Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Daniher Should Walk

mikeod

daniher has no plan b.he is a fantastic guy which makes sticking the boots into him hard.more than 200 games with no premiership

in an age of a socialist draft at a club without a premiership in 43 yrs.can we tolerate the luxury of keeping a guy because hes a nice guy.coaches are maleable they love who theyre employed by.they are selfish to this extent.we owe him nothing hes had his chance.

bjs i wouldnt mind buckley coaching either. he definately has attributes and it really would stick it up collijngwood sweeeeeeeeeet

BUCKLEY FOR COACH BJS for PRESIDENT

• Replies 73

Guest melbourneman

I think it is time up for daniher.I thought with all the injuries early on he was atleast deserved of another year.last night changed my mind.it was a flashback to our 2 losses to carlton last year.we neede to beat carlton to make top four last year and didnt ,simple.last night eradicated any presumption that injuries were our demise and brought all to fresh the memories of last year to mind.

i agree a coach is only as good as he is at development.miller blitzed last year against freo and showed he could own the corridor.he is the tree we need to branch ourselves from.new gameplan must revolve aroun centre half forward,daniher should be ashamed at his own lack talent manipulation.

buckley would be a good coach

ok its late in the day in our premiership sun dial,any longer we may have to scrap and start again,again.i dont know if the club will survive that.a new coach is a must if he is out there.gimme solution not revolution.i like the way bjs thinks,lets stick it to collingwood even if it is a touch unrealistic.then again we do need to take a punt go down swing not rotting slowly at the hands of a wanky new age board.gardener sux, he is a cliche in his success a manipulator of the unintelligent.

he asserts and nothing there are many out there like him at the moment.he says the right things,he knows the right things to say,he is an ad man.we dont need to be marketed we need some balls,iron fist.we need a flag the supporters are there but we are getting over failure.daniher must go even to sat that 200 games without a premiership isnt good enuff

The board can't just take into account this season when making the decision they need to look back at the past 7 and this is why he needs to go.

2000 good season made GF, introduced some good kids

2001 Similar to this year a few injuries and some of our players thought it would be easy after 2000

2002 Good season won one final, went down to the crows but almost pinched it. ND identified that our spine wasn't strong enough.

2003 same as 2001 but worse, if the club had money ND should have gone then

2004 First half of the year we looked like premiers, hitting the top of the table only to lose around 5 straight too be knocked out in the first round

2005 same as 2004 but our late season slumped started after the break, we were woeful once agian dropping from a top 2 spot to be knocked out week 1 of finals

2006 it was like watching 2004/5 again but we lost our first 3 but we recovered to be top 4 by the break won a couple after then slumped again only just scraping into the 8 then beating ST Kilda before getting flogged by Freo in the finals

2007 2001/2003 all over again

It has been frustrating as a supporter every year we get well ahead of ourselves and stumble. One year you can accept but it is a regular pattern, scraping into the 8 for 3 years after being in strong ladder positions late in the season is no acceptable, as I said once maybe twice you are psuhing it but 3 times enough followed by this year its time to go. Its about playing deep into the finals not just making up the numbers in the 8.

I really believe ND is pretty good tactically b4 the game.

He has pulled off some great unexpected moves but his problem is when the opposition coach turns it around on him in the game, ND has no idea what to do. Coaching on matchday, he's a disgrace.

We all know you need to back ur playas n have faith in them but ND unwaivering support n belief that our boys will turn it around is one of the main reasons why we are so inconsistent.

If the playas don't perform, show faith, if ur don't perform consistently, cut them.

Yze has said to be the one who wanted a run in Sandy n if that's true, that's pathetic.

I don't think of any other club where a playa who's in such bad form not getting dropped n having to tell the coach, "hey mate, i'm not going too well here, i need a spell in the seconds"

ND's faith in his playas has allowed them to get away with murder.

WE don't need a coach who's best mates with his playas. WE need a coach full stop.

For our continual amusment (remember if you don't laugh you will cry).......

Tigers break through in style

A livid Melbourne coach Neale Daniher said he was embarrassed by his team's performance.

"That was an embarrassing and insipid effort for the first half of the game, it was really embarrassing,'' Daniher said.

"All credit to Richmond, they came and played some good footy, but I was disgusted with the way we played that first half and I told the players we've got to do something about it.

"Okay, we won the second half, but at half-time it was 12 goals to two and that second quarter, what can you say?

"From a coaching point of view it was embarrassing, nowhere near the standard required for AFL football.

"That's probably one of the worst performances we've put in for a long, long time.''

Daniher said his players clearly went into the game not mentally switched on and every aspect of their play was poor.

"They (Richmond) got far too much space, far too much of the ball and they didn't get any pressure from the Melbourne Football Club in the first half,'' he said.......

Mark McClure was on 774 today and he reread the above quotes.

He said it was astonishing that a coach would only blame the players and take no heat himself.

He then said that ND noticed 10 minutes into the game that they werent here to play.

On this point He thought it "interesting" that a coach that didnt change any plans, only blamed the players.

I have heard enough today of how bad my team is and couldnt keep listening.

Driving a richmond supporter home last night was depressing enough.

I did think that after looking like making a recovery two weeks ago, now that the MFC have given up (again) so hopelessly, that I feel like we never get anywhere.

Mark McClure was on 774 today and he reread the above quotes.

He said it was astonishing that a coach would only blame the players and take no heat himself.

He then said that ND noticed 10 minutes into the game that they werent here to play.

On this point He thought it "interesting" that a coach that didnt change any plans, only blamed the players.

I have heard enough today of how bad my team is and couldnt keep listening.

Driving a richmond supporter home last night was depressing enough.

I did think that after looking like making a recovery two weeks ago, now that the MFC have given up (again) so hopelessly, that I feel like we never get anywhere.

We talk about a lack of leadership, one that has been a problem at this club for a long time. We look at guys like Bruce, Green, Yze, White, Robbo and they are all poor on-field leaders despite them being experienced senior players. But what about our head leaders, the guys who not only direct the troops while they are playing, but while they are off the ground too. During the week and during the pre-season.

What about the leadership that Daniher has shown us over the years? When was the last time he came out and taken any accountability for the side's performance? After all, he is the leader of this club, and he has remained the only constant over the past 10 years.

A loss is never only the coaches' fault, but when you are getting spanked tactically, then the coach is probably one of the first people who should cop the blame. Why hasn't he admitted that the run-and-carry style has been a failure, in the same way Gardner has?

I don't mind trying new things and failing, but to try, fail and not even acknowledge it, is what bugs me.

He didn't take any blame for not sending extra players back against the Dogs, nor for the tactical errors against the Roos, and yet he was happy to leave an unmanned Richmond defender for a full half of footy, play an unfit Yze, and revert to tempo footy while we were 60 points down in the third quarter!

Also none of our assist coaches are capable of even being care taker coach.

BINGO!

The assitant coahcing revolving door at Melbourne is a disgrace. Sign some good people on extended contracts and enough with the project coaches who bail after one year (Ratten, dare I say Williams).

I've been a patient man. Hell, I first got a membership in 2003 so I'm prepared to cope with failure, but these last three years of "WHOO HOOO - SPLAT" and now this abysmal year... I think I'm just about done putting up with it.

Ok, those of you with a better knowledge of the state of play in the potential coaches stakes, fill me in on the options for 2008. Show me some good prospects and that's what I'll be looking forward to.

My personal preference is for ex-Melbourne people, but that leaves it at Connolly from Freo (not impressed), Alistair Clarkson (as if he'd leave Hawthorn now) and Todd Viney, who has been coaching the Hawthorn midfield for a while and seems to be getting results.

The board can't just take into account this season when making the decision they need to look back at the past 7 and this is why he needs to go.

2000 good season made GF, introduced some good kids

2001 Similar to this year a few injuries and some of our players thought it would be easy after 2000

2002 Good season won one final, went down to the crows but almost pinched it. ND identified that our spine wasn't strong enough.

2003 same as 2001 but worse, if the club had money ND should have gone then

2004 First half of the year we looked like premiers, hitting the top of the table only to lose around 5 straight too be knocked out in the first round

2005 same as 2004 but our late season slumped started after the break, we were woeful once agian dropping from a top 2 spot to be knocked out week 1 of finals

2006 it was like watching 2004/5 again but we lost our first 3 but we recovered to be top 4 by the break won a couple after then slumped again only just scraping into the 8 then beating ST Kilda before getting flogged by Freo in the finals

2007 2001/2003 all over again

It has been frustrating as a supporter every year we get well ahead of ourselves and stumble. One year you can accept but it is a regular pattern, scraping into the 8 for 3 years after being in strong ladder positions late in the season is no acceptable, as I said once maybe twice you are psuhing it but 3 times enough followed by this year its time to go. Its about playing deep into the finals not just making up the numbers in the 8.

MENTAL TOUGHNESS is the reason why we continue to fail as the above history shows. Daniher cannot solve this problem which contnues to raise its ugly head. Brock Mclean has also come out & stated that our mental toughness is an issue, this is a 21 yr old. Our so called leaders always go missing. Daniher has had 10yrs to fix this problem but nothing has changed.

Melbourne needs to take some harsh steps to succeed. Firstly we need to replace Neale Daniher. When we have senior players supporting ND to coach again next when we are losing games it can be a worry. I might be wrong but it is almost like some of the senior players know if the coach goes they are in trouble and not an automatic selection. Example a new coach like Clarkson at Hawthorn went for youth not senior players. No way on earth would Yze have played Friday night, a new coach would have put in who ever was in form.

Robertson supporting ND after a win does not convince me ND is the man.Robbo would feel safer having Nd as coach as after a long lay or if he is out of form he knows ND will give him plenty of opportunity to prove himself.

We need to delist Clint Bizzell he is slow and we won't win a premiership with him.

Nathan Brown bad delivery and passed it.

Ryan Ferguson slow and not strong enough for a key defender.

Simon Godfrey bad disposal would rather have Bartram as the tagger.

Ben Holland will play good games now and again but often will be found out and disposal crap.

Mark Jamar should trade if we can.

Byron Pickett old unfit not a team player he thinks he is god and should be an automatic selection. If it was some one else they would not get a game until they got them self fit.

Daniel Ward bad disposal doesn't pick up his man in defence.

Adem Yze it would be good to see him play 300 but in the interest of the club should retire while on top.

The next two players I would keep on the list as a new coach can make a big difference to a player.

I believe that Millers downfall is that he always handballs it and the opposition know it.

The coaching staff should have enouraged him to kick more not everyone has to kick over 50 to be a champ.

I would rather have someone who is accurate from 40 than a Rocca who is good from 50 but crap from 30 when shooting for goal.

Chris Johnson is a skillful player who I believe can be a good player if given the opportunity to settle in the team.

He is still young and we just have to look how many players have come from the rookie list or discarded from one club to be a very good player at another clun. Gilham from Hawthorn who could not get a game with Port is doing well at Hawthorn. He just needs time in the team because every time he was in and we lost he was first dropped. This does not help a play take chances and take the oppostion on.

I have been a redlegs member for over 20 years and this is the first year that I have had enough not because we are losing but because we aren't making any progress. ND is to predictable as coach and won't give young players a go even when our season is over.

I will more than likely not renew our family redleg memmbership nexy year if ND is coach. Like PG our president who doesn't care what the supporters think I don't care what he thinks.

Guest bjs

I agree with Diehard Demon but not necessarily when it comes to Miller.His strength is lead up mark and handball.I've seen him demand the ball in the corridor when confident and his quick hands are his asset.He should be playing true centre half forward taking marks just inside the square and forward of centre.Our midfielders should rotate so atleast 1 of them is constantly position around 30 metres in front of Miller timing their run for the quick dish.If Miller is covered they could also become a decoy option.They must rotate this position to keep surprise element.We need to learn the rebound game and Miller could be a key component in feeding a marauding midfield.

Yes Ive changed my mind, but you can ! so now is the time is right for Daniher to say that this will be his last year, however he should finish the season.

This will be good for the club because it will allow them time to search for a new coach and send a message to the players that they are playing for their careers. It will also allow potential coaches to watch and assess the players.

yes..the prudent thing for all concerned is to agree on teh details and condition s of Danners exit. As alluded we are then free to start teh search and stake our possie as first cab off the rank.

Allows Danners some freereign of sorts.. ( well pressure is off ) to do something. Hpoefully he'll find a position at another coach... this alone will assure Melbourne of one or two wins a year !!

I have been a redlegs member for over 20 years and this is the first year that I have had enough not because we are losing but because we aren't making any progress. ND is to predictable as coach and won't give young players a go even when our season is over.

I will more than likely not renew our family redleg memmbership nexy year if ND is coach. Like PG our president who doesn't care what the supporters think I don't care what he thinks.

The footy club needs to be aware that this week is the last straw for a few people.

I was going through clothes to take to the salvos yesterday and didnt hesitate throwing out some old scarves.

I still have a couple but Im finally resigning myself to a few harsh realities.

I came across the certificate sent to me by the club when we put in $100 each to "give Robbie one more chance to play in the finals".It was 20 years ago. After the Western Oval game and knocking off the Roos and the Swans, I thought we came out of the wilderness.

And the twenty years since are better than the 20 before.

But I went through the 60's 70's and 80's. since then its been better(what can you say?, I could write a book).

Im 50 and I dont reckon i will ever see a premiership. I think the club will fold or merge.

All the same to me. Im losing my passion, and it shits me, but I have poured money, time and loyalty into the MFC.

All I can add, If Gardner said that, it wasnt appropriate.

Franky,

As disappointing the team is & has been, I can understand how the patience of even the most loyal fan has again been challenged (this time) by Gardner's regrettable swipe at the fan base. It has done nothing to ease our long standing pain. Many members share your anger.

"They don’t come and watch us, they don't come and support us, they don’t mind writing a note and I will be inundated no doubt with 2007 membership scarves in the mail this week which would be handy for those who need them to go to the snow."

what's your response to this then jaded? that's even worse than BT, because this man is the head of our club!

now i'll admit to being very angry at the melbourne fan base even before the game, as you could see that even if we won the game, the tiges faithful would have made more noise than us. However i am not the head of the club, and i do the right thing by the club by buying memberships, attending all the games and making as much nosie as i can, so i feel i'm entitled to my rant.

i do not feel the president is entitled to this type of comment, especially perpetuating 'snow' myths. the collingwood fanbase has been able to grow and grow because they have a body that is prepared to back the club and its supporters, (yet still make tough decisions when necessary). what is he attempting to achieve by this comment? why did he not even attempt to specify it? apparently none of us here come and support us. well guess what, if our buying memberships and attending games isn't being appreciated by the head of the club, our attendances will drop even further!

these are not the words that should be coming out of the mouth of a man who should be selling the footy club and all that it stands for. if he doesn't like the poor showing from our suppoerts, he should attempt to get into the media more often and encourage support for the club, rather than openly spouting rubbish about people who love the club and are just as passionate as any other supporter in the land.

If that is what is what he said, then that is a freakin disgrace!

F$%k him! does that [censored] pay for a membership?

Saying crap like that is really going to help our cause, [censored] off paul and take daniher with you!

Thats really [censored] me off! won't get supporters to show up, won't get people to buy a membership next year.

Pathetic!

Take a breath and calm down. You dont think PG isnt [censored] about what we put out there on friday.

Its ok for all of us to vent our spleen as much and as personal as we like but if we come under alittle bit , we all get a bit upset.

He has got our club going in the right direction in his job so he might feel we are letting him down by not buying memberships

at the start of the season and supporting the club through tough times . He sounded frustrated to me not critical

I doubt he is critisising us who go and sit through our games each week but those who dont and then winge and wine

about how much the club ows them

his kicking is ordinary too.

He is about as good up forward as White is, minus the ability to take a contest mark and kick.

I dunno about that one Jaded... thought his kick for goal in the third from about 45 out on a tight angle was an absolute beauty. Do agree with most of what has been said here, but PJ's kicking for goal is not ordinary. Do i have to say the words... "Mark Jamar"?

What a [censored] game. I almost knocked some clowns jaw off sitting behind me when i got up at the 26min mark of the last to leave and he started taunting me. I only pulled out at the very last couple of inches. I sat thru more than enough tripe to deserve that.

Anyway... i've tried to stay away from posting this weekend. I'm just waaay too [censored] off to write anything constructive at all.

I'll see u guys on wed or thurs when i've calmed down.

White and Paul Johnson were fantastic last night giving our midfielders first oppurtunity every time. Too bad our entire midfield was asleep all night.

I've never seen two ruckman dominate the stoppages so much (i think the final hitout count was something like 48 to 11), yet have such little response from their supporting midfielders. To win that much of the ruck and still get smashed in the clearances is completeing mystifying. Tuck must've sharked 10 or so clearances, and was playing to our ruckman. What the f*** was going on with the inside midfield setup?

And how does a dud player like Tivendale manage to carve us (or any team for that matter?) so severely? I mean.... faaark.... TIVENDALE?!?!

Ahhhhh.... i said i wouldnt post... so i wont go on.

Think i might just get drunk and watch season 2000 highlights.

Take a breath and calm down. You dont think PG isnt [censored] about what we put out there on friday.

He sounded frustrated to me not critical

I doubt he is critisising us who go and sit through our games each week but those who dont and then winge and wine

about how much the club ows them

4Dees,

Here is a couple of extracts from his interview with Angus Mortan from Sportal 23/06/07

Firstly, Gardner's take of the Melbourne supporters intellect.

"If all I did was listen to supporters I would fire (Daniher) every week and hire him for five years every second week," Gardner said.

Then he chairman reserved a final swipe for the club's supporters, reinforcing the popular typecast that Demons' fans prefer Mount Buller to the Members Stand when the going gets tough.

"Unfortunately Melbourne supporters are often fickle and if we're not playing well they're not paying well," he said.

"They don’t come and watch us, they don't come and support us, they don’t mind writing a note and I will be inundated no doubt with 2007 membership scarves in the mail this week which would be handy for those who need them to go to the snow."

If he is not criticising 'us' , who is he criticising?