View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 minute ago, demoncat said:

I mean I guess that’s true but if he didn’t rate us he’d have Tassie and potentially Carlton as options in the next 12 months

Would be very easy to say he’s not interested and hold fire until then

Don’t think he’d be a good fit for Carlton, switching Voss to Bucks doesn’t work. Too similar.

And if a Tassie expansion team was the other option for the next decade of his life, I suspect he’d be begging the MFC rn.

So media reports ( I think Mitch Cleary) are saying selection committee will include Richardson ( God help us) new CEO who I believe knows nothing about AFL and Brad Green. Hardly inspires confidence!!!

2 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

So media reports ( I think Mitch Cleary) are saying selection committee will include Richardson ( God help us) new CEO who I believe knows nothing about AFL and Brad Green. Hardly inspires confidence!!!

well, that's a premiership player at the filth and premiership head of football at our club, head of chamber of commerce and former ceo with rasv and md for optus, captain and president of the club as well as successful business managing director of a small business

if they can't pick a leader, well...

13 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

That is awful.

6 hours ago, speed demon said:

Not quite unprecedented: Malthouse did not win a flag in his first coaching stint (Bulldogs '84-89) and neither did David Parkin (Hawks '77-80) with both going on to win three flags each.

I wouldn't summarise Buckley's time at the Pies as a failure. I'd say there were successes (turning over the list, improving culture, improving training standards) and failures (player relationships). If not for a Dom Sheed miracle he would be a premiership coach with a winning percentage of 53.6 from 218 games. Similar to Leigh Matthews time at Collingwood with one premiership and a winning percentage of 55.6 from 224. Matthews did alright in his second gig too.

David Parkin coached Hawthorn to a premiership in 1978.

1 hour ago, DubDee said:

That [censored] Tom Morris reporting there will be a decision by prelim weekend. Not enough time for a 'proper process'

And talking as if Buckley is a shoe-in

That week is 15-19 September. Today is the 11th of August.

Edited by Harvey Wallbanger
Typo

1 hour ago, adonski said:

Does anyone think our list is bad? (Genuine question)

I think it's significantly better than what almost all new coaches inherit

It’s far from terrible but the lack of leaders and quality players in their mid 20’s makes me think we’d be smarter to go backwards to go forwards than push hard the other way.

There’s a possibility where we transition to new/younger talls as required and Tracc and Oliver get back to near their best but it’s unlikely.

We’ve also got to nail recruiting a few ready made players and with our track record since the flag that seems hard to believe in.

2 hours ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Lethal Leigh? 1990 @ Pies then Lions 3-peat?

MS Copilot

Only a few AFL head coaches have won premierships with multiple clubs, which is a rare and impressive achievement. Based on historical records, here are the confirmed examples:

🏆 Coaches Who Have Won Premierships at Two Different AFL Clubs

1. Ron Barassi

• Melbourne: 1960 (as player-coach)

• Carlton: 1968, 1970

• North Melbourne: 1975, 1977

2. David Parkin

• Hawthorn: 1978

• Carlton: 1981, 1982, 1995

3. Allan Jeans

• St Kilda: 1966

• Hawthorn: 1983, 1986, 1989

4. Tom Hafey

• Richmond: 1967, 1969, 1973, 1974

• Collingwood: Took them to multiple Grand Finals but did not win a premiership there

5. Mick Malthouse

• West Coast: 1992, 1994

• Collingwood: 2010

6. Leigh Matthews

• Collingwood: 1990

• Brisbane Lions: 2001, 2002, 2003

7. Malcolm Blight

• Adelaide: 1997, 1998

• (No premierships with other clubs as head coach)

8. Denis Pagan

• North Melbourne: 1996, 1999

• (No premierships with Carlton)

From this list, the coaches who actually won premierships with two different clubs are:

• Ron Barassi

• David Parkin

• Allan Jeans

• Mick Malthouse

• Leigh Matthews

Again, that's the wrong question because Buckley didn't win a flag at Collingwood.

I wonder if the Blues would consider Goodwin when they sack Voss?

1 hour ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Our list lacks a Naughton

Possibly a Richards too

7 hours ago, grazman said:

Malcolm Blight says hello.

7 hours ago, grazman said:

There's also Robert Walls who left the Roys to coach Carlton - yuck. Unlike Blight he didn't take any time away from coaching.

35 minutes ago, Ditcha said:

David Parkin coached Hawthorn to a premiership in 1978.

Norm Smith started out as the coach of Fitzroy

50 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

Limited to those ? ( just wondering)

13 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I wonder if the Blues would consider Goodwin when they sack Voss?

I have a mate that’s a Carlton tragic and apparently when Goody was sacked, there was a decent number people wanting Goody as his replacement.

Roos:

"I think Melbourne is a different kettle of fish," he told the ABC AFL Daily podcast.

"I think they're way better than people are giving them credit for. If you get the right off-season moves, I'll go on the record, they could win a flag next year. Not the year after, they could win a flag next year. 

"They've got 14-16 premiership players on their list right now. They won a premiership in 2021, they're not super old, so I think this is a different one."

"If I'm someone like a Nathan Buckley, I'm not taking this job to resurrect this team. I'm taking this job to win a premiership in the next two to three years," Roos said.

"That's the mandate, for me."

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2025-08-11/afl-paul-roos-melbourne-premiership-coach-hunt-buckley/105639016

58 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

Think Smith is also part of the selection committee too which gives me a little more confidence.

1 hour ago, The Trunk said:

Who do you expect to be on there? It’s the President, CEO and head of footy. Would you like the water boy and physio to be on the selection panel. The new CEO would not have been hired if he didn’t know anything about football. Just because he didn’t play or coach, doesn’t mean he doesn’t know anything

Not sure why Richardson gets so much unwarranted hate. Met him a year or so back and chatted to him in depth for about 30 minutes. He is insightful, astute, was blown away with all he had to say. Super impressive human being.

My guess is Jordan Lewis will at least be added to that panel....is Roos available also?

I think you want a breadth of people on the committee, footy people or not they will all see different pros and cons from each candidate.

Edited by NeveroddoreveN

Buckley is the best man for the job, he has really high profile, would be able to sell the club and he’s a bloody good coach, he was very unlucky to not win the flag in ‘18, he would be ideal, I think no players would want to leave.

Agreed, but looking increasingly like they'd chosen Buckley before sacking Goody. Which makes sense. And the selection panel is about providing cover to the board so that if Buckley fails, they can say their positions are still tenable.

I was sworn to secrecy,

but as no one on here knows who I am,

I can probably get away with it......

My father Admitted to me the other day, he was pro Buckley as our coach...

Did anyone see Chaplin address the team after the loss? (It’s on the demons app)

Bloody weird.

[censored] in their pockets in what seemed like a relatively sucking up kind of way? Not sure how to explain it.

They got praised for being last.

I also found his wording of “this is the path forward for you guys” extremely perplexing, like he already knows he’s leaving and has an exit plan.

Have a look at it, let me know if I looked into it too much?

6 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Did anyone see Chaplin address the team after the loss? (It’s on the demons app)

Bloody weird.

[censored] in their pockets in what seemed like a relatively sucking up kind of way? Not sure how to explain it.

They got praised for being last.

I also found his wording of “this is the path forward for you guys” extremely perplexing, like he already knows he’s leaving and has an exit plan.

Have a look at it, let me know if I looked into it too much?

You looked into it too much!

13 minutes ago, red and blue forever said:

I was sworn to secrecy,

but as no one on here knows who I am,

I can probably get away with it......

My father Admitted to me the other day, he was pro Buckley as our coach...

Yes son he is the one!

8 hours ago, grazman said:

There's also Robert Walls who left the Roys to coach Carlton - yuck. Unlike Blight he didn't take any time away from coaching.

And Leigh Matthews (the [censored]!) who won flags at his first and second clubs as coach ... (gee that was hard to type!)