of the league, and ushered in a melange of hypocrisy, corruption and tack.

Great, $5m to go to some bozo at the AFL’s idea of “cool” (and won’t we all enjoy the performance while it’s twenty metres away on a muted TV at Damo’s bbq, because who actually gives a genuine toss?)

Meanwhile families can’t afford to go to the footy anymore, pensioners can’t afford to watch the H&A season on TV and those of us who have the extra $40 a month get to watch two hours of a glitchy, fuzzy green oval full of confused umpires, interspersed with a hundred crystal-clear ads for Sportsbet.

I still love the game, but the business-side of the big leagues (around the world, really) is more and more off-putting.

The AFL have had the opportunity to do something genuinely cool for years - local music acts only - and every year they prove just how naff they really are.

Sorry, “local musician” rant, over.

12 minutes ago, 2021 said:

His name is spelt Snoop DoGG (2 G's at the end)

Perhaps for the GF they can rename the 'G as the MC GG

I [censored] love it lol!

He would be hanging for the pre game smoking ceremony too.

I grew up in the 90s love snoop. The pre game act is all about getting casuals non fans to tune in and he will do that.

Every year there is triple m footy nuffy AFL supporters upset it's not cold chisel or hunters and collectors. Move on

14 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

I’ve been strangely-disengaged from the footy this year. I guess this is somewhat expected when your team is having a year like ours, but it’s more than that.

Every year I detest the AFL organisation just that little bit more. The tenure of Gillon McLachlan - a truly odious individual - accelerated the cash-grab and vacuous “entertainment” aspects of the league, and ushered in a melange of hypocrisy, corruption and tack.

Great, $5m to go to some bozo at the AFL’s idea of “cool” (and won’t we all enjoy the performance while it’s twenty metres away on a muted TV at Damo’s bbq, because who actually gives a genuine toss?)

Meanwhile families can’t afford to go to the footy anymore, pensioners can’t afford to watch the H&A season on TV and those of us who have the extra $40 a month get to watch two hours of a glitchy, fuzzy green oval full of confused umpires, interspersed with a hundred crystal-clear ads for Sportsbet.

I still love the game, but the business-side of the big leagues (around the world, really) is more and more off-putting.

The AFL have had the opportunity to do something genuinely cool for years - local music acts only - and every year they prove just how naff they really are.

Sorry, “local musician” rant, over.

Totes agree (see what I did there Mel).

So many young huge Australian bands slaying it here, and even more so overseas, and they once again go with an overseas act well past their prime.

I'm a hip hop fan but Snoop? Please. Funny, smart dude, who will be fun in the promos and pressers but his best music was produced 30 years ago.

If they want hip hop how about Bliss and Echo, or hell Hill Top hoods (who i know arent young), both of whom have just dropped new releases.

If they want fun, smart high energy and crowd engagement how about Confidence Man?

If they want bangers and spectacle how abour Dom Dollla or Flume.

If they want genuine high energy pure Oz rock how about the peerless Amyl and the sniffers or King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard.

For (new) Christ's sake support Australian music not some washed up septic.

1 minute ago, binman said:

So many young huge Australian bands slaying it here, and even more so overseas, and they once again go with an overseas act well past their prime.

I'm a hip hop fan but Snoop? Please. Funny, smart dude, who will be fun in the promos and pressers but his best music was produced 30 years ago.

If they want hip hop how about Bliss and Echo, or he'll Hill top hoods, both of whom just dropped new releases.

If they want fun, smart high energy and crowd engagement how about Confidence Man?

If they want genuine high energy pure Oz rock how about the peerless Amyl and the sniffers or King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard.

they could basically get the croxton block party line-up and make it a celebration of melbourne muzak...

• tropical [censored] storm

• spiderbait

• floodlights

• cash savage and the last drinks

• party dozen

• grace cummings

• sex mask

• girl & girl

• the gnomes

• loose lips

i'm not a huge fan of some of them but ffs give our local heroes a platform to showcase their wares

gang of youths talked previously about how much headlining the nrl grand final helped their push into the mainstream

it'll never happen

I couldn't care less...

10 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

The pre game act is all about getting casuals non fans to tune in and he will do that.

...and tune out when the game starts.

Pretty pointless really.

...a total waste of money.

33 minutes ago, binman said:

If they want hip hop how about Bliss and Echo, or hell Hill Top hoods (who i know arent young), both of whom have just dropped new releases.

It's about eyeballs on the tv those acts whilst great and Aussie won't deliver it

2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Worse than Meatloaf, and thats saying plenty!

4 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

What’s bloody wrong with Farnzy, Barnzy or Reynezy?

Farzy is unable to sing, barnsey close to it some would argue could never actually sing. Reynzey I assume you mean James Reyne would not be know by anyone under 40

Edited by Bates Mate

2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Will get more back in advertising revenue .

Boomers realising that the world doesn’t revolve around them and what they want:

image.gif

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

47 minutes ago, rjay said:

I couldn't care less...

...and tune out when the game starts.

Pretty pointless really.

...a total waste of money.

From the business side you can sell ads before after and make money for the AFL that's all it's about

1 hour ago, Bates Mate said:

I grew up in the 90s love snoop. The pre game act is all about getting casuals non fans to tune in and he will do that.

Every year there is triple m footy nuffy AFL supporters upset it's not cold chisel or hunters and collectors. Move on

I just can’t imagine a scenario where a person says “I have no interest in this game, but I can’t miss Snoop”.

And I have no yearning for the Gold FM acts either.

I just don’t think the Grand Final needs a half-time “spectacle” at all. Just a couple of local acts playing some tunes, then cross over to a wood-chopping competition. Perfect.