1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Berry's a good player who plays well against the Dees, and seems to pop up with a clutch goal against us.

It's something I guess...

If as I suspect some will think " Berry out.. great... bloody pest".." we've a better chance now" ... well they'd be right and a lot more wrong with much to learn about our real chances of pulling off a sneaky win .

Brisbane just showed how you win when the gods decide to give you a wake up.

Sadly I suspect we're about to get a massive wake up ourselves .

Not thinking a visit to the Lions Den will go well.

If lowly North can match the Lions, surely we can too.

With Petty and Melksham back, Turner can move forward and provide some desperately needed ammunition up front.

Jefferson's non-performance has silenced his many advocates for the moment, and Fritsch seems to have lost the plot completely. Both he and Van Rooyen have only one attribute --- accurate goal-kicking, and in general play might as well not be there.

Fritsch is lazy, doesn't chase or tackle, and has lost all confidence, while the slow-moving Van Rooyen seems to think his only task is to take spectacular pack marks, at which his success rate is poor.

We'll miss Viney but otherwise I think Goodwin can field a better-balanced side this week.

The remaining unexpected and unwelcome issue which has now become clear is, of course, lack of fitness. Occasional fourth-quarter fadeouts can happen, but with us it occurs almost every week. Maybe it's time to put Selwyn Griffith's performance under the microscope.

On 10/05/2025 at 16:11, DubDee said:

I thought Clarry did well on Newcombe

wouldn’t drop or sub him

Agree, neither player had much of an impact. It does seem like a bit of a waste of Clarrys capability though. His numbers for the season up to last weekend have been pretty good.

Given Viney should be fit, I would assume he would go straight back into the tagging role. I wouldn't mind Brown being given a go at it too.

I dont think we can carry JVR and Fritta as non contributors, particularly against good teams. Really don't know how to solve the JVR problem. I don't think Fritta can change at this point.

I reckon we need to start giving Adams a game to prepare for the next injury to May, or his retirement. This will also allow Disco (our best tall forward?!?) to spend more time up forward.

Petty should come straight back in too.

We were right in it on the weekend, and failed to turn up in Q4 (again). This narrative that the Hawks only needed to play 15 minutes is just pure baloney. We could have won that if we were a) fit enough and/or b) hungry enough. They certainly were.

And it wasn't the umpires. They were terrible and cost us a few goals, but they didn't miss our shots for us, and I refer again to the comment above re the final quarter. The game was there to be won, and it was. By them.

Anyway.

This week, we need to focus on who we want to blood this year. I am getting tired of the revolving door selection committee. There are guys who underperform, sent back to the 2s to regain form, and are returned to the main team after one week (usually where they were OK, if that), then replace the other guy who was returned to the main team too early. And the cycle continues. JVR is the best recent proof. His confidence is SHOT. Give him 3-5 weeks in the 2s. 1 week won't cut it. I still think he is talented and believe his development was stunted by having to ruck because we have/had no second ruck! I get it, but send him down there with the message that we believe his an important future member of the team, but he needs to regain form, confidence and work on his skills. He is not alone. Jefferson and Kolt (the latter lots of promise) just need to find some consistent form and skills. Not just for one week. Many weeks. A body of work.

That said, I don't think there should be too many changes to the team other than Viney and Petty back in. Maybe AJ (ruck support and mongrel - can't do much worse than 0.1). Out Kolt, Jeffo and JVR - for a continued stint in the 2s! No more revolving doors. Once Lever is back, and provided May is healthy, that is pretty much the best side we can field this year - STICK WITH IT FOR A WHILE.

If things get real bad, then we start looking to play in some of the guys we need to see more of - Kentfield, Culley, Adams, and (*gulp*) Laurie (since we extended his contract), because right now, we are actually still in it to play finals. It's not over. But this one week in, one week out revolving door selection stuff is [censored] and will not help us.

Reassess in 5-6 rounds.

For now, we have the Lions. Anyone is beatable. Just need to play better.

As crazy as it sounds, I think the Lions are gettable. They haven't played good footy all year really. They're almost like us in 2022, good enough to always be in games and some short bursts that can blow away the opposition but their luck is running out. North really should have won last night.

Ins: Petty, Melksham

Outs: Jefferson, Fritsch

Key match-ups I see are:

Sparrow on Zorko - I think Sparrow can really influence here.

Oliver on Neale

Melksham on Andrews

Petty on Payne

JvR to try and stretch Lester

McDonald on Hipwood

May on Fort.

It may be risky but I think Rivers can probably take Morris which could free up Turner to swing forward if we're struggling aerially.

Petty and Melk in for Jeffo and Fritta. Statement must be made for Fritsch.

that said, id love to find a spot for AJ to play ruck / fwd and let JVR focus of fwd craft only. perhaps in place of Kolt?

If Viney got concussed against WC why the absolute fkcu can't he play this weekend?

Edited by Roost it far

2 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

If Viney got concussed against WC why the absolute fkcu can't he play this weekend?

delayed concussion symptoms and only entered protocols on Thursday,.

Ins

Milshake, Petty

Outs

Fritsch, Jefferson

Edited by Rohstarrr
Viney cant play due to Concussion Protocols

Out: Yipps

In: Goals

There is always going to be a change in game. Coaches and their staff are there to make changes. Players will have to adapt or will need to be banished. This new style will suit Laurie , does that mean he or the club was waiting for a new style to make him a good footballer ? Perhaps we should keep underperforming players because we can expect a playing style to change. All B.S I don't see Hogan playing a different style , he is an above average forward .

8 minutes ago, junk said:

There is always going to be a change in game. Coaches and their staff are there to make changes. Players will have to adapt or will need to be banished. This new style will suit Laurie , does that mean he or the club was waiting for a new style to make him a good footballer ? Perhaps we should keep underperforming players because we can expect a playing style to change. All B.S I don't see Hogan playing a different style , he is an above average forward .

I must confess it took me three reads... but you nailed it

Ins. Howes. Petty. Melksham. 

Outs. Spargo. Jeffo. Frittata 

Mcvee May Turner

Bowey Tmcd Salem 

Windsor Riv Langdon 

Chandler Petty Langford

Pickett JVR Melksham 

Gawn Oliver Trac

Int. Howes Lindsay Kolt Sharp 

Sub. Sparrow 

Emerg K.Brown Laurie Kentfield 

Unavailable 🚑 Lever Viney

Petty being back immediately offers a target

Turner strengthens the defence , although wish we had two of him (one forward, one defender)

Howes deserves a game and I’m tempted to perhaps try him across half forward

Melksham is a key player who delivers the footy better than most

Kolt & Sharp need a full run , and Sparrow needs to rotate as a sub

In: Petty, Melksham, Laurie

Out: Fritsch, Jefferson, Tholstrup

FB: McVee May T-Mac

HB: Windsor Turner Bowey

C: Langford Oliver Langdon

HF: Chandler Petty Sparrow

FF: Pickett JvR Spargo

R: Gawn Petracca Rivers

I: Salem Lindsay Laurie Melksham

S: Sharp

E: Howes Adams Johnson

On 10/05/2025 at 16:08, whatwhat say what said:

Either something is not right with May or he’s a shadow of his former self and I query giving him an extra year in 2026

Plugger Mac is by some margin the best tall defender

May definitely banged up. Never recovered fully from the ribs last year. Brought back too soon and went down a second time.

Langton took time, a couple of years to recover fully after ribs. And Trac still in the process a year after the event.

Sadly May is done.

19 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Don't mind this mate. 👏

8 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Ins. Howes. Petty. Melksham. 

Outs. Spargo. Jeffo. Frittata 

No way will Spargy Pants be dropped.

ANB was our best link player. Now it's Spargy. Not prolific but not wasteful.

2 hours ago, M_9 said:

No way will Spargy Pants be dropped.

ANB was our best link player. Now it's Spargy. Not prolific but not wasteful.

I didn't say this. Not sure why you've attributed it to me?

Changes: JVR to FB. Fritsch SUB - both at Casey. Spargo never to play another game, let alone at Casey or AFL level.

Soooo

OUT: Fritsch, till he learns to tackle and kick straight from straight in front of the goal.

JVR

Spargo.

IN: Johnson - for his ability to run and tackle.

Petty - Just because he is Petty.

Milkshake. Just cause old heads know how to tackle.

SUB: anyone except Sharp. Q: Did he play last week against Hawthorn?

In: Melksham Petty

Out: Fritsch for Melksham, Jefferson for Petty

Petty down back, Turner forward.

Easy changes.

Brisbane hasn't been the same without Daniher. Losing him has definitely messed with their structure. They aren't scoring much better than they were this time last year comparatively given they were 3-1-5 after 9 rounds. They have scored 100 more points but conceded about the same. They are definitely gettable. They also have the worst % of all top 8 teams.

I’ve mentioned this for a few weeks now - I’d like Sestan to be blooded this week. Reward for good consistent performances.

Fritsch gotta go, and reinvent himself at VFL level.

Jeffo out. I’d give him a few weeks playing wing at VFL, cause he’s not looking promising as a forward.

Milkshake and Petty to return. One more out - time for Kolt to get his confidence back at the lower level. Possibly Laurie for sharp?

6 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

I’ve mentioned this for a few weeks now - I’d like Sestan to be blooded this week. Reward for good consistent performances.

Jeffo out. I’d give him a few weeks playing wing at VFL, cause he’s not looking promising as a forward.

Milkshake and Petty to return. One more out - time for Kolt to get his confidence back at the lower level. Possibly Laurie for sharp?

I just wonder if we try Jefferson behind the ball at VFL level like last year.

21 hours ago, D Rev said:

Agree, neither player had much of an impact. It does seem like a bit of a waste of Clarrys capability though. His numbers for the season up to last weekend have been pretty good.

Given Viney should be fit, I would assume he would go straight back into the tagging role. I wouldn't mind Brown being given a go at it too.

I dont think we can carry JVR and Fritta as non contributors, particularly against good teams. Really don't know how to solve the JVR problem. I don't think Fritta can change at this point.

I reckon we need to start giving Adams a game to prepare for the next injury to May, or his retirement. This will also allow Disco (our best tall forward?!?) to spend more time up forward.

Petty should come straight back in too.

I agree with most of that DRev. I think JVR is at his peak. There is no more to his ability. Early days he took a few good marks but the competition woke quickly to that and now ensure he takes few of them. When the ball hits the ground he is poor. It appears his most useful ability is to play as a average second Ruckman.

33 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

You will probably choke on your coffee NC, I agree!