View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

Iโ€™m amazed at how quickly everyone has convinced themselves that Nathan Buckley is the best man for the job.

Outside of the Tassy job he hasnโ€™t been mentioned as a possible coach in waiting.

I canโ€™t recall him being mentioned on this site (maybe I missed it) as an option until Goody was sacked last week. The consensus was get the best up and comer for the job.

Oh well. I hope the board knows what its doing.

Not a really hard decision

ย 
46 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Yeh I get that, if you watch the video youโ€™ll see what I mean. Heโ€™s talking like he wonโ€™t even be at the club in any capacity.

So..

11 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

I saw that and was actually pretty surprised because I read today that part of the reason Goodwin got moved on was for suggesting our current list was a year away from a premiership whereas the board believe the current window is closed and a slight backwards step for a reset may be required.

Goodwin also thought we would make finals last year + this year.

With so many senior players playing well below their best, standards had dropped off. Particularly effort.

Our list is far better than what we have dished up last 2 1/2 years.

I think think this is why we had to move on from Simon, his faith in his premiership players was unshakeable. Yet half our list did not seem to embrace the change in style. His messages were stale, was he clear enough with gameplan and how to execute....I have had my doubts for long time, results say it was time.

His statement he made after the St Kilda loss imo is what lost him the job. Along the lines of there was plenty of things to be liked in that last 3 to 4 minutes. Delusional if he truly thought that. Members threatening not to renew and the feral reactions from supporter base. I don't think Simon read the room.

Not much in that last quarter , let alone last few minutes was acceptable...especially vs St Kilda who are imo a much worse team than us.

Onwards and upwards from here, we are going to bounce back into contention next year for finals is my gut feel.

Carro is a muck-raking fool who has largely become irrelevant. She is writing her own narrative in a bid to unsettle MFC and Buckley. Great that the ๐ŸŒฝ pulled her up on Tassie being a better prospect than Melbourne.

Really interested to hear what a "proper process" actually involves from all those demanding it.

We are not a government agency/public job so therefore we don't have to throw out a public advertisement asking for CV's, nor have a publicly visible team of recruiters analysing every word for the public record.

We don't and nor should we ever know what has actually transpired between our board/executive team and any of the candidates. The requirement of our posters basically asking for a blow by blow detailing those involved is actually kind of ridiculous from a private entity. The due process from my vantage point seems to have been happening for quite some time with the man in question. If i doesn't happen by all means get some cv's submitted and have a few rounds of interviews and presentations, but presenting your thoughts on a team you have had 0 contact with and how you are going create rapport with the 45 odd players and how ever many staff is about as pointless as rock scissors paper in choosing between the senior assistants. That kind of process gets you a Mark Neeld - great assistant and power point specialist but not a senior coaches [censored]

Edited by Sideshow Bob

42 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Caro doing her best to whip up some nasty headwinds along the path too

Caroline Richmond would be in that unique group of Media sycophants that indulges in revengeful spite for a living. She would object to Buckley or even Hird, not on the grounds of non capability, just on the secret overarching thought that they just might be successful, as if the were her Dolls to play with and no one else's.

4 hours ago, DubDee said:

I saw a clip of Paul Roos saying our list is no where near as bad as it seems

He compared us to the Pies before McRae took over and he said if he was Buckley he'd be taking over to win a flag in the next 2-3 years, not start over again

Sorry no link

Here it is...

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1229315285667442

3 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Caroline Richmond would be in that unique group of Media sycophants that indulges in revengeful spite for a living. She would object to Buckley or even Hird, not on the grounds of non capability, just on the secret overarching thought that they just might be successful, as if the were her Dolls to play with and no one else's.

She comes across as vindictive and nasty, doesnโ€™t she.

Iโ€™ve never really got the vitriol about her but Iโ€™m now starting to

ย 

Kane made her look pretty silly about which job is more appealing. Melbourne are already on the way. Best case by 2032 or 2033 Tasmania might reach where Melbourne are right now, If theyโ€™re lucky, there are no guarantees. And history says 5 years without finals is going to probably spell the end for any coach

The posters that wanted Goody out for being stubborn, playing favourites and not changing playing styles are in for an even rougher time with Bucks

Just now, DubDee said:

The posters that wanted Goody out for being stubborn, playing favourites and not changing playing styles are in for an even rougher time with Bucks

Temu Goodwin. We're gonna have a bad time!

1 minute ago, DubDee said:

Are we? Happy to revisit this! Which part do you think Bucks would be worse at than Goody? His communication skills alone are so much clearer...Is he stubborn? Does he play faves? Does he only have one idea,one gameplan? You are guessing and clutching at straws.

Guarantee we will be a better team next year. I would bet on it!

10 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Kane made her look pretty silly about which job is more appealing. Melbourne are already on the way. Best case by 2032 or 2033 Tasmania might reach where Melbourne are right now, If theyโ€™re lucky, there are no guarantees. And history says 5 years without finals is going to probably spell the end for any coach

So just so I have this straight, Caro's argument is that Buckley shouldn't come to Melbourne because we don't have a proper training ground and we have some uncertainties around key roles at the club. And instead, he should wait to maybe get offered a job at a team that doesn't yet exist.

How embarrassing for her.

31 minutes ago, DubDee said:

How so?

1 hour ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Well Copilot let you down there champ because Norm Smith coached the Dee's to the 1960 flag as one of his six.

2 hours ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Not sure why Richardson gets so much unwarranted hate. Met him a year or so back and chatted to him in depth for about 30 minutes. He is insightful, astute, was blown away with all he had to say. Super impressive human being.

Also widely respected in the industry. Ex senior coach at both AFL and VFL levels, senior assistant and director of coaching at Port under Hinkley, assistant across 5 AFL clubs, etc. etc.

2 hours ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Have a look at it, let me know if I looked into it too much?

Yes.

He was specifically talking about the next 2 weeks.

45 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

So just so I have this straight, Caro's argument is that Buckley shouldn't come to Melbourne because we don't have a proper training ground and we have some uncertainties around key roles at the club. And instead, he should wait to maybe get offered a job at a team that doesn't yet exist.

How embarrassing for her.

Nah Bucks should go to the club that doesnโ€™t even exist yet ๐Ÿคฃ

2 hours ago, Demonland said:

That was embarrassing for Caro.

Bucks is definitely throwing his hat into the ring based on what he's said on the couch. I think the board will have to sell to him a bit about the training base plans and board stability.

Bucks' analysis on the Pies problem was excellent btw.

I also thought Lewis's comments were interesting. He's always very measured but he often gives you a good little insight into Melb. I think there's still a bit of immaturity in the locker room and players were becoming too comfortable with Goody as he was everyone's friend.

Someone who has that balance of empathy and care but someone you always know who's boss is what they need.

Edited by At the break of Gawn

3 hours ago, Demons11 said:

Who do you expect to be on there? Itโ€™s the President, CEO and head of footy. Would you like the water boy and physio to be on the selection panel. The new CEO would not have been hired if he didnโ€™t know anything about football. Just because he didnโ€™t play or coach, doesnโ€™t mean he doesnโ€™t know anything

Heโ€™s an Essendon supporter on the RV board, Iโ€™ll be pleasantly surprised if he knew the earth was round yet alone anything about football.

(Of course, he and the head of footy - if backed and not sacked - both belong on the search committee, along with outside football knowledge please)

ย 
2 hours ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Yeh I get that, if you watch the video youโ€™ll see what I mean. Heโ€™s talking like he wonโ€™t even be at the club in any capacity.

In the press conference he gave a similar comment about needing to leave the MFC to further his career at some stage but also suggesting he'd be glad to stay.

My guess is he's contracted for at least next year. I doubt he would've taken on the challenge of forwards coach without some contract security.

If the new coach gives him permission to leave and he can find a job without relocating his family he probably takes that opportunity. Backline coach at Ess/Rich/Carl etc you name it.

If the new guy wants him to stay and holds him to his contract then he stays for at least the 1 year more.

1 hour ago, Demonland said:

All starts to fall into place now, With Caroline's ire.... Her best mate Brendon..." they done the dirty Caro on us". Tusk tusk tusk.