View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

18 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

Langdon's comments 100% confirm a new voice was needed. Way too comfortable and to draw or reveal a divide between players and Board isn't on from a senior player and tells me (as many suspected) the players have been running the place.

Those saying "what do you expect him to say" - you expect him to say "we loved goody, but are excited for a change and the challenge that can bring". You don't expect him to say "you'd have to ask the Board". Very poor.

It’s barely been 24 hours.

I reckon cut him a touch of slack.

23 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

It was incredibly disappointing. I'd go further and say that making three finals series in a row is certainly good by Melbourne standards. By other teams' standards it's thoroughly mediocre (and that's being very generous).

Sydney - rarely out of finals. Eight finals appearances in a row between 2010 and 2018.

Geelong - rarely out of final. Eight in a row during the glory years. Six in a row under Scott.

Collingwood - eight from 2006 til 2013.

Brisbane - seven over the last seven seasons.

Hawthorn - seven in a row during the glory era.

West Coast - six in a row under Simpson.

Numerous other teams have played in four consecutive finals series in the last 20 years. And several teams have put together much longer finals runs with small dips out of the finals in between.

The last time we put together four finals appearances in a row was under John Northey.

maybe they should give john a call was the best coach since norm

24 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

Langdon's comments 100% confirm a new voice was needed. Way too comfortable and to draw or reveal a divide between players and Board isn't on from a senior player and tells me (as many suspected) the players have been running the place.

Those saying "what do you expect him to say" - you expect him to say "we loved goody, but are excited for a change and the challenge that can bring". You don't expect him to say "you'd have to ask the Board". Very poor.

I think either way Ed played a straight bat and showed his love for the outgoing coach. I think whatever he said it would be a lose lose situation for him. I wouldnt read into it too much.

Think it's pretty rare that a playing group will endorse a coach sacking, let's be honest.

Still feels like we are most amateur club in the professional area.

Perhaps trying to show a ruthless streak and get in first to select best available coach!

Smith & Guerra need to lead the change and charge towards being professional and finding a home!

45 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

So you’d rather he’d lied? Because that’s exactly what he would’ve been doing had he said what YOU expected him to say.

You don’t like what he said. That doesn’t mean what he said is wrong. He was expressing HIS feelings, not YOURS.

9 minutes ago, D4Life said:

Still feels like we are most amateur club in the professional area.

Perhaps trying to show a ruthless streak and get in first to select best available coach!

Smith & Guerra need to lead the change and charge towards being professional and finding a home!

It may not have been his intention, but smart timing from Steven Smith! Makes Brad Green take any criticism while he keeps his hands clean publicly.

24 minutes ago, Tracca said:

I think either way Ed played a straight bat and showed his love for the outgoing coach. I think whatever he said it would be a lose lose situation for him. I wouldnt read into it too much.

Ed is unashamedly honest. Clearly people aren’t comfortable with that.

Absolutely nothing wrong with what Ed said.

He might have loved Goodwin and not wanted a different coach and that is perfectly fine.
I'd prefer the players to be honest.

1 hour ago, GM11 said:

Interesting looking at the ladder as it sits.

The only recycled coach in the top 12 is Dimma, and he jumped off the sinking ship.

The bottom six have Scott, Voss, Lyon, Clarkson & two newbies.

Can't see any value in recycling.

Depends if you want someone with experience or someone who has never done the job before

Bottom clubs tend to sack coaches so the above is obviously skewed data

Longmire would be the dream but I don't think we would be able to convince him to step into our mess

Edited by DubDee

2 hours ago, BangBnagBang said:

there has been a clear change in game style to the eye, especially the second half of the season and the stats back that up.

If you still think we just bomb it down the line all the time I suggest you watch closer and also watch what other teams do Gonzo

I have been watching and specifically keeping an eye on that the last month. Still way too much bombing down the line and playing the wings.

20 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Absolutely nothing wrong with what Ed said.

He might have loved Goodwin and not wanted a different coach and that is perfectly fine.
I'd prefer the players to be honest.

As long as they commit unconditionally to the new coach.

There's a new dawn at the club, let's hope it has a good start.

Who's idea was it to put Ed on the presser?

He is clearly not the most savvy media guy out there. Remember the 'all duck no dinner' debacle?

Not blaming Ed, he is a lovely guy, was honest and wanted Simon to know he loves him.

We should have used Max or Lever who would have answered in a way that respects Goody but also does not directly conflict with the clubs decision to make us look (more) foolish.

2 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

You don’t like honesty from our players? I love Ed for telling everyone exactly how he and the other players feel about this sad and sorry mess.

Folks complain about players and coaches trotting out the same old hackneyed bs lines, then Ed speaks from his heart and you think he needs a distraction???!

You're arguing against something @MrFreeze didn't say.

He never said he had an issue with Langdon's comments or whether he should be honest or not. He said it speaks to the comfort level of the playing group under Goodwin and the need for some "disruption" to kick them into gear (not "distraction").

4 hours ago, Demonland said:

Roos joined 12 years ago with the succession plan so it is 12 years of stability

There will be no success unless we can get this stability back

I've watched the whole Ed presser. He spoke well. He didn't give much away. That grab looks worse than it was.

It's Eds 200th this week. Hence the presser.

31 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Who's idea was it to put Ed on the presser?

He is clearly not the most savvy media guy out there. Remember the 'all duck no dinner' debacle?

Not blaming Ed, he is a lovely guy, was honest and wanted Simon to know he loves him.

We should have used Max or Lever who would have answered in a way that respects Goody but also does not directly conflict with the clubs decision to make us look (more) foolish.

I love Lingers in front of a camera, he’s refreshing and says it like it is. He should be on more often.

I still remember when he appeared on the Gus & Gawny podcast eating a bag of Doritos or something similar.

He makes me laugh.

3 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Results speak louder than words. Loving your coach is not mutually exclusive with needing a fresh voice.

Also who can take him seriously in that beanie 😂

💯 to this. It’s very clear the players all respect Goodwin but they also seem very comfortable and/or complacent.

No one likes change, especially when you feel comfortable, but I think the players desperately need to be challenged by a fresh approach

37 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Roos joined 12 years ago with the succession plan so it is 12 years of stability

There will be no success unless we can get this stability back

Stability is great when things are working. Disruption is necessary it's not.

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Clearly not all of them were present. At least three players found out by feeds in their socials.

Being devils advocate was it the clubs fault it couldn't rouse those players ??

The event had its own pace.

2 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

It’s barely been 24 hours.

I reckon cut him a touch of slack.

Also - I'm not sure anyone else has said this - take note of his contrary, positive view of Casey. I sometimes think there's a bit of confirmation bias associated with the current arrangements.

21 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Being devils advocate was it the clubs fault it couldn't rouse those players ??

The event had its own pace.

What do you mean “couldn’t rouse those players”?!! You seriously think they found out on Facebook because they slept through a video meeting??!! At least three players were wide awake and found out while scrolling on their phones. One found out when his mate told him he heard about it on the radio.

5 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

This is what you have been wanting all season, posted ad nauseum in nearly every thread.

On the payout and soft cap, I read last night that Hawthorn were able to spread Clarko's over multiple years. We should be allowed to do the same. It is the AFL though.

I don’t disagree based on his win loss ratio we have been going backwards, but highlighting how poor our club is getting the stability right and how all the issues ultimately impacted on him, what’s the accountability on Richardson running of the footy dept?

10 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Also - I'm not sure anyone else has said this - take note of his contrary, positive view of Casey. I sometimes think there's a bit of confirmation bias associated with the current arrangements.

Ed must love the 800km return cycling trip to Casey each week.