You could tell all day we were right on the edge of running over the top of them. Where our skills let us down at times, our intensity made up for it.

We simply aren’t as bad a team as we have been this year so far. Our younger generation of players are already becoming the difference between losing and winning games.

A win for the ages all things considered. Take a bow Melk, Bowey, Langdon, XL and Turner. Those 5 were the difference today.

It’s a grand old flag!

7 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Having a quality forward like Melksham who is getting on in years just makes the world of difference.

He's someone who just gives his all and sadly what we have been missing.

Losing him in the Swans game a few years back cost us a flag.

But today it was great to see him back.

It's his intensity that some other players could really learn from.

I hope after his long career he's stays on at the club in a coaching role.

Totally agree about a future coaching role.

Thought we'd put in a good effort to stick with them to three quarter time and we'd lose them in the last quarter. Thank God I was wrong. How good is it to actually fight a game out until the end again! Supreme effort all round today with many contributors.

Well done Dees!

41 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Lever back means Disco up forward I reckon which prob means AJ is out.

Another week on the side lines Jakie Lever.

No Change.

AJ for Prime Minister.

Disco finding his range in the heart of the defence.

12 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

We had to go pick a mature age bullocking psycho

I have no idea how we’ll go in the actual game but I am desperately hoping the “mature age bullocking psycho” gets a chance to stay in the side and give our regards to that blockheaded goon Maynard in a few weeks.

Edited by Disco InTurno

Just now, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

No Change.

AJ for Prime Minister.

I thought Lever was available, if not then yeah AJ stays.

Great intensity in that final quarter.

Once we had control of the ball and scored a few times, there was a great well of BELIEF.

The guys also shared the ball much better this week. It’s great to see handball chains coming out of the middle and from half back rather than blind dump kicks.

It’s what’s been lacking in the past couple of weeks – just need to share the ball rather than try to win it all by themselves.

Edited by DiscoStu17

Here is the Stats Files post. Melbourne's expected score of 113 today is our fifth highest since the start of 2021.

8 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

The elephant in the room is our forwardline looks so much better with Petty, Kozzy, Melksham and Sparrow's pressure - kudos to Tom for reinventing himself tuese last few weeks. He's a great mark, one of our few reliable kicks for goal and very disciplined.

You can raffle the next 3 positions, but AJ, Fritta and Spargo were reasonable in the last quarter too. The latter two have to kick their goals though.

I'd pull the trigger on JVR to CHB at Casey, because being able to release Turner to the other end could he a bit of a game changer.

If Disco can add some pressure to his game forward (has been surprisingly bad at it) then along with Petty we’ve got some mobile talls. Suddenly we can get Fritsch in the side as a medium not a tall if he can do the bare minimum pressuring and tackling without frees too.

Spargo is doing a lot right, he just makes the saddest of errors when he misses targets or shots. But he’s still a cut above the other options like Sharp.

I wouldn’t worry about what the afl side is doing with JVR. I’d just get him in form, if that’s forward back or ruck either works. (He should back up ruck at Casey and give Verrall a full game forward). Long term tho I think his weaknesses (undersized, flat footed, double grabber) would be worse back than they are forward. What he needs is belief to crash and bash. His one strength is literally that, he’s such a big boy, just needs to find a way to harness it.

14 minutes ago, Nasher said:

AJ reminds me of the class of player our lists were full of in the bad old days in the 00s and 10s - players we appreciated because their efforts stood out in teams where effort lacked - but ultimately weren’t good enough once the improvement came. I don’t see him with a role in the long term but I’m happy to enjoy the ride while he’s having a dip and getting it done.

Glad that he got some reward for his effort – just happy he didn’t have to pick the ball up.

Anyone know the pressure stat from the last 2qtrs?

Lucky Socks, and my fingers crossed

What ever it takes. It was our grand final. Hope not but a stepping stone. It did look like goody was making moves in the last 5 minutes.

9 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

No Change.

AJ for Prime Minister.

Can't wait till he goes forward. His time will come. My mate Disco.

Some truly good posts in this thread.

Great to see the humor and less agro after such an impressive win over the reigning premiers.

1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

Listening to the radio they are saying how good AJ was in the final term.

Do we give him a few weeks at it.

Sounds like he offered more than Jefferson

silly question ofc, gives 110% every single contest jeffo better have been watching this game if not he is finished if not already, petty was hard at the footy aswell but didn’t convert on the scoreboard was extremely important as a defensive forward

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

Considering I put my house, car, partner and kids on it I’m feeling quite relieved. Also I’ve now got 2 houses, 2 cars, 2 partners and 4 kids. Sheesh.

We win next week and it's polyarmory...

6 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

If Disco can add some pressure to his game forward (has been surprisingly bad at it) then along with Petty we’ve got some mobile talls. Suddenly we can get Fritsch in the side as a medium not a tall if he can do the bare minimum pressuring and tackling without frees too.

Spargo is doing a lot right, he just makes the saddest of errors when he misses targets or shots. But he’s still a cut above the other options like Sharp.

I wouldn’t worry about what the afl side is doing with JVR. I’d just get him in form, if that’s forward back or ruck either works. (He should back up ruck at Casey and give Verrall a full game forward). Long term tho I think his weaknesses (undersized, flat footed, double grabber) would be worse back than they are forward. What he needs is belief to crash and bash. His one strength is literally that, he’s such a big boy, just needs to find a way to harness it.

I’ll disagree on Spargo. He cost us multiple goals today and on top of that turned the ball over badly.

When Sharp was subbed, he had more score involvements, more scores, more pressure acts, more meters (Spargo was -03, I didn’t know negative meters gained was a thing), more disposals. Spargo got slightly better but he also can’t kick over 20 meters.

I’m not saying Sharp is the answer but Spargo sure as shizen is not.

34 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

The only sour note of this win is not knowing any lions supporters to stick it up.

Is just as much fun giving it to the Essendon ones! I have a list if you need.

What you can't knock is the unity and togetherness the team has

You can feel it. Despite all the media nonsense, Trac loves the boys and the players love the coach

If we stay healthy we could go on a run. I wouldn't want to be playing us right now

4 minutes ago, bush demon said:

We win next week and it's polyarmory...

And good too.

41 minutes ago, Vipercrunch said:

You seriously had Bowey down as a possible player to delist? Unbelievable.

old mate has no clue complete causal

5 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:
36 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

You know, had we converted against the Hawks last week - we had them on toast - and won, we would be just outside the 8 on percentage only. Instead we're 1 win + %, but that's nothing in the scheme of a long season and we're still in the front 9.

Looks like we're winding up and the team is starting to believe.

With Viney and Lever back, that'll just about be the best, and most settled team we can put forward.

With a consistent team, gaining in belief and fitness, who knows?

Obviously basking in the afterglow of a great win, but anything really is possible this year.

There are no world beaters. Dogs are in hot form. Pies are up and about. But every team is immensely gettable.

This win gives our season a pulse and then some. Lions showed last year what can be done coming from the back of the pack.

Clarry becoming Clarry again, in particular, would be massive.

Edited by P-man

After this game opposition coaches will be concerned about Melksham ..

Aside from having someone up forward that can boot a handful of goals and give off several assists, It will take a lot of pressure off other forwards who have been struggling.