View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Our challenge will be winning the midfield and limiting the supply to their forwards, who are doing well atm. Libber and Bont are pests, and so is that Ranger Richards. Win the middle, pressure up all over the ground, and we are in with a show. I expect ‘free kick bulldogs’, but even so, im quietly optimistic we wont get blown off the park.

8 minutes ago, binman said:

If we are going to fairly assess where the team is at we should take into account how we perform gains the best teams, teams that are motivated by finals.

In the last month we have been competitive against the top 2 teams on the ladder atm - the Pies and Crows - and also the Suns who are 6th with a bullet. And in May we pushed the Lions who are currently third.

In all those games out transition footy has been really good. In almost all of those games we likely win if not for inaccuracy.

No reason to think we won't be competitive again the Dogs this week.

I've actually maintained we might be better this week than some suspect.

2 particular things of interest to me.

Can the zest and verve created by a few inclusions and moves of magnets be maintained.

Can we hold up 4 qtrs against teams hell bent on denying us our 4 pts .

We shall see i guess

Edited by beelzebub

24 minutes ago, SPC said:

Yes I agree with most points. Just like to highlight how good it was to see Windsor in the middle and gaining confidence in the final quarter. I think the next 3 games we should have a good look at what the starting centre bounce line up could be for round 1 next year. Lindsay, Langford, Rivers, Bowey, Chandler, Culley and McVee should all be looked at.

I’d like the complete opposite. If you have a look at our season we were completely terrible from round 2-5 inclusive. The common thread was that we messed with player’s roles too much and had abnormal midfield starters. Langdon, Langford, Sparrow and Rivers all spent good time in there those games and we got belted. The turnaround from the Freo game onwards was the more regular inclusion of Pickett with our genuine extractors to support. I’d like to see Pickett in there as much as possible, Windsor relieving him during his breaks, and then Oliver and Viney with high minutes in there with Petracca only as relief when needed. At any time I reckon you want 2 extractor types with a line breaker and those 5 give us a good mix.

Langford and Culley would’ve got plenty of confidence from last week, can’t mess with their roles for the rest of the year. Bowey has been awesome in a consistent role all year, probably 2nd in bnf, and Chandler has been more than serviceable too. Rivers and McVee have been tried before and to me don’t seem suited to it. I’m not completely against Langford in there on occasion for long term development if Lindsay comes back in as an extra winger, but he’s got the attributes to be a damaging winger even now in his first year. I wouldn’t mess with it too much.

21 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Doomsday Demon knows this. It’s yet another misery-laden post poorly disguised as humour.

Humour is subjective GW. What you find funny, or offensive, others don’t.

Btw, do you have a burner account on DL?

number-three-in-5-4-3-2-1-thunderbirds-are-go-tv-show-postcard-136231-p.jpg

1 hour ago, Nietaphart said:

Btw, do you have a burner account on DL?

What’s your point? This is an implication dressed up as a question but I can’t work out what you’re getting at.

7 hours ago, binman said:

Maxy surely locked in his AA selection - and he continued his simply incredible contested marking this season

Agree wholeheartedly with everything else, but not sure about this. Grundy is coming home like a house on fire.

36 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

number-three-in-5-4-3-2-1-thunderbirds-are-go-tv-show-postcard-136231-p.jpg

My favourite Thunderbird.

25 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

What’s your point? This is an implication dressed up as a question but I can’t work out what you’re getting at.

Ghost who walks, seems to be your biggest cheer leader. Your ghost/shadow so to speak.

30 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Internet, informal) An anonymous account (typically on a social mediawebsite) used (temporarily) for activities that the user does not desire to have tied to their main account

Just in case I was not clear in my previous post.

P.s, I’m being somewhat, kinda jovial

51 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Agree wholeheartedly with everything else, but not sure about this. Grundy is coming home like a house on fire.

Let's not forget the politics too 😉

On 03/08/2025 at 16:51, FabDemon said:

Gees mate you are a really on a high after that one win against the Cellar Dwellers… stop insulting the many long term members and supporters on here who have expressed real and justifiable concerns about the performance of the team and the Club. You’re entitled not to share their sense of realism but just don’t bag them for it . Many of them have supported this Club through thick and thin for decades.

"Stop insulting the many long term members and supporters"

He's literally saying get behind the lads and support them.

Are you an actual goldfish ?

Edited by dondemon

7 minutes ago, sisso said:

Would just love for us to stuff up the Dogs season

Same here, I'm the only Dee at work and surrounded by Dog supporters. One of them has been at me for the last two weeks, constantly telling me Naughton and Darcy are going to have a picnic without May and Lever back there. I want them to miss finals.

Just now, Dee Zephyr said:

Same here, I'm the only Dee at work and surrounded by Dog supporters. One of them has been at me for the last two weeks, constantly telling me Naughton and Darcy are going to have a picnic without May and Lever back there. I want them to miss finals.

I like the dogs but I hope we neuter them.and then clip the wings of the hawks and pies.

I don't have much hate for the doggies

The hawks on the other hand. really want to see them miss finals

11 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

Ghost who walks, seems to be your biggest cheer leader. Your ghost/shadow so to speak.

well you got that wrong and do not pick on my little sheet rack

12 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

now he thinks i am you or you are me.Then again i used to be uncertain now i am not so sure

1 hour ago, Dee Zephyr said:

He might be right. Maybe not a picnic but our defence will have its work cut out.

Personally I think the Pups will make finals.

We just have to back TMac and Disco to get the job done against Darcy/Naughton and stop quality ball out of stoppage and D50. They play small forward otherwise.

I would bring X back in for Sharp and play Melksham as sub who has really looked like the season has cauight up with him the last 3 weeks. Allows us to if required swing Petty back and bring Melk forward if necessary.

The other option is play 2 true rucks with Campbell and drift Gawn behind the ball but that feels a step too left field.

Edited by Lil_red_fire_engine

On 03/08/2025 at 17:11, bing181 said:

"Realism". Seriously?

Last week's relentless bagging of the club, the selectors, Goodwin, and those involved in picking Viney (13 clearances, 8 tackles) and Petty (8 marks, 3 goals — could've been 5) says more about the critics than the selections.

A great reminder of how far these so-called "realists" are from actual reality.

Armchair experts with zero info, no expertise, and none of the cojones required to take a balanced, informed view of current performances. But plenty of conspiracy theories.

Settle down, professor. This is Demonland — not New Scientist, not The Economist, and definitely not the CSIRO. We deal in half-baked theories, trauma responses, and selective outrage. Peer review here means three likes and an off-the-wall reply from @Bitter but optimistic.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

I don't have much hate for the doggies. The hawks on the other hand. really want to see them miss finals

Same, same. Rest all our good players this week so we're up and running to bend over the Dorks next week.